ravishingravi Posted October 16, 2012 Posted October 16, 2012 how is she now?any updates? Transferred to UK hospital.
Texy Posted October 16, 2012 Posted October 16, 2012 I can tell you she's very lucky that the bullet missed her spinal cord. The bullet entered thru her skull and exited very close to her spine. When she recovers, she will need extensive neurological assistance as well as repairs to her skull to replace the damaged bone. It's a good thing that all her major organs are working properly otherwise it would've been extremely difficult from a surgical point of view to save her. She has movement in her feet n hands which is always a good sign but she's still not out of danger yet.
Crookbond Posted October 16, 2012 Posted October 16, 2012 Malala has good chance of recovery: Doctors http://www.firstpost.com/world/malala-has-good-chance-of-recovery-doctors-492280.html Malala was secretly transferred to Britain from Pakistan in an air ambulance on Monday for specialist treatment, including the repair of damaged bones in her skull. She is admitted to the Queen Elizabeth Hospital in Birmingham in London, which has a specialist major trauma centre where British servicemen who are seriously wounded in Afghanistan are treated.
ravishingravi Posted October 16, 2012 Posted October 16, 2012 ^^ I have read about people claiming this as well and it sickens me to the core. Though from what I see in Pakistan, these people are drowned out by those in support of Malala. I was on a facebook group page where someone suggested what you have shown and I will agree there were people who supported that poster. However, there were many, including myself, who highlighted how twisted this thinking was and we received a considerable amount of support. These are scary times in Pakistan, and the only thing we can do is to make ourselves heard. I really have had it and I fear if we do not rise now, then it will be too late. I make a humble request for all Indians to support the moderates in my country who know that India is not the threat, that the US is not the threat. I know that you as Indians do not have any obligation to help us Pakistanis, but the stability of my country is of utmost importance to the region so instead of attacking every Pakistani and clumping them together with the rest of the nutjobs, please know that this is a fight against extremism, not a fight against Pakistan. I would like to avoid making generalizations here. But I have learnt and followed Pakistan quite closely over last few years. MJ Akbar said "The idea of India is stronger than an average Indian and the idea of Pakistan is weaker than an average Pakistani". It is this weak idea and this constant seeking of this abstract identity that keeps Pakistan radicalized and in turmoil. I can probably elaborate to a much greater degree, but there is a fundamental problem when it comes to understanding of reality and in some cases basic morality.
Pioneer Posted October 16, 2012 Posted October 16, 2012 I would like to avoid making generalizations here. But I have learnt and followed Pakistan quite closely over last few years. MJ Akbar said "The idea of India is stronger than an average Indian and the idea of Pakistan is weaker than an average Pakistani". It is this weak idea and this constant seeking of this abstract identity that keeps Pakistan radicalized and in turmoil. I can probably elaborate to a much greater degree, but there is a fundamental problem when it comes to understanding of reality and in some cases basic morality. Interesting point. Though I would say this confusion in finding an identity has alot to do with the quality of life in the country as well. If the quality of life was better, wouldn't the idea of Pakistan be stronger as well ?
akshayxyz Posted October 16, 2012 Posted October 16, 2012 I can tell you she's very lucky that the bullet missed her spinal cord. The bullet entered thru her skull and exited very close to her spine. When she recovers, she will need extensive neurological assistance as well as repairs to her skull to replace the damaged bone. It's a good thing that all her major organs are working properly otherwise it would've been extremely difficult from a surgical point of view to save her. She has movement in her feet n hands which is always a good sign but she's still not out of danger yet. Entered skull and exited from other side, it surely must have damaged lot of gray matter on its path! I will be surprised (and happy for her), if she comes 'normal' out of this. But, I also have a remote feeling that, she might already be dead, and being kept 'alive' (in the news) for some time, since she has become a symbol.
coffee_rules Posted October 16, 2012 Author Posted October 16, 2012 Entered skull and exited from other side, it surely must have damaged lot of gray matter on its path! I will be surprised (and happy for her), if she comes 'normal' out of this. But, I also have a remote feeling that, she might already be dead, and being kept 'alive' (in the news) for some time, since she has become a symbol. Can't say for sure. This was a woman who was shot in the head point-blank range and she still survived. ***BlwbmWkg
ravishingravi Posted October 17, 2012 Posted October 17, 2012 Interesting point. Though I would say this confusion in finding an identity has alot to do with the quality of life in the country as well. If the quality of life was better' date= wouldn't the idea of Pakistan be stronger as well ? True. But then you have to go back to how was Pakistan founded. What kind of reforms took place at the time ? I am not sure the land reforms have yet taken place, correct me if I am wrong. I think the feudal system is more prominent in Pakistan than in India. Seeds for better quality of life were probably never planted. The quality of life will grow when economy grows. Human beings have to evolve and move forward with the times. To me, there is too much fabrication of reality, too much resorting to conspiracy theories, to much pandering to the military and ISI, too much of seige mentality for the country to have the energy to take positive steps forwards. Identity definitely is core issue and I blame Jinnah for it. He is someone I much admire too in some ways.
dial_100 Posted October 17, 2012 Posted October 17, 2012 News Anchor asked a question to this politician if this war is their own war or it is american war. He said we condemn this act. We take actions after incidence happened. But here there so many Talibans. According to him there are 8-9 Talibans. there are 2 here, 3 there, 2 there , and 3 there....It was all urdu so i didn;t understand this. Then this joker says that there is Indian RAW controlled Taliban, Americian CIA has a Taliban. But we need to fight against them... So he ended up with how Americans were defeated in Afganistan. :hysterical: What are these people yaar? Instead of accepting the fact that this is all their own creation, they are coming up with these antiques that there is an Indian RAW Taliban. WTF..They are arguing which Taliban they should fight now.
someone Posted October 17, 2012 Posted October 17, 2012 ^^ I make a humble request for all Indians to support the moderates in my country who know that India is not the threat, that the US is not the threat. I know that you as Indians do not have any obligation to help us Pakistanis, but the stability of my country is of utmost importance to the region so instead of attacking every Pakistani and clumping them together with the rest of the nutjobs, please know that this is a fight against extremism, not a fight against Pakistan. What exactly are moderates? I would say it's less extremist. Clear and important difference as after all the extremists have a large influence of the nation. Of course, there are good and sensible people but the thing is that in that nation, they are labelled as pro-Indian or anti-Pakistani. It seems to be a pro-Pakistani, you really need to believe in those conspiracy theories. This only shows that there is culture of labeling and wrong perception, thus it is a fundamental cultural fight within your nation and every citizen of your nation needs to work on it.
Crookbond Posted October 17, 2012 Posted October 17, 2012 After bullet in the head, assaults on Pakistani schoolgirl's character follow http://www.ndtv.com/article/world/after-bullet-in-the-head-assaults-on-pakistani-schoolgirl-s-character-follow-280939 As a Pakistani schoolgirl who was shot in the head by Taliban militants last week fights for her life in a British hospital, a battle to tarnish her reputation is being waged on social networks and news sites in Pakistan. In yet another statement to the Pakistani news media defending the assassination attempt, Taliban spokesman claimed on Tuesday that young Malala Yousufzai, who had criticized the Islamists for closing girls' schools in a blog she wrote for the BBC when she was 11, was "a spy who divulged secrets" and "created propaganda." The spokesman, Ehsanullah Ehsan, also took pains to note reports that the girl had turned 15 in July, suggesting that this meant that she was no longer a child. "Even if no sign of puberty becomes noticeable," he said, "this age of the girl marks the end of prepuberty phase." That being the case, he added, the "Taliban executed the attack on an adult girl only after she emerged as a pivotal character in the media war against us." :WTF: The Taliban's media wing issued the statement after an outpouring of sympathy for the girl, and anger at the militants, swept Pakistan. As my colleague Declan Walsh reported, "Front-page headlines have carried updates of her medical treatment, schoolchildren held prayer services and candlelight vigils, and the political system has united to condemn the Taliban with an unusual vehemence and unity." That solidarity, however, has been less than universal online, where extreme nationalists and politicians from religious parties who support the Taliban have attempted to tarnish the image of the young activist by spreading rumors of her supposed complicity with the American military. One of the main elements in the viral campaign is a mislabeled image of Malala and her father, Ziauddin, meeting in 2009 with President Obama's envoy to the region, Richard Holbrooke. :facepalm: As the Pakistani journalist and blogger Beena Sarwar noted, the image was posted on Twitter repeatedly by Samia Raheel Qazi, a senior figure in Pakistan's largest religious party, Jamaat-e-Islami. Ms. Qazi, who is the daughter of the party's former leader, added a caption that falsely claimed that the child had attended "a meeting with American military officers." Far from being a glimpse of a secret meeting, however, the image is actually a still frame taken from a documentary about the family made by my colleague Adam Ellick. As the film makes clear, the Yousufzais and other grass-roots activists were invited to meet Mr. Holbrooke on July 24, 2009, as they made their way home to the Swat Valley, following a Pakistani military operation to regain control of the region from Taliban militants. When it was her turn to speak, Malala said simply, "I will request you all, and respected Ambassador, I will request you that if you can help us in our education, so please help us." After Ms. Qazi circulated the falsely captioned image of Malala with Mr. Holbrooke, several Pakistani journalists expressed outrage that she appeared to be spreading rumors about the young shooting victim. In a subsequent update, the Islamist politician defended her decision to circulate the image by endorsing, obliquely, the theory that Malala's shooting was part of an American-led conspiracy to justify further strikes in Pakistan. Ms. Qazi wrote that she had shared the image only because "we condemn those who used this little candle in the wind." In addition to Elton John's tribute to Princess Diana, Ms. Qazi appeared to be referring to a conspiracy theory promoted in recent days by Islamist politicians and nationalists who claim that Malala was shot by American intelligence agents in order to deflect criticism of drone strikes or build public support for Pakistan's Army to move against militants in the tribal area of North Waziristan. Ms. Qazi's father, Qazi Hussain Ahmad, who is the Islamist party's former leader, hinted darkly at the conspiracy on Pakistani television, condemning those who, he said, "used Malala." Before she circulated the image, Ms. Qazi passed on a series of claims from conspiracy theorists who insisted that the attack was a ploy. In a detailed report on the viral campaign against Malala on Pakistani Facebook pages and Twitter feeds, Jahanzaib Haque, the Web editor of the English-language Express Tribune, explained that the conspiracy theory widely shared online was outlined in an article headlined "C.I.A. Behind Attack on Malala; Attackers Are in Afghanistan." That report, from a Web site called The Lahore Times, which is set up to look like a replica of The New York Times, begins with the assertion that the "United States of America was behind the attack" on the schoolgirl. It goes on to claim that Taliban militants are in fact American agents: "Evil U.S. forces created a dirty plan to kill Malala and they gave the task to Tehreek-e-Taliban or Black Water (Xe)." A part of the report, in bold type and somewhat broken English, calls the Pakistani Taliban, "a coward terrorists organization which works close with C.I.A., Mossad and R.A.W.," referring to the American, Israeli and Indian intelligence agencies. As Mr. Haque reported, another formulation of the same theory was posted on Facebook by the Pakistani nationalist blogger Ahmed Quraishi, who wrote: Fact is, the U.S. is partially responsible for Malala Yousufzai's plight. The killers of Malala are a bunch of criminals known as 'Swat Taliban.' This terror group was roundly defeated by Pakistan Army in 2009 and flushed out from northern Pakistan. That action by Pakistani military was a lesson to American commanders in Afghanistan in how to successfully defeat terrorists. But Pakistani officials have discovered last year to their horror that the entire leadership of this terror group, the 'Swat Taliban' is alive and well and thriving in terror 'training and resting' camps inside Afghanistan under the watch of U.S. Army. Although it requires a deeply conspiratorial mind to believe, as Pakistani nationalists do, that the American military has the power to choose which Islamist militants operate from areas of Afghanistan under the control of the Afghan Taliban, every good conspiracy is woven from