Do Sexy Mannequins Incite Indian Men To Commit Rape? Mumbai Officials Think So

Ohh I had no idea....no wonder she found my initial post crass! :--D
No I didn't:icflove:besides dude ho ya dudette ....kya farak padta hai.:giggle:

BTW, for those who are talking about Indian culture not being able to take it, India has had such mannequins since 1970 and maybe before without women or men having any problems whatsoever. This trend of moral policing and regressive thinking is a very modern trend started by some religion based political parties for obvious reasons. What is sad to see is the educated people on this thread actually supporting such kind of regressiveness. This country will never have any hope for women unfortunately

how do you know its not a combination of things? Many crimes have primary and secondary reasons. Law and order has always been **** in india from the days of independence. Why the sudden crime spree or increase in per capita crime stats. If anything **** law and order has been a constant in all of this. For all we know Twade simply used point 2, as a means of bulking up her argument. But the primary reason for point 1.
Sorry, there is no sudden rise in crime spree. If there is, its limited mostly to Delhi. Do you know, mannequins, porn, alcohol has been freely available ti Indians since 1970s where we were much, much more liberal?
I don't know if there is a connection but if they cause discomfort to women then they should not be on peoples face. Same goes with film posters....the film has a rating and people can choose to go or skip but the posters do not have a rating and people have to forcibly suffer pictures that may make a lot of people uncomfortable. Why should the producers have the right to put sexually explicit or violent pictures in the public place and force it upon people. Keep it for your film where people have a choice to decide. I don't agree with the reason given but otherwise I do agree that people should have a right to choose.This is not an individual rights issue...it is a right to your public space over someone forcing their commercial interest over your choice. If the authorities think this is going to solve the problem of sexual crimes against women...then they are idiots.
Really, people are uncomfortable looking at mannequins? How regressive are we that we are so uncomfortable with the human body
In the recent reported cases of child rapes' date='very often the accused drank alcohol,watched porn(mostly on the mobiles) and then went out looking for a victim...most often a helpless child.I am beginning to change my opinion on correlation between alcohol consumption,porn and crime against women and children.[/quote'] As long as you blame an external factor instead of a person or culture, crime against women will never be contained. If in one country people watch porn, drink alcohol and then just go to sleep and in another, people do the same things and go out attacking women, believe me, its not the porn or alcohol to blame. You can keep pinning the crimes on external factors and try to get everything banned, even give up basic women rights if that helps you sleep well. But remember, its not a big step from mannequins should be covered from head to toes to all women should be covered from head to toes to all women should stay at home for their safety. People who are ready to give up liberty for safety, deserve neither
Sorry' date=' there is no sudden rise in crime spree. If there is, its limited mostly to Delhi. Do you know, mannequins, porn, alcohol has been freely available ti [b']Indians since 1970s where we were much, much more liberal?
and you lived in the 70s to experience that? and india most certainly has not become more regressive. Recently gay rights have received a big boost. There have been cases of a transsexual person being elected in elections. There is now a bill which should become law to make 50% members of parliament women. What are the metrics of regressive anyways? Is it like a fun word for the left wing in India? Every country has different metrics. Transexuls for example find much more acceptance in India than say a county like the UK.
Really' date=' people are uncomfortable looking at mannequins? How regressive are we that [b']we are so uncomfortable with the human body
This is some dumb logic. Your being comfortable with human body doesn't mean that you'll have people roaming around in nude, claiming that you need to be comfortable with human body. What next, they may come up with idea of performing certain human acts in open, in front of everybody and will insist at people seeing them as you need to be comfortable with human acts also as with human bodies, else you are regressive. Basically, it is taken as some sign of intellect if you declare all kind of conservatism is regressive. On topic, I don't think these people at BMC got their reasoning right.

"There is now a bill which should become law to make 50% members of parliament women." Are they drawing straws on which 50% stays male?

