Is This the Worst Stretch in Indian Cricket History??

Trundler27

Did you see our team in 90s? We whitewashed England at home and never lost 8 consecutive matches away from home. At least we would have never lost to this England team on Mumbai track in 90s.
Our overseas performances used to be just as poor as 8-0 even if we didnt lose them consecutively. We even used to lose to West Indies and New Zealand back then.
No, our overseas performance wasn't so bad and this team would lose to NZ and WI on seaming tracks. WI was top team then anyway.
Batting gone down' date=' bowling just not good enough!! Captaincy not even uninspirational, infact demoralising... If selectors don't take some tough decisions, I'm sure things will go down from mediocrity to oblivion! I'm helpless at the sad state of affairs in Indian cricket right now! It is so depressing to follow Indian cricket at this juncture! People are still living in denial! Nobody cares or nobody is accountable! [b']I've decided to not support India from here on.... I can't bear the disappointments anymore..
Bandwaoner :sick: Anyone can wear the "Team India" jersey or "Bleed Blue" when the team is winning the world cup. True test for the fans comes when the team is struggling. Yup, India is down in the dumps right now but it won't stop me from backing them. Even if I know the team is not good enough and is more likely to lose I would still root for Team India. Hell, even Messers Srinivasan, Pawar, Rajiv Shukla and BCCI in general haven't made me stop rooting fo rth team so what's a few bad results? But it would make the defeats much more palatable if we throw out the dead weight and over the hill stars and blood in youngsters. I wouldn't mind losing with likes of Rahane & Tiwary in there instead of Tendulkar & Yuvraj.
Bandwaoner <ahttp://www.indiancricketfans.com/uploads/emoticons/sick.gif' alt=':sick:'> Anyone can wear the "Team India" jersey or "Bleed Blue" when the team is winning the world cup. True test for the fans come when the team is struggling. Yup' date=' India is down in the dumps right now but it won't stop me from backing them. Even if I know the team is not good enough and is more likely to lose I would still root for Team India. Hell, even Messers Srinivasan, Pawar, Rajiv Shukla and BCCI in general haven't made me stop rooting fo rth team so what's a few bad results? But it would make the defeats much more palatable if we throw out the dead weight and over the hill stars and blood in youngsters. I wouldn't mind losing with likes of Rahane & Tiwary in there instead of Tendulkar & Yuvraj.
:agree:

Our selection panel : a) Vikram Rathore b)Rajinder Hans c)Saba Karim The above weren't capable of getting themselves selected in the team during there playing days and now they have been given a task to select a Test/ODI team.

Bandwaoner :sick: Anyone can wear the "Team India" jersey or "Bleed Blue" when the team is winning the world cup. True test for the fans comes when the team is struggling. Yup' date= India is down in the dumps right now but it won't stop me from backing them. Even if I know the team is not good enough and is more likely to lose I would still root for Team India. Hell, even Messers Srinivasan, Pawar, Rajiv Shukla and BCCI in general haven't made me stop rooting fo rth team so what's a few bad results? But it would make the defeats much more palatable if we throw out the dead weight and over the hill stars and blood in youngsters. I wouldn't mind losing with likes of Rahane & Tiwary in there instead of Tendulkar & Yuvraj.
Do we have any option?:giggle:
Bandwaoner :sick: Anyone can wear the "Team India" jersey or "Bleed Blue" when the team is winning the world cup. True test for the fans comes when the team is struggling. Yup' date=' India is down in the dumps right now but it won't stop me from backing them. Even if I know the team is not good enough and is more likely to lose I would still root for Team India. Hell, even Messers Srinivasan, Pawar, Rajiv Shukla and BCCI in general haven't made me stop rooting fo rth team so what's a few bad results? But it would make the defeats much more palatable if we throw out the dead weight and over the hill stars and blood in youngsters. I wouldn't mind losing with likes of Rahane & Tiwary in there instead of Tendulkar & Yuvraj.[/quote'] u dont even post here anymore :finger:
Our selection panel : a) Vikram Rathore b)Rajinder Hans c)Saba Karim The above weren't capable of getting themselves selected in the team during there playing days and now they have been given a task to select a Test/ODI team.
they are just puppets, bar 1 or 2 fringe selections. Alakamaan Sri Mahendra Singh Dhoni ji hain. Uske aage haath jodte hain sab.
Bandwaoner :sick: Anyone can wear the "Team India" jersey or "Bleed Blue" when the team is winning the world cup. True test for the fans comes when the team is struggling. Yup' date=' India is down in the dumps right now but it won't stop me from backing them. Even if I know the team is not good enough and is more likely to lose I would still root for Team India. Hell, even Messers Srinivasan, Pawar, Rajiv Shukla and BCCI in general haven't made me stop rooting fo rth team so what's a few bad results? But it would make the defeats much more palatable if we throw out the dead weight and over the hill stars and blood in youngsters. [b']I wouldn't mind losing with likes of Rahane & Tiwary in there instead of Tendulkar & Yuvraj.
Even I don't mind losing if we play to our potential or team is in rebuilding phase! Some players are over the hill and some think they are undisputed superstars who cant be touched or replaced. And some think they are here to stay forever .. I know BCCI is a private organisation.. but they're representing the country and are survived by the viewership of millions of fans.. They need to be accountable and transparent.. That is the least I'm asking for! This system has gone to dogs..All they care is for money:((

