ganeshran Posted February 8, 2012 Posted February 8, 2012 My ex housemate was a male stripper. No joke. Nice guy' date= good fun. :hmmm:
Anonymous Posted February 8, 2012 Posted February 8, 2012 I used to live with a scottish guy and he was the wierdest guy I've ever known. He had no friends (nevermind a gf) and he was nearly 30. He had mental mood swings and then I moved in with a desi who hasnt lost his FOB qualities even after living in the UK for 5 years. The worst part was when he asked me to check the house for any missing items when he saw a girl leave after spending the night and that too in front of her. Anyway I've had enough of sharing, am moving into an apartment of mine in a month
EnterTheVoid Posted February 8, 2012 Posted February 8, 2012 I bet noone's ever stayed in a backpacker's hostel for a long period !... Have done that when I was an exchange student for 24 weeks as it was the cheapest option. New characters every single day, witnessed quite a lot of interesting 'happenings' ( If I were to bring one up specifically...ahh.... there was this young schizophrenic girl who stayed there for a few days - intense mood swings, she'd be happy and sweet at one instance and then suddenly turn into a character straight out of a horror movie..there were bets going around as to who she would decapitate first when we are all sleeping, since it was a 6 bed mixed-dorm that we had and she was in it !!..some really nervous nights those were. ) And thats just the tip of the iceberg... I could probaby write an entire book about that experience alone when I retire. Nice, where was the exchange at? Met a real tight **** in one of the hostels in Kuala Lumpur. When it was time to pay the dinner bill, instead of splitting the bill with everyone, this guy goes "Oh nooo, I wonly ordered this so I will wonly pay for my meal".
KhanSaab Posted February 9, 2012 Posted February 9, 2012 Nice, where was the exchange at? Met a real tight **** in one of the hostels in Kuala Lumpur. When it was time to pay the dinner bill, instead of splitting the bill with everyone, this guy goes "Oh nooo, I wonly ordered this so I will wonly pay for my meal". Thats unfortunately fairly common in America.
hari504504 Posted February 9, 2012 Posted February 9, 2012 Nice, where was the exchange at? Met a real tight **** in one of the hostels in Kuala Lumpur. When it was time to pay the dinner bill, instead of splitting the bill with everyone, this guy goes "Oh nooo, I wonly ordered this so I will wonly pay for my meal". Karlsruhe Yes, thats a very common thing actually. Have seen the waiters many a times befuddled when a big table gives him a stack of credit cards and a list of who had what... frowned upon in Asia, is the norm in other places. Newyork for example
ganeshran Posted February 9, 2012 Posted February 9, 2012 We always split the bill evenly. Its really inconvenient to find out who had what and only charge them for it
bulbul Posted February 9, 2012 Posted February 9, 2012 We always split the bill evenly. Its really inconvenient to find out who had what and only charge them for it also better not to go with such people..its irritating...
Mariyam Posted February 9, 2012 Posted February 9, 2012 We always split the bill evenly. Its really inconvenient to find out who had what and only charge them for it There are such bad apples in every group. " Oh, I didn't drink, please divide the food bill by 6 and the drinks bill by 5" " I didn't have fries" " You booked this place for a party, you pay the valet/parking" :D
Holysmoke Posted February 9, 2012 Posted February 9, 2012 I've had really good roommates, and been a nice one too. My roommates are some of my best friends now. Lots of great memories. One of my roomates had OCD. Once, after coming back from class I see that he has cleaned my desk and the whole stack of books and papers on it has been neatly stacked in a corner. My first reaction was like.. WTF.. How am I gonna find xyz, because I knew exactly where everything was in that mess. Now my roommates desk was opposite my desk, so if he would be sitting on his desk, my desk was behind his back. Turns out he couldnt study just because he knew that my desk was messy. Sometimes he would even do my bed for me :cantstop:
Prakat Posted February 9, 2012 Posted February 9, 2012 I have a couch for surfers and keep getting the strangest visitors. The last one was an Italian who had spent some time in Delhi, Kashmir and Rajasthan. This is his story. He arrived in Delhi and a day after checking into a hotel he is sold (quite willingly) a houseboat vacation in Kashmir. He arrives in Kashmir and finds that he has a houseboat all to himself. Win! Right? Wrong. The houseboatwalla refuses to dock the boat when he asks him and has to be paid every time Paolo (that's his name) wants to go ashore. So his choices are to either stay put in the houseboat wandering aimlessly or pay to be taken ashore everytime. From Kashmir he escapes and makes his way to Rajasthan where he meets a friendly group of young guys who he has dinner with and has some local booze, and who he swears, at one point late in the night, try to kidnap him by pulling him into a moving van. They leave him on the road in the middle of the night and drive away in a hurry. From Kashmir he lands up in Bombay where he promptly looked me up on the site and landed at my doorstep. He narrates the whole story in a fatalistic and indulgent manner bemoaning and laughing at his fate about the swindling houseboat man and the jolly gang of would-be kidnappers.
akshayxyz Posted February 9, 2012 Posted February 9, 2012 We always split the bill evenly. Its really inconvenient to find out who had what and only charge them for it that's why I don't order/share fries, its difficult to keep track of who ate how many fries.
