Old guy Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 lately power cuts have been less here but at start of summer i was getting 8 hour power cuts on atleast 2 days per week here in ludhiana
ganeshran Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 lately power cuts have been less here but at start of summer i was getting 8 hour power cuts on atleast 2 days per week here in ludhiana 8 hour power cuts. gaon hai kya
Old guy Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 8 hour power cuts. gaon hai kya there was some problem n local grid dont know.. shortage is not that big of problem now a days there is a cut for hour or 2 max thats it.. also not at same time so some times u dont even note it :cantstop:
hhunaeh Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 Rarely goes in this part of B'lore. Which part of bangalore are you talking about?and does this hold even during the drought years?
deathmonger Posted June 4, 2013 Author Posted June 4, 2013 1-2 hours is pretty okay I guess. Hopefully in 5-6 years all these places will have 24 hours electricity and by 2025-2030 the entire country has.
Prakat Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 ^ beat UP by a margin of 2 hours :phehehe: People celebrated by lighting the fuse on their local transformers.
CSK Fan Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 No power cuts in Bangalore except sometimes during storms
I6MTW Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 Chennai has power cuts for 2 hours-4 hours almost daily and 8 hour power cuts twice a month plus power shortage and failures often. The worst of all the metro cities.
StriKe Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 Chennai has power cuts for 2 hours-4 hours almost daily and 8 hour power cuts twice a month plus power shortage and failures often. The worst of all the metro cities. No.
zumi Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 1-2 hours is pretty okay I guess. Hopefully in 5-6 years all these places will have 24 hours electricity and by 2025-2030 the entire country has. this is too simple, you are extrapolating but the reality nowhere true as the extrapolation. as more and more villages get connected to the grid, then expect more load shedding. we have wasted last 10 years of boom time to build enough power stations to meet everyone's 24/7 power needs. electricity in india is the most expensive per unit compared big nations like US, Brazil, China, Russia, Indonesia. and without increasing loads (power stations) and more people getting connected, electricity will only get expensive. right now one of India's success stories, Gurgoan, is spruced up with huge numbers of Diesel Generators to ensure 24/7 electricity. It would take radical shift in mindset from government and state electricity boards to ensure 24/7 electricity (at reasonable rates) by 2025. Just for comparison: on yearly basis, China are opening 1 Coal Power Station per day!
ganeshran Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 Chennai has power cuts for 2 hours-4 hours almost daily and 8 hour power cuts twice a month plus power shortage and failures often. The worst of all the metro cities. No. Chennai used to have one hour a day power cuts till 5 months back after which it was increased to 2 hours when the problem grew worse during peak summer time. The 8 hour power cut happens every alternate month for maintenance of lines. Now since the last 2-3 weeks after there was good wind power generation, the powercuts have scaled down quite a bit. However the situation in the rest of Tamilnadu is still appalling. Three are powercuts of close to 10-12 hours a day in most rural areas and 4-6 hours in towns.
I6MTW Posted June 4, 2013 Posted June 4, 2013 No. Chennai used to have one hour a day power cuts till 5 months back after which it was increased to 2 hours when the problem grew worse during peak summer time. The 8 hour power cut happens every alternate month for maintenance of lines. Now since the last 2-3 weeks after there was good wind power generation, the powercuts have scaled down quite a bit. However the situation in the rest of Tamilnadu is still appalling. Three are powercuts of close to 10-12 hours a day in most rural areas and 4-6 hours in towns. that's what I meant.
Detonator Posted June 5, 2013 Posted June 5, 2013 3 hrs in Coimbatore, from April. Which is heaven for now bcoz, there was 8 hrs from Jan-March, and 12 hrs (power on/off every alternate hrs ) from Aug-Dec '12. Even our UPS got blown up once. Then we 'updgraded" our UPS to 12 hrs back-up and now it's useless :(( Before Aug it was 2 hrs and had no powercuts from 2008-2011
SLICKR392 Posted June 5, 2013 Posted June 5, 2013 Which part of bangalore are you talking about?and does this hold even during the drought years? Ares close to Jayanagar. Electronic City and Frazer Town areas have the longest and worst powercuts.
DomainK Posted June 5, 2013 Posted June 5, 2013 Been living in Mumbai for quite a few yeas now and I always had 24 hours electricity. Where I am staying right now, we have 24 hours water as well. Power cuts in Mumbai are very rare and whenever they have some maintenance work, which is usually once a year, they give notices well in advance. Had the worst experiences in Delhi when I stayed there. Random power cuts at all unimaginable times. In Delhi's terrible heat, they would keep power out for whole nights, at random. I was a student then with a very limited budget and obviously could not get an inverter. The nights used to be very painful with plenty of mosquitoes to make it worse.