MS Dhoni - Greatest finisher ever

velu

That is a whole new debate. On hindsight, would you have Mooli or a limping MSD in that situation? I do concede to the fact that MSD should have kept himself out. At the same time, I thanked God that it was MSD out there playing the last over. :pray: Like most of his decisions, this one can also be debated but would be futile. :confused:
not futile at all tbh 5 bowlers all taking wickets why bowl 9 overs of part timers ? 9 freaking overs for no wickets when team gets bowled out under 50 overs shows u how poor it was! in rest of 39 overs(main bowlers ) they got 10 wickets and those nine overs went for 30 something runs and that is when innings was rebuilding its not debatable it was proved wrong as as soon as main bowlers came back they picked wickets . now about fitness i think he dropped a catch and almost missed another stumping .. apart from those 3 balls at end he struggled good on him to finish it but good result does not means everything was all good and fine.
not futile at all tbh 5 bowlers all taking wickets why bowl 9 overs of part timers ? 9 freaking overs for no wickets when team gets bowled out under 50 overs shows u how poor it was! in rest of 39 overs(main bowlers ) they got 10 wickets and those nine overs went for 30 something runs and that is when innings was rebuilding its not debatable it was proved wrong as as soon as main bowlers came back they picked wickets .
With all this decisions being taken. We won the match and the CUP which IMO is the optimum result one can obtain. Now is it even possible to question his decisions, considering all the decisions MSD made lead us to a victory. So if you are talking about a past with some other occurrence, with an alternate decision being taken by MSD, then the onus will be on you to prove that those alternate decisions would have lead to us winning the CUP. We could have debated this and I would have even sided with you if we had lost but the fact is we WON.
winning does not means every thing was perfect.. i will say we won despite his stupid captaincy and fitness rather then forgetting it dhoni should take note of it and never do same mistake again. onus of proving is not one anyone i showed u stats 9 overs for no wickets while rest of 39.. 10 wickets and keep in mind those no wickets came after sri lanka were under pump.. also before 15 from 6 i think it was 19 from 20 or something like that shorry it can be 2-3 runs or ball here and there but it proves my point about how unfit he looked and about how much he struggled .. really great job to connect 3 times in row but he deserves bit of criticism for playing match when he was unfit win masks the mistake does not changes the fact that it was a mistake

Does all these stats matter...?? India WON..... and if you are looking for perfection.... then its like drawing a straight line on the surface of a spherical world. There are always room for improvement. MSD did what he does and finished it..... :bow:

perfection is one thing decision about batting on one leg,dropping catches and bad captaincy almost costed us the match ,, also its baout being top team and staying top team minute u arej ust satasfied with wins at top others will hunt u down gotta keep improving perfection will never happen but striving for perfect win is important .. we still love aussie team of 90'sand early 2000 only cos of this they were relentless and winning match against them was special
also its baout being top team and staying top team minute u arej ust satasfied with wins at top others will hunt u down gotta keep improving perfection will never happen but striving for perfect win is important. l
Sure, I agree we should always strive for perfection, but give this team and MSD some slack. India just won two tournaments in two different continents. (back to back) :hatsoff: India is number ONE in ODI rating. All this with a brand new team with an average age of around 25 and arguably the best fielding side in its history. :bow:
every one gave him credit where due but dont look away from problems just bcos we won :two_thumbs_up:
Yes there was no pressure when he came in ...the chase was simple as well . Like you say any other batsmen wouldbhave finshed this off around the 40th over
yaar kabhi toh aankhen khol kar match dekha karo. When he came in India needed 63 of 113 bals with 6 wickets remaining - the match was against Sri Lanka (a team we have played more than 50 times in the last 5 years with MSD being part of almost all the matches) and the series was as inconsequential as it gets. There really waan't that much pressure when he came in but he batted quite slowly for quite a long time so obviously the pressure increased. He did pretty well in the last over though.
you gave him too much credit in the end. last over main wild slogs main tukka chal gaya, bowler bhi bekar tha. what dhoni did there, anybody could have done.
if you're gonna go that far, you may as well call him the greatest ODI player in the history of the game. or at least the greatest ODI batsman. big call.
Purely by stats, he makes a pretty good case. 51.45 Avg at 88.17 SR after having played 200 innings. :hatsoff:
Ironically enough it is Dhoni who has spoilt these kids with so many finals wins that they think it's no big deal. :hehe:
haan bhai, saare match toh akele dhoni ne hi khele they, baaki 10 players to finals mein sirf dressing room mein baithey they :cantstop:
Ironically enough it is Dhoni who has spoilt these kids with so many finals wins that they think it's no big deal. :hehe:
so true..dhoni alone will whitewash saf in both odi and test right?:icflove:
I know we won the match. But without Dhoni we were winning convicingly and with Dhoni we managed to win somehow. If you look at the figure that Dhoni win us from a situation where 15 runs were needed from 6 balls, you would think he is best finisher ever and rightfully so. But if you think we needed 27 runs in 7 overs with 2 wickets in hand, this finish may not seem that great. But in the end, hats off to him for pulling it off in last over.
when he came in we needed 63 of 113 balls with 6 wickets in hand. Now how bad does the finish look... the last over was pretty good though.
:hysterical: