Vilander Posted August 3, 2012 Posted August 3, 2012 This is fast becoming a madrasi hate thread, unfortunately. Very divisive ****s most of the north indian people are.
The Outsider Posted August 3, 2012 Posted August 3, 2012 south india is a whole lot more than just chennai ... No, it's not Madraasi! :mad:
velu Posted August 3, 2012 Posted August 3, 2012 i myself spent only one day in chennai throughout my entire life :P I think chennais main problem is humidity , if you done sweat much then u shld not have any problems in managing humid places. And again u want to move to singapore which itself is a very humid place , staying in chennai will be a good perperation for your . :giggle: I would prefer 35 degrees dry climate over 25 with high humidity.
Anonymous Posted August 3, 2012 Posted August 3, 2012 Jao ge to mit jaoge oh MHR123, teri barbadi ke charche hain aasmanon mein, tumhari dastaan tak nahi hogi dastaanon mein :P Some months ago I had an interesting convo with Anonymous regarding Nightlife in Chennai. You can read all about it here- Pages 7 and 8 Some travel tips to Chennai- 1) (Valid if your are traveling from Mumbai, Pune or some other such super city)- Set your watch 100 years back. 2) Always pays to have a local friend. No matter how much you ignored him/her during school and college, if he/she is in Chennai he/she has to be your new best friend. Bestest friend if he/she knows Tamil. 3) Chennai has amazing nightlife. You can have filter coffee at 9 pm and hear an assortment of people discuss the following at the kapee house - why did Jayalalitha win? Why is DMK not as efficient as AIDMK? Who was the greater mathematician- Ramanujam or Aryabhatta? 4) Rickshaw drivers are totally cool. They never lie. They are honest, down to earth and co-operative. The phrase Athithi devo bhav was coined during the reign of the Chola king, Murli Vijay III when famous rickshaw driver Pralaynath Gendaswamy ferried the king of neighbouring Kalinga free of cost. The rickshaw drivers are so honest that they will demand only Rs 300 for a 2 km stretch. The malls and beaches ( Lol at those who compare Marina beach with Juhu. Juhu is way better. Chowpatty even more so) are strictly ok. Elliot's beach is fine. But its so humid that the moisture will damage your phone. The best thing to do when in Chennai is to go to Mahabalipuram. That is an amazing site and the trip to Chennai becomes bearable just for that. Or to Pondicherry (poor man's Goa). Eyyy chokri!!! Aisa mat bolne ka :weights: but seriously, whats with all the narthie stereotypes abt chennai. Yes, its ****ing hot & humid and its not like you lot come from siberia. In chennai, you dont have to worry abt the mumbai slums (jeez, even the airport is in the middle of one) or the testosterone laden tharkis in Delhi who'll not even leave your grandmoms in peace.
yoda Posted August 3, 2012 Posted August 3, 2012 This is fast becoming a madrasi hate thread' date=' unfortunately. Very divisive ****s most of the north indian people are.[/quote'] Dude, you haven't seen threads on Mumbai or Delhi I presume. For Mumbai waalas their slums are the greatest in the world and for Delhiites their politician infested city is numero uno and for us our city is the greatest. To each their own.
Vilander Posted August 3, 2012 Posted August 3, 2012 south india is a whole lot more than just chennai ... Iam not a naarthie ... yeah mumbaikar..narthi ...all the same.. :cantstop:
Vilander Posted August 3, 2012 Posted August 3, 2012 i have been to Juhu, found that the sand is dark in color pollution ?, but the chat shops are cool. marina has a very large continental shelf and long beach, but shops lines are minimal and the crowd litters. Elliot is smaller has better crowd in the night. For night life in Chennai you need to head to ECR or to 5 star hotels and you need to be in the know and have a gang of friends..
EnterTheVoid Posted August 3, 2012 Posted August 3, 2012 If you are used to the sauna like humidity of Singapore/Malaysia, which I assume mhr has had exposure to, the heat in Chennai is no big deal. On the other side, Singapore doesn't have frequent power cuts and is a lot cleaner.
