Your reaction: If Dhoni decides to take retirement from Tests?

Dhoni is a decent keeper ' date=' no doubt! But his batting in tests have gone from bad to worse, and rightfully we cannot have a keeper who cannot bat. We are putting up with Dhoni for long time by giving a phony reason that we have no alternatives, but this is time to try someone else who has an ability which is comparable to Dhoni , but better in bat.[/quote'] Scored 70's v NZ. Scored half centuries in England when all else collapsed. Scoring in this series. I don't see an issue as such. Can flop abroad but does have the game to do it his own way overseas. When he tries to play too cautious he struggles, his natural game is good enough for 40 plus average in all conditions. That's all we need.
thanks for making me realise that I've crossed 20k:woot: party time:party:
Menu kya hai party ka? Invite to kiya hi nahi hume :(( BTW Congrats..... Out of those 20k, atleast 2000 to thadki wale posts rahenge :--D
Which *INDIAN* keepers are rated ahead of Dhoni for glovework ? You do realize that Dhoni came into the team not because we needed a better bat than Parthiv but because we needed a better gloveman than Parthiv ? You do realize that as recently as 2 years ago Dhoni was widely rated by commentators and former cricketers as the best gloveman in India ? So please, tell us, which gloveman India has had since Mongia who trounces Dhoni in glovework ? Deep dasgupta ? False. Saba karim ? False Parthiv ? Nope. So if i am causing you lot so much laughter, the list of names that are better keepers than Dhoni should be abounding, no ?
Saba Karim was good But injury cut short his career. Dinesh Kartrhik is twice as good to fast bowlers as dhoni is But dk had problems against spin Ajay ratra was also good.
Still want him as keeper-batsman at 7. He may even focus better if not captain. But captain must be Tendulkar if Dhoni is to go.
But don't you think Tendu will be under more presuure if he is the captain? Why can't we for once think out of the box solution and appoint a youngster as a captain? Remember G.Smith back in 2003? Look whetre SA is today. I feel Kohli should be groomed for our next captain if Dhoni is to go. Kohli has class and will not fail forever like this series. Also, he was our u19 captain,
Saba Karim was good But injury cut short his career. Dinesh Kartrhik is twice as good to fast bowlers as dhoni is But dk had problems against spin Ajay ratra was also good.
Looking at your avatar makes me feel :((

Being good against fast bowlers is definitely secondary to being good against spinners for an Indian keeper. As for Dhoni, he is quite competent against Fast bowlers, he is the 'steady hands and no fanfare' type keeper, he wont be hurling himself to catch legside nicks off of fast bowlers ala Jeff Dujon, but he is as safe a pair of gloves as India has had since Mongia. PS: Ratra was utter crap. Couldn't keep to Kumble. Saba Karim *might* have been good if he'd gotten a chance before his mid-late 30s but when he did show up, he was unbelievably slow

Dhoni is not safe to fast bowlers ,He lets simple chances go between 1st slip and wk.Keeping to kumble is not mean task ,dhoni too struggled when he came in but his batting allowed him more chances.
Have you seen Dhoni off late? I have been his fan since that SA series back in 2010 when we drew 1-1 but I think he has lost much of his reflexes. He doesn't dives we all know but these days there are so many byes or chances going between him and the first slip. Heck, he even missed a stumping last match IIRC.
Menu kya hai party ka? Invite to kiya hi nahi hume :(( BTW Congrats..... Out of those 20k, atleast 2000 to thadki wale posts rahenge :--D
abhi toh party plan ki hai,tum bhi aa jana,koi specia item bata do 2000 tharki posts?kya samajh rakha hai:headshake: kam se kam 5000 honge:giggle:
Still want him as keeper-batsman at 7. He may even focus better if not captain. But captain must be Tendulkar if Dhoni is to go.
but sreesanth has better leadership qualities according to u :protest:

Never liked the idea of cricketer's taking retirement from specific format. At best retirement from int. cricket career is somewhat resonable & uderstandable to me. I was never a Dhoni fan, but a thread discussing how fans would feel about retirement of current out-of-form captain with plenty of his criketing age left, is really disrespectful & stupidity.

Kick Dhoni out of captaincy and Kick him on his butt if he wants to quit the role of keeper batsman... We don't have a replacement waiting in the wings...while the blame goes to selectors,team management for this,Dhoni also is partly to blame... So no easy way out