Trichromatic Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 It's not a revenge series: MS Dhoni Mohali: The ongoing ODI series against England might be billed as 'revenge series' for India after the drubbing they received this summer but captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni is in no mood to term it that way, saying "revenge is a very strong word in sports". Whitewashed in all three formats of the game in England, India took sweet revenge by taking an unassailable 3-0 lead in the ongoing rubber against the Englishmen with a series-clinching five-wicket victory in the third one-dayer. "Revenge is a very strong word when it comes to sport. I don't think it should be used in sport. On one side we are speaking about spirit of the game and on the other side we are talking about revenge," Dhoni said at the post-match press conference. Dhoni also lauded his young team for putting up a terrific show against a strong England side in the three matches so far in the absence of a couple of senior players due to injuries. "I am quite happy with the performance of the team when it comes to the ODI format. In England, we made lots of runs, it's just that we never won the toss and had to bowl last. On couple of occasions, rain and dew factor played spoilsport," he said. "Here the conditions are in our favour. The bowlers are used to the conditions and bowling really well. So it's a positive sign." The Indian skipper said he would keep on promoting young batsmen up the order until they get settled in the team. "I always felt that it's important for the youngsters to bat up the order. What's important is to groom the youngsters. They should be batting more than 20 overs. When they become regular part of the side, then we can experiment with them a bit. When it comes to batting at no 6 and 7, it's completely different task. Don't forget that the youngsters who were being promoted are scoring runs. We were missing couple of players because of injuries so no point in thinking about them. We tried to groom the youngsters," said Dhoni. Asked about tight finish in Thursday's match, Dhoni said one more wicket could have changed the complexion of the game. "It's not that I don't show expressions, I always show expressions. It was a close game we should have won easily but we lost wickets in the middle. All of a sudden there was pressure on us. If we would have lost one more wicket it could have been a little difficult to achieve the target," he said. "We knew that with me and Jadeja around we can achieve the target. And the dew factor also made it slightly difficult for the bowlers to reverse the ball and bowl yorkers." He also had a word of advise for the visiting England side for the remaining two inconsequential matches. "It's important to be nice to your opposition team. When you are under pressure you will definitely commit mistakes. England have five specialist bowlers. As far as talent is concerned, they are a very good side but they need to stick together in the next two games," said the Indian skipper. Dhoni also hinted that with the series already in pocket, India might test its bench strength in the next two matches. "We will see exactly what to do. We are not sure as of now. The team management will sit and take a call. But Umesh (Yadav) got injured so he is out and one of the bowlers will get a chance. At the end of the day we have to field the best eleven," he said. Source
Rajiv Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 tms? is that Test Match Sofa. I tried to enjoy their concept, but the jokes were awful ( perhaps a brit thing )
rajmarie Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 Dhoni - meethi churi Bigg Boss ke show ke dialog de rahe ho bhai :two_thumbs_up:
SachDan Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 tms? is that Test Match Sofa. I tried to enjoy their concept, but the jokes were awful ( perhaps a brit thing ) Nah..the original one, 'Test Match Special' and Adam Mountford is the producer.
hiha Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 Never Forget England Tour i will never forget or forgive d indian team tour of england.......worst captaincy nd team display ever tbh, just humiliation.........shame shame on dat tour......though this series win gives some pleasures but it aint revenge, those who consider it revenge r far from d truth we saw in england.......even srl,pak,aus,saf even bangladesh won matches nd were good 2 see, but indian tour absolutely contrsting to what happened in 2002 or 2007 tour 2 england:((
Cricket Tragic Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 Winning an ODI series cannot be revenge for getting whitewashed in a test series. Like I said, our next big tour/test is the one in Australia. After that we don't have a tour outside the SC for 2 years.
CG Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 What england are doing is actually good for indian cricket,Dhoni had become too nice playing to opp teams and thought they will not sledge him ,this should open his eyes also india play well when they are aggressive.Wish now dhoni will let his bowlers sledge
WC2011INDIA Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 PLease win it 6-0 (5-0 ODI, 1 T20). Don't become lazy after 3-0. I want england to be properly humiliated. Oh and hopefully Utthapa will open the batting in T20 and thrash the england bowlers.
Trichromatic Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 5-1 or 6-0 or whatever result, England won't be humiliated properly.
achilles Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 ^ They will, if we keep winning with the kind of margins we are winning.
Cricket Tragic Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 Even if we beat them by 10 wickets/200 runs in the next 2 games, it won't be worse than the 4-0 test series loss this summer. Hopefully we do well in Australia. If we lose that as well, none of these ODI wins at home will mean anything. 1 poor series and we already have the old "poor tourists" crap again. Looking at our young batsmen, it won't be long before we hear that none of the Indian batsmen can play the short ball.
Rightarmfast Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 /\ +1... We must not forget a test series loss is a TEST SERIES LOSS !!! Indian fans can be so myopic at times ( read 'always' ) Although got to admit its quite refreshing to see these 'rest of the world' team jokers being humiliated. For some time, they wont have much to say.We need to play a test series with them in India ,instead of WI !
rkt.india Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 / +1... We must not forget a test series loss is a TEST SERIES LOSS !!! Indian fans can be so myopic at times ( read 'always' ) Although got to admit its quite refreshing to see these 'rest of the world' team jokers being humiliated. For some time, they wont have much to say.We need to play a test series with them in India ,instead of WI ! In India, very few people worry about tests. ODIs are more watches and cared that is why people easily forget test losses.
Feed Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 Flower proud of England players' on-field behaviour More... ANDY FLOWER DEFENDS ENGLAND CONDUCT Andy Flower gave a ringing endorsement of England's on-pitch behaviour under Alastair Cook's captaincy. The England coach found himself answering many more questions about the tourists' conduct in the middle than their descent to an early defeat against India in the five-match one-day international series. Two matches remain to be played, and England already know the game is up at 3-0 to India. Yet after home captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni's pointed remarks about behaviour towards team-mates and opponents, and then a fine of around ޣ250 for Tim Bresnan - for snatching his cap from umpire Sudhir Asnani in yesterday's defeat in Mohali - Flower appeared well aware which subject would be topping the agenda. He began with a glowing character reference for Bresnan and mitigation for his behaviour, as well as that of the Yorkshireman's fellow seamer Jade Dernbach, at the Punjabi CA Stadium. Flower described Bresnan's punishment by International Cricket Council match referee Roshan Mahanama as "harsh". But he also revealed Mahanama had spoken to both Cook and Dhoni about their teams' behaviour in an especially heated second ODI in Delhi on Monday, and backed that intervention. "Tim Bresnan is an outstanding young man with a very good disciplinary record," said Flower. "To be quite honest, I think in this instance it is a harsh judgment - in that it was quite a frustrating over for him." Bresnan, who did not bowl as well as he can, lost his cool after a vexing 18th over of the India run chase. "His snatching of a cap was done out of frustration at five overthrows and an edge down to the third-man boundary, as opposed to any dissent or any decision," added the coach. "I have no problem at all with Tim's behaviour. He has an outstanding conduct record. "They've made their judgment, and whether or not we disagree with it is by the by. I think we all move on now." Flower acknowledges his England charges must strike an acceptable balance between playing hard and upholding the spirit of the game - and he believes they are doing so. "Every sportsman has to consider that balance, and in the main I think our cricketers are excellent role models and conduct themselves in the way that passionate English sportspeople should do. "The match referee, after the second one-day international, spoke to both captains about the conduct of both sides - and I think he was right to do that. "I think in that second game there was too much 'talk' out in the middle. "After all, we play the game as a game of skill and you're there to 'out-skill' your opponents. "Yes, there is a difference between passion and poor conduct and, in almost all occasions, I think our guys are excellent at finding that balance." Flower was also at pains to speak up for Dernbach, who - like Bresnan - leaked runs badly as India wrapped up the series. "You're making a judgment on his body language not being great," he said. "I thought his body language, in the main, showed that he cared about winning the game or contributing towards winning the game for England. "He'd just had a catch dropped and that is frustrating. It was a very tense part of the game. "Of course, that balance is there to be found and I think all of our players have a responsibility to find it." Flower saved perhaps his sturdiest defence, though, for Jonathan Trott. The England number three underpinned a total of 298 for four on Thursday, with the significant free-scoring help of Kevin Pietersen and Samit Patel. Even then, England were unable to defend the total and the rationale in some quarters was that Trott's mid-80s innings strike-rate was part of the problem. Flower takes issue with that, though, comparing Trott's methods and effectiveness with Sri Lanka's Mahela Jayawardene, who was lauded for a World Cup final century which kept his team in with a chance against eventual winners India in Mumbai five months ago. "You say that his strike rate is low," said Flower. "Is his strike rate any lower than Mahela Jayawardene's in one-day cricket? "Check those stats." Trott has the best ODI average of any England player in history to boot. "Since he started playing one-day cricket for England, he has been very consistent - and that consistency has helped us score bigger totals," said Flower. "I think, if anything, some of the players around him have under-performed with the bat, and I think he's playing good cricket. "Until a better player comes along, Jonathan Trott will play." Whatever the reasons, though, Flower accepts England, who beat India 3-0 at home in September, have been below their best in this rematch. "We haven't played well out here," he said. "We intend to do something about that. "The Indian team are a more confident unit out here. They struggled to adapt to our conditions, and I think at the moment we have been a little slow to adapt to theirs. "It is your job to do that as quickly as possible. We haven't, and therefore we've lost this series."
