Lurker Posted February 5, 2013 Author Posted February 5, 2013 It's been more than 12 years. Btw.. Dosa and rasam you get down in south India is not same as Mumbai.. and I would prefer Mumbai type dosa more. Didnt know that Veer. I was in Houston for a few years, so we may have crossed path in Hillcroft Avenue. Houston has some good restaurants, Indians and non-Indian. And yes I prefer Mumbai style dosa too :--D:--D
Ram Posted February 5, 2013 Posted February 5, 2013 I can sympathize with the OP. Doing a paav bhaaji dosa is like doing a Chicken Tikka Sambar
nikred Posted February 5, 2013 Posted February 5, 2013 That's how Sambar is made in these areas. It's a speciality. Madras/Hyd sambars are tart sauces. oh, that's so wonderful. It sucks. :finger:
coffee_rules Posted February 5, 2013 Posted February 5, 2013 oh, that's so wonderful. It sucks. :finger: Stick with your biryanis and gutti vankayas. Stay from making tangy pulusus. It sucks too.:reddy::reddy:
Yoda-esque Posted February 5, 2013 Posted February 5, 2013 Don't know about Chicken dosa but eating chicken with dosa is common. Also, I prefer the sambhar from TN ..much more coriander seed flavor and not sweet
akshayxyz Posted February 5, 2013 Posted February 5, 2013 Don't know about Chicken dosa but eating chicken with dosa is common. Also, I prefer the sambhar from TN ..much more coriander seed flavor and not sweet ++
nikred Posted February 5, 2013 Posted February 5, 2013 Stick with your biryanis and gutti vankayas. Stay from making tangy pulusus. It sucks too.:reddy::reddy: Don't know about Chicken dosa but eating chicken with dosa is common. Also, I prefer the sambhar from TN ..much more coriander seed flavor and not sweet ++ Go ahead Kauphy, redicule Yoda and akshay too. :beee:
yoda Posted February 5, 2013 Posted February 5, 2013 Core Dosa menu: Plain Dosa, Set Dosa (two smaller dosas), Masala Dosa, Mysore Masala Dosa, Rava Dosa, Onion Rava Dosa Extended Dosa menu: Paper Dosa (larger Thin), Paper Masala Dosa, Nei (Ghee) Roast Dosa PS: I prefer Idly Sambar to Dosa anyday. Give me a plate of Idlys with bucket of piping hot Sambhar and I am happy.
mhr123 Posted February 5, 2013 Posted February 5, 2013 Idli sucks... i prefer home made Plain Paper Dosa.... with a cup of black Kapheee..
Debutant Posted February 5, 2013 Posted February 5, 2013 Before I came to Bangalore I thought there are only three types of dosa in this whole universe - Masala dosa, Rawa Masala and Onion masala. Never liked dosa. After around 2 months I decided to have a dosa in a south indian hotel. I went there and ordered a dosa. I was horrified when i saw a dosa without anything inside it. I thought he forgot to place masala inside it. So I went and said that in the counter. He laughed at me and said this is plain dosa, you should have ordered masala dosa. Then he showed me the menu and there were around 50 kinds of dosa :ohmy::ohmy: That was my first and last experience of eating dosa here in Bangalore in 2 years
The Dark Horse Posted February 5, 2013 Posted February 5, 2013 Ghee dosa done at home, my mouth waters at the thought :eating:
Crookbond Posted February 5, 2013 Posted February 5, 2013 Lurker Mia, sing the song " Who raped my Dosa menu?" In " Who let the dogs out!" tune. :giggity:
punjabi_khota Posted February 5, 2013 Posted February 5, 2013 Before I came to Bangalore I thought there are only three types of dosa in this whole universe - Masala dosa' date=' Rawa Masala and Onion masala. [b']Never liked dosa. After around 2 months I decided to have a dosa in a south indian hotel. I went there and ordered a dosa. I was horrified when i saw a dosa without anything inside it. I thought he forgot to place masala inside it. So I went and said that in the counter. He laughed at me and said this is plain dosa, you should have ordered masala dosa. Then he showed me the menu and there were around 50 kinds of dosa :ohmy::ohmy: That was my first and last experience of eating dosa here in Bangalore in 2 years
saneindian Posted February 5, 2013 Posted February 5, 2013 Lurkerji, ye Bengali paan kya hota hai? Kalkatta paan suna hai, bengali pehli baar sun rahe hain
Sarkar Posted February 5, 2013 Posted February 5, 2013 south indians have the best food dosa idli vada cant beat them my fav is rava dosa with kobbari chutney
Sachinism Posted February 5, 2013 Posted February 5, 2013 Appreciate the extra varieties available to us. I've tried a few different ones over the years, mostly been pleased with them
Subeshkumar Posted February 5, 2013 Posted February 5, 2013 For me its masala dosa, sometimes paneer dosa, idli sambhar, and uttapam...other mostly look seriously weird...
diga Posted February 5, 2013 Posted February 5, 2013 hate the amount of oil used to make a masala dosa & the broom used to clean the tawa... prefer Idlis anyday
SLICKR392 Posted February 5, 2013 Posted February 5, 2013 Ghee dosa done at home' date=' my mouth waters at the thought :eating:[/quote'] Ney roast +1 They are the actual sambar not the sweet one.
b555 Posted February 5, 2013 Posted February 5, 2013 lurker, one question difference between masala dosa and mysore masala dosa?