scraps of the truth. As the journalist Ahmed Rashid explains in a post for The New Yorker, the Pakistani Taliban's leader, Mullah Fazlullah, described as the mastermind of the attack on Malala, does appear to be based in Afghanistan. Fazlullah's forces were defeated by the Pakistani Army in 2009 after the public was incensed by a video showing Fazlullah's gunmen flogging naked women. The army, also under enormous American pressure, moved some 2.5 million people out of the Swat Valley and sent in eighty thousand troops to clear Swat of militants - except that Fazlullah and his commanders escaped across the border into Kunar province, in northeastern Afghanistan. From Kunar, which is under the control of like-minded Al Qaeda affiliates, the Afghan Taliban, and multiple other groups from Central Asia, the Caucasus, China, and Europe, Fazlullah has recently relaunched his movement, attacking army posts inside Pakistan's tribal belt and then retreating back to Kunar, where Pakistan cannot touch him. While Mr. Rashid, who is based in Lahore, does not embrace the theory that Mullah Fazlullah is an American agent, he notes: "Afghan officials have quietly admitted to me that Fazlullah's actions are being backed by the Afghan intelligence services. (Officially, Afghanistan denies all such charges.)" He adds: Afghan support for extremists like Fazlullah is, in a sense, return pay. Pakistan's army has done exactly the same thing for the past twelve years - allowing Afghan Taliban to launch strikes into Afghanistan against United States and Afghan forces and then retreat back into Pakistan. Now both countries are more evenly balanced in this dangerous, brutal, bloody proxy war - one that is leading to open war, with Pakistan's army shelling Fazlullah's camps and Afghan villages in Kunar almost every day, angering the Afghan public. :agree: Late last year, when Afghan forces became involved in a nighttime firefight along the disputed and thinly guarded border between Pakistan's Mohmand tribal region and Afghanistan's Kunar Province, they called in American airstrikes on positions that were only identified later as Pakistani Army posts. Two dozen Pakistani soldiers were killed, and Pakistan's government responded by closing NATO supply routes into Afghanistan and ordering the Central Intelligence Agency to vacate an air base in Pakistan used for drone operations. Another part of the online backlash to the support shown for Malala were demands from Pakistani nationalists that the news media should pay as much attention to the victims of American drone strikes. Several images of children said to have been wounded or killed in drone strikes were sent to journalists, with the demand that they be given equally intense coverage. One of the journalists, Beena Sarwar, pointed out that one widely circulated, heartbreaking image, presented as an example of an overlooked drone victim, actually showed a 7-year-old girl named Laiba who was shot by members of Pakistan's paramilitary Frontier Constabulary in 2008.
gangnam style Posted October 17, 2012 Posted October 17, 2012 comparing a convicted terrorist; Aafia Siddique, to a girl who just wants to go to school; Malala. not surprised though with the mindset prevalent in Pak.
Clarke Posted October 17, 2012 Posted October 17, 2012 I make a humble request for all Indians to support the moderates in my country who know that India is not the threat' date=' that the US is not the threat. I know that you as Indians do not have any obligation to help us Pakistanis, but the stability of my country is of utmost importance to the region so instead of attacking every Pakistani and clumping them together with the rest of the nutjobs, please know that this is a fight against extremism, not a fight against Pakistan.[/quote'] Whatever help/support from Indians you are referring to is moral in nature. The actual fight in your territory against Taliban is entirely yours unless you suspect Indian embassies in Afghanistan support them, and then there's nothing worth discussing. There's the related issue of other groups which have varying degree of support but lets not discuss all of it here.
Texy Posted October 18, 2012 Posted October 18, 2012 Dexter's link shows how hypocrisy prevails in that country. So much hate against Israel yet pin drop silence on the killings in Syria! Talk about hypocrisy overload. Riots on Muslim treatment in Burma yet silence on everyday Shia killings in the country.
veer Posted October 18, 2012 Posted October 18, 2012 Unbelievalbe brain washing...... The only way out for pakistan from this mess is education..... pakistan needs one leader who can wipe out all madrasas from the country at whatever cost and think about progressive pakistan.. That leader won't come through election..... may be a millitary coup.. but then even millitary is not half descent honorable... I feel Pioneer's pain..... Good ppl of pakistan gotta rise up soon or else it'll be too late.