Feed Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 When action spoke louder than words! More... When action spoke louder than words! From R Kaushik, Mohali, Oct 21, DHNS: Not even when the World Cup was sealed and delivered with that monstrous six off Nuwan Kulasekara did Mahendra Singh Dhoni emote like he did at the PCA stadium on Thursday night. The moment he punched Tim Bresnan over covers for the boundary that sewed up IndiaÃÔ series win over England, the normally unflappable Indian skipper flexed his knees, and slowly straightened a bent, clenched right fist skywards. It wasnÃÕ merely a gesture signalling triumph; it also expressed relief, elation and a sense of righteousness that was a direct fall-out of EnglandÃÔ reprehensible behaviour throughout this limited-overs campaign. Humanly impossible as it must have been not to be affected by the disastrous outing in England, Dhoni always maintained a face of dignity and poise even as his opponents were running roughshod over his boys in their own patch. India conducted themselves with poise, gracious in defeat, acknowledging that they were outclassed and refusing to seek refuge in the plethora of injuries that seriously undermined their chances in Old Blighty. Even during their victorious run, England had kept aside magnanimity. The moment things started going horribly wrong on this short tour of India, they sought recourse to verbal warfare and non-stop sledging not just of the opposition, but of each other too! The sight of fielders having a go at each other, of misfields attracting angry and obvious recrimination, of exchange of words and of slumped shoulders clearly showed that this was a defeated, and disgraced, team. Alastair Cook himself wasnÃÕ guilty of any specific misdemeanour, but by failing to control his troops and allowing themselves to have a free run, the English skipper didnÃÕ exactly cover himself in glory. BresnanÃÔ open acknowledgement that verbal warfare was a deliberate strategy to unsettle the Indians in conditions where EnglandÃÔ seamers wouldnÃÕ get much help was a dead giveaway. England were clutching at straws, looking to cut corners, determined to win by hook or by crook. The cricketing Gods donÃÕ look upon such strategies kindly. Dhoni was more amused than angered when informed of BresnanÃÔ admission to an English newspaper of their ÃÃ…eliberate use of the lip. ŪtÃÔ not working, is it?! he smiled mischievously, the twinkle in his eyes indicative of his slightly perverse joy. Normally not given to talking too much about the opposition, the Jharkhandi was in a particularly expansive mood when an English journalist wanted to know what CookÃÔ men ought to do to turn things around. ŪtÃÔ very important to be nice to your team-mates, Dhoni replied, subjecting England to a studied lesson in on-field behaviour. ŵhere are a lot of gestures flowing around by England when they are fielding. When you are under pressure, some individuals will commit mistakes. When you have good runners between the wickets, you will definitely put the opposition under pressure. These are the things that really test the character of the side. Ÿhen it comes to just talent, most international sides are good -- even England are really good. They have the talent; they just need to stick together as a team. ThatÃÔ very important, especially when the team doesnÃÕ get the desired results. England are repeat and obvious offenders. Craig Kieswetter has a word of recrimination and advice for friend and foe alike when he would be better off seeking tips to improve both his ÃÌeeping and his batting. Bresnan, Jade Dernbach and Steve Finn have been as effective with their ÃÔledges not for want of trying, though! as they have been with the ball while Graeme Swann has generally reserved his tongue-lashing for errant team-mates, Samit Patel in particular at the receiving end on Thursday. At various stages, it has seemed as if England are in denial. A day before the third one-dayer, Finn said the Indians had got the better of the conditions in the first two matches, even though it was Cook who won the toss in the second game. Finn also hinted that the two games had been close, perhaps momentarily forgetting the margins of defeat 126 runs and eight wickets, with 80 deliveries to spare! England will do their cause no harm by acknowledging that, in their backyard, even a weakened India are a cut above them. They will do well to address their fielding and catching, which perhaps cost them the Mohali game, and work on their pace combination. And leave the verbals behind. Otherwise, they could face a repeat of 2008, when they were whitewashed 5-0.
Cricket Tragic Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 Also why pick Mahela who is not the greatest ODI player? He might have close to 10k runs but his average and s/r are mediocre. More... ANDY FLOWER DEFENDS ENGLAND CONDUCT "You say that his strike rate is low," said Flower. "Is his strike rate any lower than Mahela Jayawardene's in one-day cricket? "Check those stats."
ganeshran Posted October 21, 2011 Posted October 21, 2011 We will have avenged the ODI loss but payback for test series will be much more difficult. Even in subcontinent conditions, England will not be pushovers in test matches