The Realist Posted April 1, 2013 Posted April 1, 2013 Yawn... Does tendulkar even matter anymore on a cricketing level? He's only in the team as a mascot thesedays, if he scores any runs its a bonus. In that case then yes it makes no sense to pick on the team mascot as he is not in the team to perform.
FischerTal Posted April 1, 2013 Posted April 1, 2013 Yawn... Does tendulkar even matter anymore on a cricketing level? He's only in the team as a mascot thesedays, if he scores any runs its a bonus. In that sense then yes it makes no sense to pick on the team mascot as he is not in the team to perform. :agree:
diga Posted April 1, 2013 Posted April 1, 2013 http://www.indiansportsnews.com/from-newspapers/21058-leave-tendulkar-alone-and-let-him-retire-on-his-own-terms-rajeev-shukla.html According to the reports in Times of India, Rajeev Shukla was quoted saying, "His immense contribution not just for Indian cricket but to the entire cricketing world is something for which everybody respects him. We are in no hurry to take a decision on his retirement and personally I feel that he knows it better than anybody else about his retirement.†Tendulkar’s poor form continued in the third successive home series and in the recent series against Australia he managed to cross the fifty run mark just once but Rajiv Shukla was unmoved by the fact. He was quoted by Indian Express saying, "As far as records are concerned, nobody in the cricketing world has a better record than him. Judging a class batsman of his caliber on the basis of one or two series is nothing but immature behaviour. We can’t let him go without a well-deserved farewell.†This is a scary thought... Tendulkar may continue for another 2 years
Crookbond Posted April 1, 2013 Posted April 1, 2013 Tendulkar can retire at a time he wants to so does any sports man. I want him dropped though.
Switchblade Posted April 1, 2013 Posted April 1, 2013 Yawn... Does tendulkar even matter anymore on a cricketing level? He's only in the team as a mascot thesedays, if he scores any runs its a bonus. In that case then yes it makes no sense to pick on the team mascot as he is not in the team to perform. :hatsoff:
Ultimate_Game Posted April 1, 2013 Posted April 1, 2013 Don't expect any cricket related answers to that' date=' because there aren't any excepting he failed when it mattered more than perhaps a player with some 450 odd games should. That is where in ODI's players like Viv, Gilly, Bevan and even MSD (in certain conditions) are of high value given they can finish games better than Tendulkar, most certainly. There is a reason why India failed in so many tournament finals (17 or so under Ganguly) which only turned around under MSD post 2008, at the advent of players like GG, MSD, Raina and YS's finishing ability and of course Virat off late which also helped us get the WC after almost 30 years, once the RD's and SG's are out of the ODI team.[/quote'] This. That's why I rate Gilly so high. His average is in mid 30s but I would have him for must-win one-off games like big finals in my team. The guy always showed up for big games... played 3 WC finals and showed up every single time :hatsoff: I do remember India losing 9 straight finals under Ganguly's captaincy and things turned around with advent of Dhoni and India became one of the best teams while chasing once he showed up on the scene with a world record of 17 consecutive successful chases.
yoda Posted April 1, 2013 Posted April 1, 2013 A must win group game in league stage is just as high pressure as a semi final or final, its not a 'regular game'. Period. I fail to see how 'must win to stay alive in the tournament' is not a high pressure game. Care to explain ? I also fail to see how a semi final is less pressure than the final. Pressure is what a batsman puts on himself. We can't decide if pressure in semis is more than finals for a specific player. What we all know is that the finals matter the most. Yes you can't get to the finals without a semis win, however without a finals win no one gives a damn about whether you got to the finals or not. This is the reason you expect your great ones to step up in the finals AND the semis AND the other crucial games. Unfair may be, but that's how it works in all sports. It is tough to find great players in their sport who have failed in the only finals games they have played in. Yea we are talking WC finals, Grand slam finals, Championship series finals, Olympic finals etc not some random CB series finals or a BS tri series finals.
Deleted_User_1 Posted April 1, 2013 Posted April 1, 2013 This is a scary thought... Tendulkar may continue for another 2 years Yup if he hangs around until the next home series, his average is going to drop below 50 for sure!!!!
carnish Posted April 1, 2013 Posted April 1, 2013 Yup if he hangs around until the next home series' date=' his average is going to drop below 50 for sure!!!![/quote'] Then he will be proved as selfish. On a +ve note though, I don't see him continuing if he fails in South Africa.
Pagalpanti Posted April 1, 2013 Posted April 1, 2013 Sandeep Patil doesn't take sh1t. They dropped Zak, Harbhajan, Sehwag, Gambhir - In space of 3 series. So I'm sure if he fails in SA as well, he'll be forced into retirment.
Lord Posted April 1, 2013 Posted April 1, 2013 Sandeep Patil doesn't take sh1t. They dropped Zak, Harbhajan, Sehwag, Gambhir - In space of 3 series. So I'm sure if he fails in SA as well, he'll be forced into retirment. apparently his ODI retirement was also forced
Raghav_12 Posted April 1, 2013 Posted April 1, 2013 Sandeep Patil doesn't take sh1t. They dropped Zak, Harbhajan, Sehwag, Gambhir - In space of 3 series. So I'm sure if he fails in SA as well, he'll be forced into retirment. He does. Otherwise how you'll explain Dhoni being allowed to captain in Aus series.
Desi Cartman Posted April 1, 2013 Posted April 1, 2013 And what the feck does this fat bastard know about cricket.. in 12 years this guy has gone from being a 3rd grade interviewer on EL TV to being a neta to being one of the people running BCCI. What has been his contribution to cricket to be anywhere near BCCI ? having said that, Shard-lalu-Jaitley arent ex-cricketers either but at least they keep their mouths shut
BeautifulGame Posted April 1, 2013 Posted April 1, 2013 This. That's why I rate Gilly so high. His average is in mid 30s but I would have him for must-win one-off games like big finals in my team. The guy always showed up for big games... played 3 WC finals and showed up every single time :hatsoff: I do remember India losing 9 straight finals under Ganguly's captaincy and things turned around with advent of Dhoni and India became one of the best teams while chasing once he showed up on the scene with a world record of 17 consecutive successful chases. Gilly's scores in 3 world cup Semi finals : 20 (99 wc) , 22 (03 wc) and 1 (2007 wc) Sachin : 65 (96 wc ) , 83 ( 03) and 85 (2011 wc) Unless u can come up with a theory that World cup Semi finals arent must win games we can conclude that Sachin is a better big match player than Gilly.
Number Posted April 1, 2013 Posted April 1, 2013 Gilly's scores in 3 world cup Semi finals : 20 (99 wc) ' date= 22 (03 wc) and 1 (2007 wc) Sachin : 65 (96 wc ) , 83 ( 03) and 85 (2011 wc) Unless u can come up with a theory that World cup Semi finals arent must win games we can conclude that Sachin is a better big match player than Gilly. :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: