Mariyam Posted January 17, 2013 Posted January 17, 2013 India is the greatest country in the world. +++ Don't know why peoples just citing Japan, NZ etc as the greatest countries. Does anything ever happen in NZ? Even their cricket team is so non controversial. Leave aside Vettori and 1-2 cricketers, I can't even name a single kiwi. On topic: I've visited a fair share of countries. I would never live anywhere except for in India. Maybe Singapore, but it is a distant second. Ofcourse most of those place maybe good to see as a tourist, but in terms of where I would want to live in the long run, nothing even comes close to India. Infact, even 7 days outside, and I'm already homesick, just waiting to come back.
Desi Cartman Posted January 17, 2013 Posted January 17, 2013 For living .. day to day life .. work life balance, great public transport etc- Australia Melbourne FTW If one wants to do a little more in career then Aus is probably not a great place as its not as good as Amreeka but work life balance and public services are not even half as good as they are in Australia. India : if you are filthy rich then it may be a good place to live/retire Officially here is the list The EIU's Global Liveability Report City Country Rating 1 Melbourne Australia 97.5 2 Vienna Austria 97.4 3 Vancouver Canada 97.3 4 Toronto Canada 97.2 5 Adelaide Australia 96.6 5 Calgary Canada 96.6 7 Sydney Australia 96.1 8 Helsinki Finland 96.0 9 Perth Australia 95.9 10 Auckland New Zealand 95.7 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World's_most_livable_cities
indiaregulator Posted January 17, 2013 Posted January 17, 2013 Whats the point of this thread? It's just some pro-nationalistic wankfest.
Muloghonto Posted January 17, 2013 Posted January 17, 2013 If we play by your rules' date=' then Pakistan will be greatest country in this world, please digest religions you mentioned have their birth roots in modern day country called Pakistan. Buddhism has strongest link in North Pakistan and Parts of Afghanistan, Modern India doesn't even remotely comes close. Sikhism and Jainism are also born there, worst oldest civilizations and pure Sanatan Dharam people hailed from South Pakistan ie. Sindh. North Pakistan = Buddhism, Central = Sikhism and Jainism, South = Hinduism. Hard to digest given how radical they are today, but majority of our history (75%) is linked to land that is Pakistan today. Some of world's greatest kings hailed from that land.[/quote'] Err the 'core' of the Hindu belt, that formed Hinduism, is the region from Jhelum to Ganges, with the bulk majority focus on the eastern parts ( Ganges) and north Rajasthan (Saraswati river region). Jainism, Buddhism and Sikkhism were ALL founded in Bihar, not Pakistan. Mahavira lived and preached in Bihar, Buddha is from Bihar-Nepal border region & spent most of his life in the semi-vedic 'magadha-vangadesha' region & Guru Nanak lived, preached and is buried in Bihar.
Lurker Posted January 17, 2013 Posted January 17, 2013 Err the 'core' of the Hindu belt, that formed Hinduism, is the region from Jhelum to Ganges, with the bulk majority focus on the eastern parts ( Ganges) and north Rajasthan (Saraswati river region). Jainism, Buddhism and Sikkhism were ALL founded in Bihar, not Pakistan. Mahavira lived and preached in Bihar, Buddha is from Bihar-Nepal border region & spent most of his life in the semi-vedic 'magadha-vangadesha' region & Guru Nanak lived, preached and is buried in Bihar. SachinLara tum sangharsh karo, hum tumhare saath hain, poora Bihar tumhare saath hai :haha:
panther Posted January 17, 2013 Posted January 17, 2013 Interesting all the Abrahamic faiths from the middle east, and Buddhism, Hinduism etc all from India. between them they account for just under 6 billion people.
Desi Cartman Posted January 17, 2013 Posted January 17, 2013 Interesting all the Abrahamic faiths from the middle east, and Buddhism, Hinduism etc all from India. between them they account for just under 6 billion people. And at the max one faith could be correct so majority of people are fecked lol
the don Posted January 17, 2013 Posted January 17, 2013 Spain - beautiful women (total flirts ), had the most amazing time there .Boundaries are man made , should have been born there. Holland(amsterdam ) - amazing experience, would like to visit more often , need to saveup:pray: Pakistan obviously is home , good looking country with even better looking people , lahore being the greatest city in south asia and islamabad probably the cleanest and best planned plus the northern areas being a treckers delight and the beauty of the mountainous terrain unmatched :angelic:, hopefully things will soon be like they were pre 9-11 .
nutcracker Posted January 17, 2013 Posted January 17, 2013 usa is far more diverse than india.They have people from every country in the world. India had diversity before the word diversity was coined by US to make it sound positive. India had refugees from neighbouring civilizations (Persians, Jews, Byzantine, etc.) before refugee visas were invented. :hatsoff: Unfortunately the savages that destroyed these great civilizations killed over 80 million Indians too. :((
nballa Posted January 17, 2013 Posted January 17, 2013 What's the point of posting this pictures? I can show you about 150 other countries where beggers live in these type of conditions. actually, no you cannot.
nballa Posted January 17, 2013 Posted January 17, 2013 when i live in india i am a part of the problem, when i live in america im part of the solution signed --indian IT professional.
