Old guy Posted March 12, 2013 Posted March 12, 2013 They lost it 2-1. They were whitewashed in 2006' date=' I guess. This after the epic chase of 434 ODI series which they won IIRC. Co-incidentally it was "This day, That year".[/quote'] oops..i thought about it too 2008 just sounded too late (didn't they beat aus around that time away from home ? )
cowboysfan Posted March 12, 2013 Posted March 12, 2013 Its a debatable point but i will never forgive him not NZ where they threw away a win for no reason at all.
vamos_rafa Posted March 12, 2013 Posted March 12, 2013 south africa did had a good bowling attack agree but there were years where bowling was thin and batting was just kallis saving them..it has not been all easy.. but my point was after that whitewash at home did we saw any rash decisions ? or lets say chaos? they took right decisions blooded in good players and have not looked back since then.. dhoni still is clueless with selection u have to agree with me on this..and still has not learned anything .. lets see what clarke does until now he has tried to move things i agree with that.. :agree: but to be honest some of things he does look like he is trying to hard to be ideal aussie captain.. and this latest chaos to me is part of it :P As I said, I am not defending Dhoni anywhere. Agree about SA team building as well.
vamos_rafa Posted March 12, 2013 Posted March 12, 2013 They lost it 2-1. They were whitewashed in 2006' date=' I guess. This after the epic chase of 434 ODI series which they won IIRC. Co-incidentally it was "This day, That year".[/quote'] Correcto! My bad.
vamos_rafa Posted March 12, 2013 Posted March 12, 2013 Its a debatable point but i will never forgive him not NZ where they threw away a win for no reason at all. Koi ni yaar, Maaf kar de. Purani baatein kya leke baitha hai.
Old guy Posted March 12, 2013 Posted March 12, 2013 As I said' date=' I am not defending Dhoni anywhere. Agree about SA team building as well.[/quote'] yes,yes i know u should remember even i never criticized him for no reason :winky: i think we should start giving smith little bit more credit..anyway this is getting derailed sorry! on topic in tests i liked the way dravid captained:giggle:..his tactics were good but dhoni is up there with ganguly as best indian captain ever..he has his weak points but it not like we had perfect captains before..
Crookbond Posted March 12, 2013 Posted March 12, 2013 oops..i thought about it too 2008 just sounded too late (didn't they beat aus around that time away from home ? ) 2006 - South Africa lost 2-0 (Australia) and were beaten 3-0 at home 2008 - South Africa won 2-1 (Australia) and were beaten 2-1 at home
Old guy Posted March 12, 2013 Posted March 12, 2013 2006 - South Africa lost 2-0 (Australia) and were beaten 3-0 at home 2008 - South Africa won 2-1 (Australia) and were beaten 2-1 at home they took the revenge :giggle: for some strange reason i remember pattern of series better then years:cantstop:
The Outsider Posted March 13, 2013 Posted March 13, 2013 Its a debatable point but i will never forgive him not NZ where they threw away a win for no reason at all. Giving 600 runs to chase for NZ with poor weather in the forecast was a classic!:hysterical:
Fontaine Posted March 13, 2013 Posted March 13, 2013 If he can deliver in overseas conditions and win series abroad' date=' then I would agree.[/quote'] Yes, because only the captain can deliver overseas wins right? Keep clowning.
The Outsider Posted March 13, 2013 Posted March 13, 2013 Yes, because only the captain can deliver overseas wins right? Keep clowning. He can certainly play a part by not spreading fields to tailenders, giving a weak opposition 600 runs to chase in poor weather conditions, and calling off last innings chases to sip chai and eat biskuts. Or is that outside his job description?
Laaloo Posted March 13, 2013 Posted March 13, 2013 Doesn't matter Wadekar sir. We already have a fair bunch of experts who term him as the worst we ever had. :cantstop: not our fault you losers can't see the truth
NareshK Posted March 13, 2013 Posted March 13, 2013 Yes, because only the captain can deliver overseas wins right? Keep clowning. On that basis, how can one say he is best Indian captain ever and give him credit for team wins. He should also get stick for losses, even though its the team which loses. Otherwise, calling him a better captain than x,y or z doesnt make sense.
adi B Posted March 13, 2013 Posted March 13, 2013 :cantstop: not our fault you losers can't see the truth :cantstop:
I6MTW Posted March 13, 2013 Posted March 13, 2013 takes out the 8 loses overseas and look at dhoni's statistics.
Sidhoni Posted March 13, 2013 Posted March 13, 2013 :cantstop: not our fault you losers can't see the truth You might not consider him as the best but certainly can't term him as the worst.
Laaloo Posted March 13, 2013 Posted March 13, 2013 You might not consider him as the best but certainly can't term him as the worst. Andhon mein kaana raja I don't consider him the best nor the worst.
Sidhoni Posted March 13, 2013 Posted March 13, 2013 Andhon mein kaana raja I don't consider him the best nor the worst. And I don't have a problem with that. I was referring to those who consider him the worst.