Vilander Posted August 3, 2012 Posted August 3, 2012 Dude' date=' you haven't seen threads on Mumbai or Delhi I presume. For Mumbai waalas their slums are the greatest in the world and for Delhiites their politician infested city is numero uno and for us our city is the greatest. To each their own.[/quote'] :bigboss:Lots of stereotyping here,:sherlock: i blame the standard discourse of writers in op eds and movie directors for this stereotyping being ingrained on rest of India. Chennai is not especially hot, dirty, crowded and devoid of night life. It is as hot, as dirty as crowded and as devoid of night life as many other places in India.
Vilander Posted August 3, 2012 Posted August 3, 2012 south india is a whole lot more than just chennai ... Iam not a naarthie ... :hmmm: you are defending south, yet do not like chennai... you must be from bangalore then.
Clarke Posted August 3, 2012 Posted August 3, 2012 oh .. yaar its getting worse which each comments falling it... then why the hell they talk about Tourism , South India calling etc... regarding rickshaw wala they are of same kind where ever u go. On hind side got a msg. from HQ stating that 5-10% chance of getting Singapore Visa .. but even if I am posted in Chennai at least I can count on Mariyam visiting me in once in a while .. :icflove: Don't worry too much, i bet if you stay long enough over there you'll adjust accordingly and the place will be a part of you (doesn't mean u start watching Rajnikanth dance with Namitha). Besides, its your own country, smile.
J P K Posted August 3, 2012 Posted August 3, 2012 :hmmm: you are defending south, yet do not like chennai... you must be from bangalore then. thanks to our politicans' chennai has problems with banglore wala`s (kaveri) and kerela too (dam)
EnterTheVoid Posted August 3, 2012 Posted August 3, 2012 you are defending south, yet do not like chennai... you must be from bangalore then. Finally clicked on?
Anonymous Posted August 3, 2012 Posted August 3, 2012 Dude' date=' you haven't seen threads on Mumbai or Delhi I presume. For Mumbai waalas their slums are the greatest in the world and for Delhiites their politician infested city is numero uno and for us our city is the greatest. To each their own.[/quote'] I dont see the point of all this chest thumping from the mumbaikars or for that matter Delhites here. Although they are trying their best to humour us, you only get that false bravado hidden underneath that is so apparent and I had my more than fair share of douches from both the cities as classmates. For all its financial prowess and glitz, Mumbai is the city of slums and stench even by Indian standards. I would go as far as saying that it reinforces the western stereotypes about India more than any city in India. And, about Delhi, the less said the better. @mhr - Dude you are going to Chennai and not bloody Afghanistan FFS. If you are gonna be swayed by chest thumping narthies posting on an internet forum, then god speed mate. And, If at all you do end up in chennai, my only request is for you to post your experience out here for all our esteemed brethren.
fineleg Posted August 3, 2012 Posted August 3, 2012 mhr123, Just move to Chennai and enjoy your stint there. You will enjoy the different experience. It is a metro city so you get all the modern living styles, and you will be richer with the experience of a different culture (in this case, happens to be a South Indian culture). Dont worry too much about the move. Just go with it. AND, yeah! Make sure you know to tie lungi and veshti like an expert before your stint is over! :)
fineleg Posted August 3, 2012 Posted August 3, 2012 For the uninitiated, that's Big B wearing a veshti (not a lungi)
jusarrived Posted August 3, 2012 Posted August 3, 2012 This one time i took a rickshaw frm station & the guy said 30 buks .. very very satisfied with myself , i get in ...shocker was when he stops less than 100ms ahead and tells me this was where i get off... never felt so stupid
asterix Posted August 3, 2012 Posted August 3, 2012 This one time i took a rickshaw frm station & the guy said 30 buks .. very very satisfied with myself ' date=' i get in ...shocker was when he stops less than 100ms ahead and tells me this was where i get off... never felt so stupid[/quote'] :cantstop:
Vilander Posted August 3, 2012 Posted August 3, 2012 thanks to our politicans' chennai has problems with banglore wala`s (kaveri) and kerela too (dam) :cantstop: yes, morons..dividing the nation.
Vilander Posted August 3, 2012 Posted August 3, 2012 Finally clicked on? hmm i did not get you mate ?