Brainfade Posted August 16, 2013 Posted August 16, 2013 Walmart Ditto. For some specific items, we go to BJs, Trader Joes (esp. beer) & Harris Teeter.
jalebi_bhai Posted August 16, 2013 Author Posted August 16, 2013 Ditto. For some specific items, we go to BJs, Trader Joes (esp. beer) & Harris Teeter. How is the customer service at your walmart?? It's the most hated supermarket outlet yet the highest grossing one in the US........
The Outsider Posted August 16, 2013 Posted August 16, 2013 I was disappointed by Trader Joes the only time I bought something from there.......was a chicken wrap......didn't taste all that great..........though I've heard a lot of their other stuff is quite good and flavorful..... I don't like their wraps either. I was mainly talking from the grocery point of view rather than prepared food. For single guys how do you manage to finish the portions that you get from Costco before they start rotting? :dontknow:
Laaloo Posted August 16, 2013 Posted August 16, 2013 Walmart's grocery department has gone down in the last year or so - high prices and quality is not really good. For groceries, we go to a local indian store. For fruits, I go to a local food market. Cheap and quality is good.
Cricketics Posted August 16, 2013 Posted August 16, 2013 Korean stores are really popular here for Vegetable shopping. Stores like Grandmart etc. Also people love to shop from Local stores like Giant and Safeway. i don't think Giant are all over USA. Probably just DC area chain. Safeway is probably quite big.
Brainfade Posted August 16, 2013 Posted August 16, 2013 How is the customer service at your walmart?? It's the most hated supermarket outlet yet the highest grossing one in the US........ Customer service is minimal. But, for the most part, I don't need customer service - I don't ask too many questions (e.g., "which local farmer grew these tomatoes and are her/his dogs treated humanely"?). And if I do have a question, they answer it with a smile and no fuss. They are clean and they have cheap, decent-quality fresh conventional produce and a wide selection of everything else. I am good to go! As for hate, I think the main grouse against them is that they don't treat their employees and vendors well. And many of their older stores are not well-kept.
Brainfade Posted August 16, 2013 Posted August 16, 2013 I don't like their wraps either. I was mainly talking from the grocery point of view rather than prepared food. :dontknow: We go to Trader Joes for specific items - beer, unusual cheese, chicken sausage, tamales, garlic, chocolate, charcoal for the grill.
jalebi_bhai Posted August 16, 2013 Author Posted August 16, 2013 As for hate' date=' I think the main grouse against them is that they don't treat their employees and vendors well. And many of their older stores are not well-kept.[/quote'] Apparently even their product quality has gone down......I've honestly never been in one.......so my opinion on them is based of articles, customer reviews and hearsay.......
jalebi_bhai Posted August 16, 2013 Author Posted August 16, 2013 Godrej natures basket Opinions on the outlet??
jalebi_bhai Posted August 16, 2013 Author Posted August 16, 2013 For groceries' date=' we go to a local indian store. For fruits, I go to a local food market. Cheap and quality is good.[/quote'] Local markets are best for fruits and vegetables.......
Yoda-esque Posted August 16, 2013 Posted August 16, 2013 I know a lot of snooty Indians who turn their noses up at the very mention of Walmart. But then they go fancy places and buy Twinkie Bars :hysterical:
jalebi_bhai Posted August 16, 2013 Author Posted August 16, 2013 I know a lot of snooty Indians who turn their noses up at the very mention of Walmart. But then they go fancy places and buy Twinkie Bars :hysterical: Indians against Walmart??? :protest:
FischerTal Posted August 16, 2013 Posted August 16, 2013 Indians against Walmart??? :protest: i personally hate that place..... not because of its quality or anything but because of how they treat their workers...... very low-wages
Yoda-esque Posted August 16, 2013 Posted August 16, 2013 Indians against Walmart??? :protest: Yes,How they change :giggle:
Brainfade Posted August 16, 2013 Posted August 16, 2013 Apparently even their product quality has gone down......I've honestly never been in one.......so my opinion on them is based of articles' date= customer reviews and hearsay....... Not where I live. They have fresh produce that is comparable to the local premium grocery stores. And cheaper.
Brainfade Posted August 16, 2013 Posted August 16, 2013 Yes' date='How they change :giggle:[/quote'] $$ in bank = snooty.
cowboysfan Posted August 16, 2013 Posted August 16, 2013 mostly kroger and sometimes central market if i have the time.there is a huge desi store on my street too.
cowboysfan Posted August 16, 2013 Posted August 16, 2013 Weird – only I seem to be buying groceries in pre-cooked form (Subway/Chipotle/Random Indian restauarant etc). :dontknow: i thought you were a vegetarian .dont tell me you eat a veggie sandwich at subway,thats just really sad.
Ram Posted August 16, 2013 Posted August 16, 2013 i thought you were a vegetarian .dont tell me you eat a veggie sandwich at subway' date='thats just really sad.[/quote'] Not veggie sandwich, veggie pattie. :orderorder: