vamos_rafa Posted September 6, 2010 Posted September 6, 2010 '92 a young Sachin pawning the bowlers. Even i was very young then but those images of Sach playing brilliantly and some of his adverts like: Gillete or Action shoes(remember that jingle "joote main hai light" lollz) made me fell in love witht he game. So all in all it was the GOD.
TheWall Posted September 6, 2010 Posted September 6, 2010 1981. India-Eng series. Wtaching it on the b/w TV. 1983 WC win just cemented the love for this game forever.
King Tendulkar Posted September 6, 2010 Posted September 6, 2010 The fact that its the only sport we are half decent at. No option but to love it, we are awful at all other sports!
vamos_rafa Posted September 6, 2010 Posted September 6, 2010 The fact that its the only sport we are half decent at. No option but to love it' date=' we are awful at all other sports![/quote'] :two_thumbs_up::two_thumbs_up:
Desi Cartman Posted September 6, 2010 Posted September 6, 2010 I dont know as I remember watching cricket from an early age , I realized that I love cricket when I saw India lose to sri lanka in the WC 96 semi final :sniffle:
ravishingravi Posted September 6, 2010 Author Posted September 6, 2010 Come to think of it, I think it is a combnation of Wi-Aus test series in 1995 which is greatest that I have seen and the confrontation between Waugh and Ambrose. Other instances would be Sachin's innings against NZ where scored 88 of 43 balls or something. It was magic. I also think Inzy's innings in SF and Wasim Akram's magic spell made huge impacts.
Gunner_Mania Posted September 6, 2010 Posted September 6, 2010 I guess for most of us..especially those in India it was a natural extension of our childhood. The first toys we probably got once we were big enough to walk or run was a bat and a ball and our love for the game started from there on. The rest are just incidental.
Rajiv Posted September 6, 2010 Posted September 6, 2010 Pakistani insulting India in 96 WC, although complimenting Sachin and goings nuts with celebration after we lost to Australia
VRV Singh Posted September 6, 2010 Posted September 6, 2010 I think it was our tour of England in '02 when I started getting into playing the game...watched quite a bit of it then too (RD's innings at Headingley for example). From then I've been playing ever since and followed all the World Cups and India series.
thongale Posted September 6, 2010 Posted September 6, 2010 1991 WI-PAK-SAF series got me saying WTF? The fast bowling dished out in that series possibly the best ever in a triangular tournament. Ambrose, Walsh, bishop, Wasim, Waqar, Donald, DeVilliers and Matthews were breath taking to watch.
Mamu Posted September 6, 2010 Posted September 6, 2010 Single biggest event that turned cricket around in India --- 1983 WC Final. Infact the whole WC I must say.
thevortex Posted September 6, 2010 Posted September 6, 2010 Probably the B&H WCC in 1985. I was enthralled by Srikkanth and it was probably the first time I saw live cricket on TV. It was the series where Ravi Shastri went to become the Champion of Champions and drove around his Audi in Melbourne. I can still remember Vishy, I think it was sitting on the front of the car. Later reading Sunny's One day Wonders about that and the Sharjah Cup that followed was what got me more closer to the game. Just realised I've following the game now for 25 years:shok: I remember this, Gunner. And yes, Srikkanth set my pulse racing everytime! I kept waiting for him to get out. So in a way every run he made was a bonus. So I never ended up getting disappointed with him :). But to the main topic - I have been in love with the game as long as I can remember. From when I was a kid I used to play cricket - imitate every player's action, bowler or batsman. Act out favourite match situations, set handicaps, play in every small nook and corner with every manner and shape of ball ever designed by man and generally knock myself out with the game. The most thrilling moments for me have always been when the bowlers have breathed fire and still the batsmen have found it in them to hang in there. And then fight back. The great individual contests, the plays within plays within this team game is what made me realize the true value of this game for me. Tendulkar's debut was a high point for me. But it is strange how there is not just one single thing that made me fall in love with this game. Perhaps it is entire set of possibilities which made that happen. Cricket is perhaps the only game which uses almost every part of the human body skilfully. Legs, feet, wrists, arms, shoulders, head. And the whole possibility of romance developing even in the midst of a single game.
Andy Posted September 6, 2010 Posted September 6, 2010 The fact that "India" Plays this game is good enough for me.
Lord Posted September 6, 2010 Posted September 6, 2010 The fact that "India" Plays this game is good enough for me. India plays kabaddi too:dontknow:
Andy Posted September 6, 2010 Posted September 6, 2010 India plays kabaddi too:dontknow: I should have rather said, the 'Sucess' India had.
vvvslaxman Posted September 6, 2010 Posted September 6, 2010 No specific thing. This is the only sports India has been following religiously for generations. I merely joined my predecessors.
punjabi_khota Posted September 7, 2010 Posted September 7, 2010 For me , playing came way before I started watching with any regularity. I loved the whole hitting the stumps (made of some bricks etc) and my earliest memories go back to imitating Srinath's bowling action :P
yoda Posted September 7, 2010 Posted September 7, 2010 love of the game came cause it is the only game I played as a kid. all other sport like tennis was off for most middle class folks. pretty much played non stop cricket during my 7,8,9th standards, only got serious about studies in 10th, then the watching took over from the playing.
kabira Posted September 7, 2010 Posted September 7, 2010 I have done weird things to play and watch cricket. Some of the things I have done. As a 5 or 6 year old, my dad told me to study and not to play on the streets as exams were there next day. As soon as he left I went to street and started playing. Then I realized I have no time to cram Moral Science. LOL. I actually copied first time as I could not remember one prayer. LOL. Anything for cricket you know During my college days, living in an apartment we had no tv. Me and my friend watched plenty of games standing at the Pan wallahs shops. The one that I remember vividly is desert storm. Together we spent more than 100 Rs so that we could just stand and keep watching the game.