achilles Posted April 9, 2012 Author Posted April 9, 2012 I spent my childhood in Oman, lived in Seeb and studied at the Al Ghubra Indian School. Left the Middle East for the West - better opportunities, lifestyle, freedom etc Hmmm. Oman, Bahrain and Kuwait are some of the better countries in the GCC? Absodamnlutely' date=' I wanted and had the chance to move to...but instead joined the family business. Not too many regrets...but yea...to live life to the fullest...has to be India or the west.[/quote'] Too many strict rules and stuff? Nothing that desi's can't "manage" :D
Ramzz Posted April 9, 2012 Posted April 9, 2012 Hmmm. Oman, Bahrain and Kuwait are some of the better countries in the GCC? Too many strict rules and stuff? Nothing that desi's can't "manage" :D Not too strict as per say...but there are some obstacles which are coming down slowly. For MBA grads, with good experience...you may be able to land a good job with some of the private firms...best way is to look them up...depending on your career orientation. I would recommend you visit, to feel out the place and look for a job...it is the best way and it is generally how it is done here.
GautiMaan Posted April 10, 2012 Posted April 10, 2012 I'm on the verge of completing my MBA. My specialization is Marketing. I'll check those websites out. Btw, is it safe to get a visit visa and come look for a job there? Or is it advisable to go when invited for an interview by a company? You should follow Ramzz's advice and here's a site through which someone i knew got a job http://www.globnetllc.com/ Good luck and keep us updated:two_thumbs_up:
achilles Posted April 12, 2012 Author Posted April 12, 2012 Thank you guys. Incase I have doubts, I shall bump the threads. And hopefully laddoo batne ki bari jhald hi aayegi :D
Aaku Posted April 12, 2012 Posted April 12, 2012 Good evening friends. I keep reading a lot about the Middle East on the internet. There is a lot of conflicting reports that I keep reading. Some write, it is a great place to live, great economy, good people. But others write the exact opposite. I'm thinking about moving to Bahrain or Kuwait. Constantly reading conflicting reports about the riots in Bahrain and the instability of the economy there is not helping. I've read that it is difficult to be a non-Muslim living in Kuwait. Can someone please apprise me about these 2 countries, Bahrain in particular? PS- Any advice on how to approach them for jobs would be nice too, as they don't revert back to emails much. stop saying 'rever back to emails' you ll get the job :nice:
CSK Fan Posted April 12, 2012 Posted April 12, 2012 Yaar, people are paid sheet salaries here, made to do things which are not their responsibilities and exploited. Maybe I would like to come back to India in a few years, but starting your career in India is a risky thing. What is this, the 1960s? If you have a good enough education, Indian salaries and hikes are now among the best in the world
EnterTheVoid Posted April 12, 2012 Posted April 12, 2012 Chose Singapore if you are in finance. Its a rich little country.
Clarke Posted April 12, 2012 Posted April 12, 2012 Yaar' date=' people are [b']paid sheet salaries here, made to do things which are not their responsibilities and exploited. Maybe I would like to come back to India in a few years, but starting your career in India is a risky thing. Actually the same could happen in the middle east as well. You're about to complete your studies, what incentive does a prospective employer have to hire you ? You have the freedom to switch jobs and move around in India, over there you might be at the mercy of your employer. It wouldn't be a bad idea to gain work experience (and more importantly wisdom) in India before one tries for opportunities abroad. But that's just my opinion, if you have the confidence in yourself please carry forward, sooner or later, things work out.
GautiMaan Posted April 13, 2012 Posted April 13, 2012 What is this' date=' the 1960s? If you have a good enough education, Indian salaries and hikes are now among the best in the world[/quote'] Don't know abt salaries and hikes but our country has a long way to go before the quality of life here can be compared to other more developed countries.
zen Posted April 13, 2012 Posted April 13, 2012 Call the HR department of the companies you would like to work for :P Have you asked for help/input from the career services dept of your b-school, which might have a few leads (including alumni) for you!
achilles Posted April 14, 2012 Author Posted April 14, 2012 What is this' date=' the 1960s? If you have a good enough education, Indian salaries and hikes are now among the best in the world[/quote'] The words the companies use in India these days is "impending recession". Owing to this, jobs offered and the salaries on offer are really bad. Even if I chuck the salary factor out, the work on offer is not what I want to do. That is the only reason why, despite having a great life and a family here, I'm planning to move abroad. I'm still looking for opportunities here though. We have everything out here in India. Good companies, MNCs, talent, opportunities... if all that was accessible in free and fair way, trust me, we would have very few NRIs. PS - Some nice words there, Clarkey. You can totally be a counsellor some day.
achilles Posted April 14, 2012 Author Posted April 14, 2012 Go to Singapore. Chose Singapore if you are in finance. Its a rich little country. How is Singapore for a Marketing guy? What is a good way to approach companies in Singapore? The job websites have most openings for local Singaporeans. Call the HR department of the companies you would like to work for :P Have you asked for help/input from the career services dept of your b-school, which might have a few leads (including alumni) for you! I've tried calling the HRs up. They ask me to mail my CV, saying the classic HR phrase - "We'll get back to you". You know how that goes :((
Ramzz Posted April 14, 2012 Posted April 14, 2012 Achilles, For marketing, try Dubai. Way more opportunities. Singapore is a good option too.
achilles Posted April 15, 2012 Author Posted April 15, 2012 Achilles, For marketing, try Dubai. Way more opportunities. Singapore is a good option too. Is Dubai good economically now? I applied for a few companies in Singapore. They replied back saying they prefer local Singaporeans :((
EnterTheVoid Posted April 15, 2012 Posted April 15, 2012 First off, apply for a work visa. Companies usually don't hire anyone but locals unless they have an appropriate work visa. Secondly, be prepared to live it tough for the next year or two if you decide to go there; you may not find work in your field but the longer you stay there, the more you know about how the system there works and the important people you need to contact. Blindly sending your resume its not the most efficient way of doing it, I'm afraid.
achilles Posted April 20, 2012 Author Posted April 20, 2012 First off, apply for a work visa. Companies usually don't hire anyone but locals unless they have an appropriate work visa. Secondly, be prepared to live it tough for the next year or two if you decide to go there; you may not find work in your field but the longer you stay there, the more you know about how the system there works and the important people you need to contact. Blindly sending your resume its not the most efficient way of doing it, I'm afraid. Sorry for the late reply. Exams going on so hardly any internet usage. I thought companies in Singapore arrange the visa by themselves for people who get jobs. Atleast thats what I had heard. But I'll apply for one. As for the second part, how do I get a job there to start with, coz I don't seem to know their recruitment culture. Like in India, we have to first fwd the CV, they shortlist and call for the interview. How is it like there?