Anyone can have meal for Rs 12 in Mumbai, Rs 5 in Delhi: Congress leaders

Rs.20 per meal. They probably can live with but that surely doesn't suffice their needs.
Yep.....not just food....all their basic needs.......Rs 1800 a month is not enough in a metro to even pay your rent......unless you plan on living in a slum......

Sabjiya ka rate mujh se Bhai Tomato 60 per kg Aalo 30-40 per kg Pyaaj 20-30 per kg Adarak 50rs 250 gm Lahsun 20rs 250 gm Namak 15 ki Thaili Ab in louwd-o se poocho,Ki tumharey maa Baap ne kya saabjiya paida ki thi Jo sabko 5-5 rs mein baant rahe ho.

Yep.....not just food....all their basic needs.......Rs 1800 a month is not enough in a metro to even pay your rent......unless you plan on living in a slum......
1800 in mumbai a month including rent means you have got Zilch, forget about a hearty meal you will not get three meals a day... The rent in slums is not cheap
The manual labor rate in India is around Rs. 150-250 per day. That's roughly Rs. 5000-7000 per month for a family of around 5-6. How that is not poverty is beyond my understanding.
may be the wife also works, i dont think a family of 4+ can survive at Rs 6000 / month in a metro
may be the wife also works' date=' i dont think a family of 4+ can survive at Rs 6000 / month in a metro[/quote'] Yeah, the wife would have to work. Also the kids will start doing menial jobs once they are 7-8 years old. Old parents would also try to scrap up whatever they can. Somehow they would be able to get together a total of Rs. 10-12,000 per month which in my opinion is the bare minimum for a family of 5-6 to scrape through in a metro.
Yeah' date=' the wife would have to work. Also the kids will start doing menial jobs once they are 7-8 years old. Old parents would also try to scrap up whatever they can. Somehow they would be able to get together a total of Rs. 10-12,000 per month which in my opinion is the bare minimum for a family of 5-6 to scrape through in a metro.[/quote'] Labour rate in Gurgaon is 300-400 for unskilled work and mason get 500-700.If the wife is not working there is no way she will be living in city with husband. , she will be in husband's village. Nobody is going to ask his old parents to leave their village and join unless the guy is not making good money.So yes when young men join work as labour or in shops they make very little but at that time they just pay their expense or whatever they save they just send it to village
Yeah' date=' the wife would have to work. Also the kids will start doing menial jobs once they are 7-8 years old. Old parents would also try to scrap up whatever they can. Somehow they would be able to get together a total of Rs. 10-12,000 per month which in my opinion is the bare minimum for a family of 5-6 to scrape through in a metro.[/quote'] 10-12K per month? What sort of labour are we talking here? The kids would hardly make 50 per day and the sort of work they do wouldn't make any difference. The fixed amount for manual labour is rarely taken into account. It really doesn't matter how many work, 10K in a month is pretty rare in the families below poverty,. No way a family living in BPL would be able to gather that through manual labouring. To add : It might be possible with a women working alongside as she could work up 7-10 house per day and earn plenty a month but the inclusion of kids or old parent would only feed them (an individual) a meal per day.

we are making a lot of assumptions while saying daily labor work for rs 150-200 can fetch rs 6000 per month,lets be honest most of them live on frequent labor wage than daily labor wage and get payed more or less than 5k pm.. the expenditures are too much alone in semi urban area let alone metropolitans,living alone with such low wages is itelf difficult so think how much they`ll struggle to provide basic amenities to their family if any.. vayu rightly pointed,the price rise in not only eateries such as vegetable(which literally has doubled for a couple of months) but also public transport,electricity etc is too high for such section(which mind you is very large) of people to survive.. these vague and perverse comments from the govn is just adding insult to injury,they are just deluded and keep on repudiating facts which is dismal