If u feel these rules stupid and u can't take it' date=' y don't u the so called educated ******s like u join politics. ?The reason y our country is backward is becoz of u folks don't have d guts to join politics. Don't start blaming me....I am already a member of Shiv sena.[/quote'] Aah splendid, did you also destroy a doctor's clinic based on a harmless facebook post of the doctor's neice ?
If u feel these rules stupid and u can't take it' date=' y don't u the so called educated ******s like u join politics. ?The reason y our country is backward is becoz of u folks don't have d guts to join politics. Don't start blaming me....I am already a member of Shiv sena.[/quote'] I m an active forward devoting honest member of Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK) :hatsoff: This is my leader :hail: :hail: vijaykanth-2.jpg
Aah splendid' date=' did you also destroy a doctor's clinic based on a harmless facebook post of the doctor's neice ?[/quote'] Maybe I should join peace loving Congress or BJP, uhh? :giggle: I can join any party I want. Stop replying in forums like this and start doing something credible. Do u people even go to poll booth? :haha:
Maybe I should join peace loving Congress or BJP, uhh? :giggle: I can join any party I want. Stop replying in forums like this and start doing something credible. Do u people even go to poll booth? :haha:
Join whatever party you may, just don't claim a moral high ground based on your party membership. Talking of credible things, there's more to it than joining the SS.
Maybe I should join peace loving Congress or BJP, uhh? :giggle: I can join any party I want. Stop replying in forums like this and start doing something credible. Do u people even go to poll booth? :haha:
Sir, I want to do something credible.. can u please give me some suggestions?
As long as you blame an external factor instead of a person or culture' date=' crime against women will never be contained. If in one country people watch porn, drink alcohol and then just go to sleep and in another, people do the same things and go out attacking women, believe me, its not the porn or alcohol to blame. You can keep pinning the crimes on external factors and try to get everything banned, even give up basic women rights if that helps you sleep well. But remember, its not a big step from mannequins should be covered from head to toes to all women should be covered from head to toes to all women should stay at home for their safety. People who are ready to give up liberty for safety, deserve neither[/quote'] I don't think you can ignore these factors completely .Alcohol and freely available posrn can be a factor...even in the Delhi bus case these two were factors.Maybe if the six were not so **** drunk at least someone would have the sense to know what they were doing.In these cases the blame is being shifted on the accused ...not the victim because they were the ones who consumed and watched willingly. As far as mannequins are considered...there is a place for everything. Having mannequins wearing crass underwear with nipples jutting out should not be put on the shop fronts .They should be inside the shop.It cannot be compared to asking women to cover up.It is more like asking people to not smoke in public because it is uncomfortable and bad for others. It is also about the comfort level of women...some of whom had complained.It is about appropriate things at appropriate places.You don't wear a bikini on the roads ,likewise you don't wear a sari in a swimming pool.
I don't think you can ignore these factors completely .Alcohol and freely available posrn can be a factor...even in the Delhi bus case these two were factors.Maybe if the six were not so **** drunk at least someone would have the sense to know what they were doing.In these cases the blame is being shifted on the accused ...not the victim because they were the ones who consumed and watched willingly. As far as mannequins are considered...there is a place for everything. Having mannequins wearing crass underwear with nipples jutting out should not be put on the shop fronts .They should be inside the shop.It cannot be compared to asking women to cover up.It is more like asking people to not smoke in public because it is uncomfortable and bad for others. It is also about the comfort level of women...some of whom had complained.It is about appropriate things at appropriate places.You don't wear a bikini on the roads ,likewise you don't wear a sari in a swimming pool.
If it's extremely hot, then you are most certainly entitled to wear a bikini.
Join whatever party you may' date=' just don't claim a moral high ground based on your party membership. Talking of credible things, there's more to it than joining the SS.[/quote'] I did not claim moral high ground. I am just tired of these educated people whining abt wats happening but not willing to join politics. I am 27 now, and I have already joined Shiv Sena with the help of my uncle. I live in a small town in Maharashtra and I am sure I will do something for people. Money is not a priority for me as my dad has earned enuf in his business.
I did not claim moral high ground. I am just tired of these educated people whining abt wats happening but not willing to join politics. I am 27 now' date= and I have already joined Shiv Sena with the help of my uncle. I live in a small town in Maharashtra and I am sure I will do something for people. Money is not a priority for me as my dad has earned enuf in his business.
You mean to say that a common man is not entitled to voice his/her opinion if he is not a neta or part of a party? #kthxbye
Well, atleast these educated people should vote. All they do is watch TV on election day, sit on their fat ass and just keep whining abt politics and policies but not willing to do anything. I was very happy when people came out on streets for the Delhi rape victims. But, its just only few days. More educated people shud join politics.