rkt.india Posted July 16, 2013 Posted July 16, 2013 My only worry is on pitches which are not that bowling friendly that he will just keep playing in one mode. He scored 52 of 56 at SR of 90 plus against WI in CT. 83 of 93 balls against England in ODI series.
adi B Posted July 16, 2013 Posted July 16, 2013 as i mentioned earlier,nohit`s lazy batlift has improved,his technique looks more solid now,worth a try @6 in saf
Ram Posted July 16, 2013 Posted July 16, 2013 I am still not sold on this dude. If you take some one like Virat Kohli (or Yuvraj Singh earlier), you see the progression in their confidence and the ease with which they tackle the bowlers as their innings progresses. But if I were to show you a snippet of Rohit’s innings, I bet you will be hard pressed to tell if he’s batting at 0* or 65*. I don’t think he has attained that critical mental balance yet, when it comes to ODI batting. It’s a gift that only some of the supremely gifted batsmen like Yuvraj, Kohli, MSD, Bevan etc have had. More importantly, after 5 years and nearly a 100 ODI games, I am yet to see Rohit exhibiting that one key characteristic that separates the men from the boys in ODI cricket – The ability to close out a game. How many times have we had Rohit be not out at an end of a chase? Unless he can show to me that his game can evolve to cover these gaps, there are going to be more questions than answers about his game.
GolGappe Posted July 17, 2013 Posted July 17, 2013 Hasn't looked convincing in a single knock during his best phase I am not sold on Rohit as opener yet. Although I don't see any point in going back to Sehwag or Gambhir. Vijay doesn't come across as an ODI bat either. I wouldn't mind someone like Unmukt Chand getting bit of a go. Typical Delhi batsman. Maybe lacking in technique but has plenty of balls and good temperament.
Soorma_Bhopali Posted July 17, 2013 Posted July 17, 2013 If this is his best phase' date=' I would hate to see his worst.[/quote'] Exactly ..Same thoughts ..munh ki baat cheen li yaarB->
Sachin=GOD Posted July 17, 2013 Posted July 17, 2013 I've been saying this for over an year and I'll say this once again - bring him in the test team and you will see what this guy is really capable of.
div Posted July 17, 2013 Posted July 17, 2013 Hasn't looked convincing in a single knock during his best phase I am not sold on Rohit as opener yet. Although I don't see any point in going back to Sehwag or Gambhir. Vijay doesn't come across as an ODI bat either. I wouldn't mind someone like Unmukt Chand getting bit of a go. Typical Delhi batsman. Maybe lacking in technique but has plenty of balls and good temperament. Exactly..Kohli and Dhawan looked more comfortable
rkt.india Posted July 17, 2013 Posted July 17, 2013 Exactly..Kohli and Dhawan looked more comfortable Dhawan averaged 27 in WI, Kohli averaged 29, will take a batsmen not comfortable still averaging 54 any day.
vamos_rafa Posted July 17, 2013 Posted July 17, 2013 Make no mistakes' date=' seeing how difficult it was to bat in the first 15 overs in WI and how other teams lost wickets in bucket-loads, Rohit's innings were gems. Even Dhawan failed in the last series[/quote'] +1.
div Posted July 17, 2013 Posted July 17, 2013 Dhawan averaged 27 in WI' date=' Kohli averaged 29, will take a batsmen not comfortable still averaging 54 any day.[/quote'] Ishant-26 Malinga-36 Kula-42 On those pitches,I will take Kulasekara ahead of Ishant and Kohli ahead of Rohit
rkt.india Posted July 17, 2013 Posted July 17, 2013 Ishant-26 Malinga-36 Kula-42 On those pitches,I will take Kulasekara ahead of Ishant and Kohli ahead of Rohit Kohli played one good innings whole series and Kula averaged 42, so it means you will be out and not win it.:winky: BTW, Kulsekra did not play full tournament, probably just 1-2 matches.
kubrickian Posted July 17, 2013 Posted July 17, 2013 Rohit has been very good since he started opening the innings. I'm happy with the way he batted in Champions Trophy and tri series where the pitches were tough for batting. Pujara can also be another good addition to this side who has good technique and temperament and can play in all conditions, along with Dhawan and Kohli. He should replace DK who got enough chances but doesnt seem to have the temperament to make it at international level.
div Posted July 17, 2013 Posted July 17, 2013 Kohli played one good innings whole series and Kula averaged 42, so it means you will be out and not win it.:winky: BTW, Kulsekra did not play full tournament, probably just 1-2 matches. Sangakkara was probably the best batsman in that series. If this is Rohit's best phase,he won't last long in international cricket.:winky:
CG Posted July 17, 2013 Posted July 17, 2013 as i mentioned earlier' date=nohit`s lazy batlift has improved,his technique looks more solid now,worth a try @6 in saf :giggle: he does not have a batlift now .Fletcher has asked him to try this technique which has been employed by likes of cook,hussey to great effect.reduced batlift allows extra time while playing quicks but hampers ur strokeplay . gambhiralso tried the technique but it did not work and he has gone back to his old technique.
div Posted July 26, 2013 Posted July 26, 2013 Many people in this forum believe Rohit Sharma has great technique.:winky:
BeautifulGame Posted July 26, 2013 Posted July 26, 2013 Thing is he needs to debut in test cricket the format that suits him most.Then his confidence and performance will be much more consistent in ODIs
cowboysfan Posted July 26, 2013 Posted July 26, 2013 an opener who cannot rotate strike is not a good one,he cannot attack like dhawan and viru either.
CG Posted July 26, 2013 Posted July 26, 2013 When he scored against zim last tour-Kya yaar zimbabwe koi team hai When he fails-Dekho zimbabwe ke against bhi khel naahien pa raha.
adi B Posted July 26, 2013 Posted July 26, 2013 :giggle: he does not have a batlift now .Fletcher has asked him to try this technique which has been employed by likes of cook' date='hussey to great effect.reduced batlift allows extra time while playing quicks but hampers ur strokeplay . gambhiralso tried the technique but it did not work and he has gone back to his old technique.[/quote'] spot on,for gambhir it did not work too well,for nohit,i would say he is leaving well and weathering the 1st 10 overs but the natural run scoring is stranded..nohit has to play differently once the 10 ovrs are done and against the spinners