Ridiculous statements made by these politicians. Its a slap on the face of people who are dying of hunger. "Whats the fuss about ? I have food for 12 bucks, go fetch it, don't crib ya fellows, there is no inflation as far as my knowledge goes !" These politicians should be ashamed of such silly and insensitive remarks on the masses. Rather than addressing to the bigger issues of food inflation, these morons come up and make such horrifying remarks and play with the public sentiments. Don't give a **** whether it costs 12 or 5 or 10 Rs., the fact of the matter is that the poverty ratios and other facts revealed in the planning commission is all cooked up. If anyone can satisfy a family of 4-5 people in Rs. 2000 or even 5000, I would like to meet that family and take inputs on how to manage my daily budget on food and other stuff. And the statement by Farooq Abdullah is insane. "Pet toh ek rupaiya mein bhi bhar sakta hai, sawaal yeh hai ki aap khaana kya chahte hain" I mean, WTF ! The common man is not asking for a 5-star restaurant meals every day. He just wants the prices of the most essential commodities to go down, and these insensitive, ruthless cowards are going gaga on their food security bill. There is no need for a food security bill, just bring down the prices of essential commodities, upgrade the quality of food distributed through PDS to the poor and the needy and I think the nation will do better. And these chewtiyas say this Food security bill with such a loud voice as if they are doing a favour on the masses by feeding them. ****ing disgrace to humanity these dipshits :finger:

You can fill your stomach in Re 1, it depends on what you eat: Farooq New Delhi: The war of words between the government and Opposition over poverty figures continues with more startling statements being made. After Congress spokesperson Raj Babbar's Rs 12 claim, now Union Minister Farooq Abdullah has courted controversy by saying that one can have a full meal for just Re 1 if desired. "If you want, you can fill your stomach in Re 1 or Rs 100, depending on what you want to eat. We are working to change the life of the poor so they can eat well be healthy and India can progress," Farooq Abdullah said. Congress leader Rasheed Masood has also said that it is possible for a person to buy a meal for Rs 5. "In Delhi you can get a whole meal for Rs 5, but I don't know about Mumbai. I myself spend less than Rs 5 on my meals." Masood said. Earlier, Raj Babbar had claimed that it was easy to get a full meal for Rs 12 even in Mumbai. His comments had been slammed by the Opposition with BJP leader Varun Gandhi claiming that the only place where one can get a meal for Rs 12 is the Parliament canteen. Mumbaikars have also slammed Babbar for his comment and said that the claim is not correct. "I pay Rs 50 for my meal every day," said a taxi driver. "We sell a complete meal for Rs 30. A vada pav costs Rs 12 these days. A meal used to cost Rs 12 twenty years back," said a food stall vendor. The Shiv Sena has accused the Congress of mocking the poor. "In Mumbai, you can't even get a cup of tea or Vada Pav for Rs 12. The Congress is mocking the poor," said Sena leader Sanjay Raut. In fact, the NCP too has disagreed with the Planning Commission figures. "Poverty has reduced in the country. But the baseline used by the Planning Commission is wrong. The Planning Commission must identify a new baseline based on the needs of the people," The raging debate started after the UPA claimed that India's poverty ratio declined to 21.9 per cent under its rule. BJP has rejected the Planning Commission figures. The BJP has accused the government of lowering the bar on the definition of poverty and misleading the people. Delhi BJP President had even sent a money order of Rs 33 to Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi and Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission Montek Singh Ahluwalia on Wednesday. He had challenged the trio to buy a meal for Rs 33 and said that the Congress has changed the definition of poverty ahead of polls. He had said this was the BJP's way of protesting against Planning Commission's criteria that anybody whose consumption of goods and services exceed Rs 33 in cities per day was not poor.
http://ibnlive.in.com/news/you-can-fill-your-stomach-in-re-1-it-depends-on-what-you-eat-farooq/409486-37-64.html And the chewtiyappa continues.......:facepalm:......these idiots expect people to go on an alpenliebe diet or what??

What about bills(electricity,telephone,water)Wo kaha jayenge,you need atleast 5 -6000 per month for this only,if ur child goes to school or college ,hefty fees as well,what about house tax and other small expenses,you need atleast 20-25000 to have some hope in metro's

Please check the following for the Planning Commission estimates on "poverty" in urban vs rural areas.

As the Press Note on Poverty Estimates, 2011-12, released by the Planning Commission points out “for rural areas the national poverty line…is estimated at Rs 816 per capita per month and Rs. 1,000 per capita per month in urban areas. Thus, for a family of five, the all India poverty line in terms of consumption expenditure would amount to about Rs 4,080 per month in rural areas and Rs 5,000 per month in urban areas”.
Source - http://www.firstpost.com/economy/why-does-upa-want-to-feed-67-of-india-if-only-21-is-poor-986041.html