Say what you may, Guru Greg tried to change this mentality, but the likes of Viru Halwai,SRT,Harby and Gangs bhagaoed him out. The seniors rule the roost and everybody knows their way in the pecking order. Fletcher's hands are tied.Hes going to make his money and get out.

+1000000...
Say what you may' date= Guru Greg tried to change this mentality, but the likes of Viru Halwai,SRT,Harby and Gangs bhagaoed him out. The seniors rule the roost and everybody knows their way in the pecking order. Fletcher's hands are tied.Hes going to make his money and get out.
I have always had mixed emotions about that. Sure he tried culture shock but his heart was in the right place. May not have been the best strategist but did have a good vision. As a nation we backed the wrong horse(s), rather donkeys, and ended up supporting Ganguly, Sachin and Najafgarh Paratha
I was always an advocate of that...when everyone was going ga ga over Kirsten...I said that the golden run we had around that time was reaping the reward of some of Greg Chappel's vision. Why blame Fletcher...under Kirsten,we got knocked out of one of the T20's when they exploited our weakness for short pitch....fast forward 2 years later some of the youngsters who were made to look ordianry due to that were still the same. Kirsten was fitter than 70% of our main talent pool but any improvement no Put a monkey as a coach and we would have still won the 2011 WC,the whole wc squad was filled with players given a go under the Chappell era say with the exception of Kohli and Ashwin. Kirsten reaped the benefit of Chappel's vision and Fletcher is bearing the after effects of no long-term strategy under Kirsten's management....Now I am not singling out Kirsten because he doesn't have complete control but the fact is on the surface him and Feletcher are the same. Chappell and Wright were the only 2 coaches to ever bring a vision to the table.
Do we have any option?:giggle:
True that! :haha:
u dont even post here anymore :finger:
Kya karun, time nahin milta. If I win a lottery I promise to follow the team every match - home and away :--D
Even I don't mind losing if we play to our potential or team is in rebuilding phase! Some players are over the hill and some think they are undisputed superstars who cant be touched or replaced. And some think they are here to stay forever .. I know BCCI is a private organisation.. but they're representing the country and are survived by the viewership of millions of fans.. They need to be accountable and transparent.. That is the least I'm asking for! This system has gone to dogs..All they care is for money:((
Yup, that's what hurts most Indian fans, i.e. we care more about the team and results than the BCCI who are content as long as they are making money. We risk becoming English fottie team's equivalent in cricket and I hope BCCI realises the same.
I liked Chappell fo rthe changes and his backing of youngsters. But what I didn't like about the guy was that he was divisive and used media as the forum to put pressure on players or to pursue his agenda. He should have let his discussions or issues with players remain privy instead of washing linen in public. Other than that I liked his approach of backing youngsters.
I have seen worse than this.. This is purely because of over expectatiion ...pls understand that we have lost laxman dravid kumble bhajji and ganguly in the last 3 yrs.. we are going through a phase where new players are coming in settling down.. so it is going to be tough to win even at home... We are going to struggle for the next 2 yrs or so with sachin and zaheer going out.. better lower our expectations..
No, it is bcoz we have not lost Viru, Gambhir, Zak, Bhajji even after last 3-4 years. New players Settling down? Wake up and look around. With so much cricket being played domestically, A tours, leagues, players are expected to perform from their first series. Look at Cowan/ Philander or even Pujara? And numerous players from all teams. Who have we blooded really in last 4 years? Pujara, Kohli & yadav. All have done well. The problem is not with transition. It is with status quo.