fineleg Posted December 1, 2011 Posted December 1, 2011 And why just bowling quality? Why dont you see overall strategies, video analysis, batting quality were all different in that generation. The whole game was different back then. So, that has to be looked at in entirety. BTW - I am sending you a PM. Take a look (diff topic).
fineleg Posted December 1, 2011 Posted December 1, 2011 Bowling quality was poor back then compared to now. What does it prove?
mishra Posted December 1, 2011 Author Posted December 1, 2011 Quite interesting' date='what makes you think that Kumble could have been fast bowler of that era.These days Dhoni or Hussey easily bowl 115-120 so Why Bowlers from that era were unable to bowl faster than this speed ? Is there any evidence that Human shoulder strength has increased so much?[/quote'] A bit of sarcasm, with pinch of truth Verity, Bedser,Tate and Larwood. The four English bowlers are the ones who generally got him out...... I have named the bowlers, for vidoes ask google uncle and find the truth.... To top it all Now here I have seen that there are updates from few icfers that bowling speed looks 140 kph material because ball reached WK by the time they blinked their eyes once. Try that test on Kumble :hehe:
putrevus Posted December 1, 2011 Posted December 1, 2011 The gap between DGB and next best player in his generation is far greater than gap between Tendulkar and next best player in his generation. that has to mean something.
akshayxyz Posted December 1, 2011 Posted December 1, 2011 The gap between DGB and next best player in his generation is far greater than gap between Tendulkar and next best player in his generation. that has to mean something. There are two ways to look at it, a) Bradman was superhuman, much ahead of his time b) The scene was not competitive enough. There are enough examples, that if the sports scene is not competitive enough, it is quite likely that the best guy would be significantly better than second best. W/o a doubt he was far superior than his peers, but it does not mean that current best has to ( or whether one even can!) achieve same level of distinction to be considered in same class.
The Outsider Posted December 1, 2011 Posted December 1, 2011 Here's the thing - there have been many batsmen in history in the class of Tendulkar, but Bradman was and is acknowledged as the best by the vast majority of cricketers and cricket experts. It's only with the advent of the internet and a lot of jingoistic fans deluding themselves with the war cries of proud to be an Indian, that all these crazy notions have been born. The latest I read in this thread is that the human species has genetically evolved in the last 60 years, so that the maximum speed a human could bowl a ball has gone up by 25%. It's futile having a discussion when such notions are thrown about, but mark my words once Tendulkar retires and is consigned to a glorious chapter in cricket history, the internet jingoists will run out of steam and life would be back to normal with Bradman's position at the top of the pantheon as secure as ever. Jingoism cannot alter facts.
pensionplan Posted December 1, 2011 Posted December 1, 2011 oh not again. How many times do we keep rehashing this?
Ultimate_Game Posted December 1, 2011 Posted December 1, 2011 oh not again. How many times do we keep rehashing this? But it's fun isn't it? After all we gotta discuss something before the next game and the next series :winky: Where else would you see a thread calling a batsman averaging close to 100 over 52 tests as "most over rated player in cricketing history" :haha:
jonas10 Posted December 1, 2011 Posted December 1, 2011 Quite interesting' date='what makes you think that Kumble could have been fast bowler of that era.These days Dhoni or Hussey easily bowl 115-120 so Why Bowlers from that era were unable to bowl faster than this speed ? Is there any evidence that Human shoulder strength has increased so much?[/quote'] Yes there is evidence. Compare how fast Usiain Bolt runs the 100m to someone from 1920s. do the same for long jump. Then you can move on to swimming, weight lifting etc. Face it people are much stronger, faster and more athletic now than they were 100 years ago. I cant speak for Bradman's ability but athletically he makes Shane Warne/Yuvraj Singh look like Mr Olymipias.
The Outsider Posted December 1, 2011 Posted December 1, 2011 Yes but look at the quality of his nearest competitor too You're right - his nearest competitor sucked. It's been proved by yours truly that Rameez Raja was a better batsman than Hammond : http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=213283 Though there are certain arguments on his nearest competitor - could have been Headley or Hutton instead, but the same arguments can be made to junk them all.
Manny_Pacquiao Posted December 1, 2011 Posted December 1, 2011 oh not again. How many times do we keep rehashing this? would u even exist on these forums if these threads weren't around?
Stuge Posted December 2, 2011 Posted December 2, 2011 misraji ;you should infct write a book on bradman "Sir Bradman-The Over/Under-Rated"
The Outsider Posted December 2, 2011 Posted December 2, 2011 Anyhow the latest I read on this topic is that we could "link" SRT to Bradman by porting what is a science theory to Kirkut .... it went cold after just a rudimentary cross examination .... for details see here --> http://indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=274728&page=2 http://indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=192084 Arre bhai, aur bhi gham hain zamaane mein. Bradman aur Tendulkar ne mere ghar ka choolha nahin jalaana hai. You made a criticism of my idea, I defended it. People can make up their own minds. What do you want - another meandering 1000+ post thread when all that needs to be said has already been said. As I said, in my post above wait for a few years - once jingoists run out steam normal service will resume. Log back in then and let us know how the campaign to twist history through the prism of jingoism went.
Magneto Posted December 2, 2011 Posted December 2, 2011 Arre bhai, aur bhi gham hain zamaane mein. Bradman aur Tendulkar ne mere ghar ka choolha nahin jalaana hai. You made a criticism of my idea, I defended it. People can make up their own minds. What do you want - another meandering 1000+ post thread when all that needs to be said has already been said. As I said, in my post above wait for a few years - once jingoists run out steam normal service will resume. Log back in then and let us know how the campaign to twist history through the prism of jingoism went. :thumbs_up:
Sooda Posted December 2, 2011 Posted December 2, 2011 Jermain Defoe > Pele Van Der Vaart > Maradona Haye > Ali Soderling > Sampras
rkt.india Posted December 2, 2011 Posted December 2, 2011 Can you point me to ONE single inngs by DGB where he faced the sort of bowling as SRT did as recently in SAF last year ? Or you think such pointed and uncomfortable questions aren't necessary in a discussion to determine cricketing genius. http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=61609