EnterTheVoid Posted February 9, 2012 Posted February 9, 2012 Thats unfortunately fairly common in America. Karlsruhe Yes, thats a very common thing actually. Have seen the waiters many a times befuddled when a big table gives him a stack of credit cards and a list of who had what... frowned upon in Asia, is the norm in other places. Newyork for example All this whilst (what he called) "sampling" food off other people's plate. Frugal living taken to new heights.
Texy Posted February 9, 2012 Author Posted February 9, 2012 Thats unfortunately fairly common in America. Karlsruhe Yes, thats a very common thing actually. Have seen the waiters many a times befuddled when a big table gives him a stack of credit cards and a list of who had what... frowned upon in Asia, is the norm in other places. Newyork for example Only cheap desis and chinkis do that as they desperately tries to live up to their stereotypes. Not a common thing at all unless you have dinner with co-workers or random people you only know in groups. Most people usually go out with friends they know in a group and split the bill, gratuity evenly. Had this fobby roommate for 1 semester in undergraduate who would spend hundreds of $$ on phone cards but when it came to sharing a pizza or sharing a meal at a local hangout he would refuse to indulge, however, he would always scam a slice from here and there...his common line would be "oh that looks good...kaisa hai? can I taste?" and then ends up grabbing couple of slices...chews it down and then walks away. Also this guy didn't believe in deodorants or cologne...he would slap talcum powder and always leave 3 buttons from the top unbuttoned..showing off his chest hair fluff and spikes of talcum powder My ex housemate was a male stripper. No joke. Nice guy' date=' good fun.[/quote'] Something similar happened to me too except I was sharing a 5 bd house with 2 guys and 2 girls. I had a huge crush on one of the Mexican girls. She was very well kept, tidy and extremely voluptuous. Every time we would go out as a group, she would always buy a few rounds of beer for all of us and was quite generous overall...she also had a brand new Audi TT. End of the semester some of us guys decided to visit this strip club which was about an hour away driving distance.. to blow off steam and other things. An hour into all the lap dances..the announcer calls, "Candy to Stage 5, Candy to Stage 5" and we look up from far and to our surprise it was our roommate all doled up in a lingerie dancing next to a pole. I get up and walk up close to her just to make sure if her and everything else is authentic. She sees me...tries to cover up her chest with arms across but it was too late as I already had etched her assets in my memory. She moved out a week later..it was very awkward.
EnterTheVoid Posted February 9, 2012 Posted February 9, 2012 Something similar happened to me too except I was sharing a 5 bd house with 2 guys and 2 girls. I had a huge crush on one of the Mexican girls. She was very well kept' date=' tidy and extremely voluptuous. Every time we would go out as a group, she would always buy a few rounds of beer for all of us and was quite generous overall...she also had a brand new Audi TT. End of the semester some of us guys decided to visit this strip club which was about an hour away driving distance.. to blow off steam and other things. An hour into all the lap dances..the announcer calls, "Candy to Stage 5, Candy to Stage 5" and we look up from far and to our surprise it was our roommate all doled up in a lingerie dancing next to a pole. I get up and walk up close to her just to make sure if her and everything else is authentic. She sees me...tries to cover up her chest with arms across but it was too late as I already had etched her assets in my memory. She moved out a week later..it was very awkward.[/quote'] Oh man
mishra Posted February 9, 2012 Posted February 9, 2012 I had a Muslim room mate (from India). He was big fella, had too much love for beer and cheese. Anyhow one friday I had a knock on the door. opened the door. There were about 5-6 people on gate in early twenties who had come to invite us to friday prayers. Finding myself in a situation i immediately told them that I am not Muslim but other guy is. I remember him pleading to them that how tired he is . ... and why he cant go with them on that day. It was only after 10-15 mins they left the door. Next friday onwards he always took me to the pub instead of reaching home untill some eid or similar night when these guys came again late night asking him to go with the to mosque and earn some forgiveness ..... But as soon as they realised he was drunk they lost the interest in that Jaahil kuffar.....
Vijay.Sharma Posted February 9, 2012 Posted February 9, 2012 that's why I don't order/share fries' date=' its difficult to keep track of who ate how many fries.[/quote']hey now...in the bangalore meet we had fries....or did we just have the sheek kabab. what about the hookah? Who took how many drags?
maniac Posted February 9, 2012 Posted February 9, 2012 Bad Experience:My room mates used to eat Non-veg,Smoke,Drink,Play cards and encourage me to do the same....being a conservative and naive boy,I hated that my dharam was bhrasted Good Experience:I enjoyed every moment of trying all of the above:--D
jusarrived Posted February 9, 2012 Posted February 9, 2012 you should never have a roommate with a same tempo ...my last room mate was perfect , dint smoke/drink . Had no issues with my smoking/drinking or having friends over as long as we dont enter his room .Took care of all the bills . And the best part was , he would leave tp pune on fridays ..& i had the appartment on weekends for my self for those three days . Now i stay alone :(