Lurker Posted January 18, 2013 Posted January 18, 2013 India had diversity before the word diversity was coined by US to make it sound positive. India had refugees from neighbouring civilizations (Persians, Jews, Byzantine, etc.) before refugee visas were invented. Diversity takes different forms in different countries. I like the diversity of India better than most countries, including USA. If you lived in India for a while and then moved to USA, and say lived for a year (or more) in USA, the first thing you notice is that there are no holidays on Good Friday (or Easter). It always makes me smile when I see Indians wondering why the office is open on Good Friday, when back home it is closed. Imagine that! A Hindu dominated country giving public holiday on a Christian day when the same is not the case in US, which is Christian dominated for most part. You get holidays in India on Eid, Good Friday, Buddha Poornima, Mahavira Jayanti, Guru Gobind Singh Ji Jayanti etc. Admittedly it is now on the downer with us racing fast to mimic US model. But the core values remain. On the other hand what does not work in terms of diversity is how we are so diverse and yet often ghettosized in our own world. For example, yes we celebrate Durga Puja and Eid but is it so easy for a Hindu boy to marry a Muslim girl. No. This is where US scores. It does not matter. If there was one thing of Indian society I would love to see in my lifetime it would be too see inter-religious marriage becoming so common it becomes irrelevant. Amen to that! (thats diverse too lol )
EnterTheVoid Posted January 18, 2013 Posted January 18, 2013 Don't know why peoples just citing Japan' date=' NZ etc as the greatest countries. Does [i']anything ever happen in NZ? You answered your own question there. New Zealand is tucked away in a corner, isolated from most of the world's problems. With a grand total of 4 million people, pollution/corruption/violent crime and other problems plaguing most developed countries are negligible to nil. There are endless beaches, nature walks and other sites of natural beauty. The whole country, both the north and south islands, can be thought of as large nature sanctuaries untouched by modern industrialisation. This is Milford Sound in New Zealand's south island, God's own, if there ever was a place.
Jersey #10 Posted January 18, 2013 Posted January 18, 2013 The United States. Even after two wars, economic collapse, remains the greatest country in the world. Greatest companies, greatest universities, best infrastructure, innovation, natural beauty, equality, opportunity, the constitution second to none, greatest military known to man, largest economy/GDP in the world... And the list could just go on and on and on...
maniac Posted January 18, 2013 Posted January 18, 2013 Has to be U.S....No debate...I mean we can be patriotic,look at stats,read history but in terms of being the land of opportunities has to be U.S. You can be out of work for a year but there is always that window of opportunity to give yoy a 2nd chance..You can pursue your interests at any age...Not just the opportunities but the resources and means to get to those opportunities is abundance. This should not even be a debate at this point of human history.
surajmal Posted January 18, 2013 Posted January 18, 2013 Canada - all the pluses of US with very little to none of the negatives.
Raghav_12 Posted January 18, 2013 Posted January 18, 2013 +++ Don't know why peoples just citing Japan, NZ etc as the greatest countries. Does anything ever happen in NZ? Even their cricket team is so non controversial. Leave aside Vettori and 1-2 cricketers, I can't even name a single kiwi. On topic: I've visited a fair share of countries. I would never live anywhere except for in India. Maybe Singapore, but it is a distant second. Ofcourse most of those place maybe good to see as a tourist, but in terms of where I would want to live in the long run, nothing even comes close to India. Infact, even 7 days outside, and I'm already homesick, just waiting to come back. that's ok, But where did I post what you quoted me writing in this post
punjabi_khota Posted January 18, 2013 Posted January 18, 2013 Canada - all the pluses of US with very little to none of the negatives. :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Daaru pi ke aa gaye ho ?
surajmal Posted January 18, 2013 Posted January 18, 2013 :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Daaru pi ke aa gaye ho ? Maine kya tere haath mang liye (in sholay style)? Its my opinion. Take it or leave it.
moniker Posted January 18, 2013 Posted January 18, 2013 What does the OP mean by "greatest country"? Like big area wise or with the largest population? Or simply the best country to live in?