How come no one has listed Fridges/ Washing Machines/ Microwaves/ Toasters. Are these modern amenities not yet a part of the typical cricket loving NRI's life? On a related note, what exactly is the difference between an electric appliance and an electronic appliance? What is a fridge? What about a vacuum cleaner? Answer in layman/woman terms please.

^ in layman term electronics items usually use battery i.e DC [direct current] to power them ,whereas Electrical appliance like fridge uses AC .

^ in layman term electronics items usual use battery i.e DC [direct current] to power them ' date=whereas Electrical appliance like fridge uses AC .
to add to it .. normally most of the electronic items requires adapter which converts AC to DC... :icflove:

Or to cover for TVs etc., the items convert A/C supply in a transformer housed inside the equipment into DC current which is then used to power the system.

How come no one has listed Fridges/ Washing Machines/ Microwaves/ Toasters. Are these modern amenities not yet a part of the typical cricket loving NRI's life? On a related note, what exactly is the difference between an electric appliance and an electronic appliance? What is a fridge? What about a vacuum cleaner? Answer in layman/woman terms please.
copied..
Appliances are devices that perform work of some kind for you - a dishwasher, a toaster, a washing machine or dryer (for clothes), a vacuum cleaner, a refrigerator - while electronics are primarily entertainment devices based on electronic technology - televisions, stereo systems, Ipods, videogame consoles.
Shane, Is this the one which came into market during Bangladesh Independence Cup? You might even remember the Akai ads shown during those matches. I have one too, but not using it now.
I dont remember the ads, around the time of the Sharjah series I think. It was launched at a steep L.P. of 1 lakh per set. We got it for a discounted price of 60k, it was worth it, still going very strong :D
Yea, I thought so, its kinda strange coz, I bought a 320 GB Hard Disk a couple of years back, it costed me like 3.5k, I would have thought, I could atleast pick up a 1TB for may be 4.5k or so. Thanks baize, but if there is any jugaad then let me know, coz I think I may not able to wait till May.
I also bought 320GB a few months ago and very soon realized that I should have bought 1TB. Now I also have to buy a 1TB hard disk soon.
Wait till may. You will get it for 30-40% cheaper

^Yeah, I'm in no hurry. Yeh joh saari movies/TV series HD mein aaney lagi hain ussey bahut problem ho gayi hai. It takes too much space but its such good quality that you just can't go back to regular after watching HD :mad:

I will only list my gadgets and laptops! Iphone 4 iPAD 2 iPOD touch(32 GB, 4g) Macbook Air Dell Studio Nintendo wii and wii fit PS2 That's all I can remember right now!