Experts comment on Sachin's retirement (Kapil, Ganguly and Vengsarkar)

CG

In the interest of his own he should step away from ODIs. He has nothing left to achieve there. He has some game left in him to play ODIs. Every batsman has some game left in them to do well. They can also pull off a magical innings every now and then. You cannot play on forever based on that. A mistake Jayasuriya made. He should have retired gracefully. Sachin hasn't reached the stage. Before reaching that stage he should quit and focus fully on Tests.

Well, he was going to be criticised either way. He skipped WI tour (in favour of youngsters so that they can have a go in relatively easier conditions) then people are after him telling he picks which series to play which not to based on his whims and fancies. If he had played WI tour, very same set of people would have told that he is playing not so important series just to inflate his numbers. That's problem of being SRT.
Can someone count the number of news paper/article headlines containing the phrases "Sachin Failed", "Sachin selfish" ...(and similar) - especially since the 99th century. Every century was selfish, every non-century was a failure (and/or selfish pursuit for 'meaningless' century).
It is sad. Legends aren't supposed to leave this way.Its just not written. I think there will be one last triumph of the spirit for him.

I think one has to go back to the previous VB series to see the case of sachin's comeback. Prior to the final matches, he did not have a great series but he produced 2 gems to win us the series against australia. All said and done, i think Sach has played enough cricket to be able to play ODI's with breaks in between.If sachin should go away, it should be because he is one of the worst batsmen in the team and not because he is not able to produce hundreds at a rate of 1 every 5 matches. i dont think the is the worst in the team. there are others playing who havent contributed as much as sachin has in the series.

Sachin did find his last fountain of youth in 2010 was the best batsman in world and miles away the best batsman in team till South African series in tests and in world cup even though he failed in finals he was Indian team's best batsman. I do think that world cup win took something out of him and he has not been the same since.He had perfect stage to call it quits and go on top. Whether Sachin can play or not play is not the question,the bigger question is does this Indian team needs Sachin .He is not going to be around in 2015 and if that is case why not just drop him if he is not willing to drop himself. Every Indian is very thankful for all his yeoman service to Indian cricket but it is high time to move past Sachin and let youngsters sink or swim on their own.

Nobody available to replace Tendulkar, says Vengsarkar MUMBAI: Former India skipper Dilip Vengsarkar on Thursday slammed suggestions in the media and views of another former captain Kapil Dev that Sachin Tendulkar should quit one-day cricket, saying that the master batsman needed no advice on this issue. "There is no need to advise a legend to hang his boots when he himself, I am sure, will do so when the time is right for him to do so," said Vengsarkar, a former chief selector, in a statement issued here. Kapil Dev had said that Sachin should have quit after the World Cup victory. "In my opinion, he should have quit ODI on a high after India won the World Cup....But it's for him to decide," Kapil had said. Vengsarkar, said that even at the age of 39, Tendulkar was as fit as anyone in the Indian team. He also said that Indian team's bench strength was poor, and there is none to fill in the boots when great players like Tendulkar leave the scene. "I really wonder whether India has a player of Sachin's class in its midst at the moment. Our bench strength is not at all that solid whereby we can hope to fill the void left by some great players in time to come," he said. "Sachin may be nearing 39 years, but I strongly feel that he is as fit and as charged up, if not more, than any of the players playing for India at present. His focus, dedication, and commitment to the team is unparalleled to say the least. "Sachin's sheer presence can mould the future generation of Indian cricketers....the Mumbai team of yesteryears was strong because we had Test players playing club and inter-office cricket regularly in Mumbai. This helped upcoming, young cricketers immensely," Vengsarkar said. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/series-tournaments/india-in-australia/top-stories/Nobody-available-to-replace-Tendulkar-says-Vengsarkar/articleshow/12004150.cms

What Vengi is suggesting that Tendu can continue as there's nobody to fill his place..I smell Marathi brotherhood there.."Tu Kar, Mee Pan Kar".. He really feels it's important for Sachin to stay there to find suitable replacements in ODI team? :cantstop: Nobody's asking Chin-Chin Hildulkar to resign from Test matches.. He can groom youngsters in Test matches.. Why he's fecking the ODI team?

Vengsarkar, said that even at the age of 39, Tendulkar was as fit as anyone in the Indian team.
How can anyone, particularly a former great, say that? This is either: a) A flat out lie and the speaker should be called out to do so. b) Indian cricket team is in such a effing sorry state that a 39 year old is the fittest chap? Clearly it is a) but even if it was b) it was equally embarassing. I appreciate Vengsarkar, both as a player and now as someone who works very hard to groom youngsters but here he is entirely wrong, and perhaps driven more by bias than sanity.

kya bakwass hai ?It is almost impossible to find replacement for Tendulkar .This doesn't mean other shouldn't be given a chance .In reality at present he is rotating among seniors only ,but soon he will have to decide whether he wants to play ODI or not .

i am surprised Vengsarkar was the selector who boldly dropped dravid and ganguly from odi team 4 years back he seems biased when it comes to sachin

i am surprised Vengsarkar was the selector who boldly dropped dravid and ganguly from odi team 4 years back. he seems biased when it comes to sachin
You think? :cantstop: Only Benaglis are supposed to be biased when standing behind Ganguly. When Manju singles out VVS as ill-fit and Dileep Vengsarkar claims SRT is the fittest of them all, surely they are full of integrity and say all this because of Indian cricket at heart...:hehe:
It's madness gone mad. Even on this forum we have people claiming Tendulkar to be supremely fit and athletic. Tendulkar works hard to maintain standards and has never been a complete liability in the field at least in the context of the Indian team. But he is not a natural like Kapil or Ponting and while I would still rate him in the top 50% of what we have available for the Indian team, to compare him with someone like Kohli and claim Tendulkar is the fittest in the Indian team is sheer lunacy.

Kapil retirement talk was initiated almost instantly, right after Phil SImmons swatted him to cow corner for a six like a fly. It was embarrassing to see a great bowler like Kapil getting treated like that. I always grew up seeing Kapil as a very very difficult bowler to go after in ODIs. Dean Jones knew that better than anyone else. He was deadly accurate. But Simmons had enough time to step to the offside and smacking him for six over long leg. Most of the people thought Kapil should retire not because he was taking place of another youngster but because they didn't want to remember him that way.

This is what happens when you try to extract every ounce that is left of your game, eventually you will leave in disgrace. There are several ways to go out: 1. On top, after achieving something great, with still a little/lot of game left 2. Leave as you realize your game is not up to the high standards you've set for yourself 3. Play till you are almost dropping dead And this deal about a great player should be allowed to pick and choose when he should leave is absolute BS. What if his judgement is clouded? The entire team has to suffer because of that? Statements by guys like Vengy that players like SRT should get to decide when they leave is absolute BS. This is exactly the hero worship culture that people accuse us of.

This is what happens when you try to extract every ounce that is left of your game, eventually you will leave in disgrace. There are several ways to go out: 1. On top, after achieving something great, with still a little/lot of game left 2. Leave as you realize your game is not up to the high standards you've set for yourself 3. Play till you are almost dropping dead
That is how Viswanath's legacy got tainted. He is one of India's top MVP of all time. But he looked like a rabbit in his last series against Pakistan. On the other hand his brother in law Sunny against same Pakistan played one of the most outstanding test innings you could ever see and retired.
Kapil retirement talk was initiated almost instantly' date=' right after Phil SImmons swatted him to cow corner for a six like a fly. It was embarrassing to see a great bowler like Kapil getting treated like that. I always grew up seeing Kapil as a very very difficult bowler to go after in ODIs. Dean Jones knew that better than anyone else. He was deadly accurate. But Simmons had enough time to step to the offside and smacking him for six over long leg. Most of the people thought Kapil should retire not because he was taking place of another youngster but because they didn't want to remember him that way.[/quote'] true due to his bad performance in his last two tour people might assume sachin as flat track bully :(( 22 years of hard work he has spoiled his image in a single year :((
Kapil retirement talk was initiated almost instantly' date=' right after Phil SImmons swatted him to cow corner for a six like a fly. It was embarrassing to see a great bowler like Kapil getting treated like that. I always grew up seeing Kapil as a very very difficult bowler to go after in ODIs. Dean Jones knew that better than anyone else. He was deadly accurate. But Simmons had enough time to step to the offside and smacking him for six over long leg. Most of the people thought Kapil should retire not because he was taking place of another youngster but because they didn't want to remember him that way.[/quote'] I started to give up on Kapil Dev when Arvinda De Silva hit a six off him over covers. But still he had his moments and for that he was quite useful. Still remember how he took 2 wickets off 3 deliveries and foxed wily Border and Jones. Plus he was never a liability in the field as such. Even in 1992 WC he was taking great catches and working the outfields like crazy. He and Azhar would walk anytime in my One day XI..even when they were both 35. Of course his best days was much before me *sigh* but if you look at his bowling action in 1981 (there is a video of that in Australian win) and compare with 1992 you can see how it had changed a bit and pace had dropped. It did take a toll on him. Very unfortunate that his best days were perhaps never captured much on videos (Indian cricket videos I mean)