gangnam style Posted October 18, 2012 Posted October 18, 2012 Unbelievalbe brain washing...... The only way out for pakistan from this mess is education..... pakistan needs one leader who can wipe out all madrasas from the country at whatever cost and think about progressive pakistan.. That leader won't come through election..... may be a millitary coup.. but then even millitary is not half descent honorable... I feel Pioneer's pain..... Good ppl of pakistan gotta rise up soon or else it'll be too late. Unfortunately Education is not the answer. The top leaders of terrorist organizations are educated e.g. Zawahiri is a surgeon. The Bangladeshi who tried to blow up the Fed Reserve was educated, Faisal Shahzad who tried to blow up Times Sq was educated, the doctors who tried to blow up glasgow airport were...well...educated doctors, Rezwan Ferdaus who tried to blow up Pentagon was educated, and the list goes on. The more educated, the more sophisticated the attack. :hatsoff:
someone Posted October 18, 2012 Posted October 18, 2012 Unfortunately Education is not the answer. The top leaders of terrorist organizations are educated e.g. Zawahiri is a surgeon. The Bangladeshi who tried to blow up the Fed Reserve was educated, Faisal Shahzad who tried to blow up Times Sq was educated, the doctors who tried to blow up glasgow airport were...well...educated doctors, Rezwan Ferdaus who tried to blow up Pentagon was educated, and the list goes on. The more educated, the more sophisticated the attack. :hatsoff: Exacting. And the west is realizing it as well. They allowed so many of them in their countries but only to find that radicalization is still on their minds despite being educated. The root cause is the culture itself in which the cultures always portrays them as "victims" + intolerance to others. Can it be solved? Never but can be be reduced? Yes, if every other person works together.
Crookbond Posted November 10, 2012 Posted November 10, 2012 Pakistan launches education plan for children with focus on girls http://www.thehindu.com/news/international/pakistan-launches-education-plan-for-children-with-focus-on-girls/article4085642.ece As the world heeded to U.N. Special Envoy for Global Education Gordon BrownÃÔ call to observe November 10 as èlobal Action Day for Malala Yousafzai? Pakistan President Asif Ali Zardari warned that the attack on Ms. Yousafzai was an attack on the future of the region as a whole, as the terrorists would not stop at Pakistan. He did not mince words in a message released late on Friday night on the eve of Malala Day. ŵhe terrorists shot Malala in the head and neck. Her attackers arenÃÕ just trying to kill the daughter of Pakistan. They are trying to kill Pakistan. They didnÃÕ stop at Afghanistan. They wonÃÕ stop at Pakistan. Attack on her is an attack on every child in our region. It is an attack on the future of our region. We cannot sit idly as our children are attacked. We must act. Urgently. To show PakistanÃÔ commitment to Ms. YousafzaiÃÔ dream of educating the 32 million out-of-school girls across the world, the federal government launched the Waseela-e-Taleem programme to educate three million children, especially girls, from the poorest of poor families. Mr. Zardari said the programme seeks to reinforce the idea that Ms. Yousafzai represents. ŵhe more the militants strike the more we will rebound with determination, defiance and courage. Let there be no doubt or mistake about it. According to the President, the observance of Malala Day by the international community was a demonstration of the realisation that the attackers of Ms. Yousafzai would not stop at Pakistan and would threaten the whole world. Å®alala has transcended from an individual to an idea, he added Meanwhile, an online petition started in Canada to mobilise support across the world to nominate Ms. Yousafzai for the Nobel Peace Prize gathered momentum over the weekend and now has over a lakh signatories, including Ministers from different countries. The signatories include Pakistan PeopleÃÔ Party (PPP) chairman Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari and Minister of State Shashi Tharoor. Even as Ms. Yousafzai continued to recover in the Birmingham hospital and meetings were organised across the country to observe îalala Day and laud her courage, her own school-mates were forced to mark the day in a low-key manner for fear of terrorists targeting their institution. According to local media reports from Mingora, the school marked the day with a reference during assembly but could not do anything to mobilise opinion outside the premises owing to security considerations. Ms. Yousafzai was shot at and grievously injured by the Tehreek-e-Taliban Pakistan on October 9 while on her way back from school in Mingora.
Texy Posted November 11, 2012 Posted November 11, 2012 Spoke to a fellow physician from Carnegie Mellon Medical Center originally hailing from Karachi. He's totally convinced that this whole thing is one giant government conspiracy and Malala's family could be in on it from the beginning. Pretty shocking to see a well educated, respected physician holding such conspiracy views.