Vijy Posted January 6, 2014 Posted January 6, 2014 That 2010/11 team was one of the most confident if not the most confident English side to tour Australia. Since straussy dealt with the burdens of captaincy' date=' cook played naturally and batted like a god. He just could do no wrong. This time ryano and Mitchy never let him settle and play his natural game :3. His captaincy was attacked and it all came crashing down. He is still highly respected for his batting in Australia and if India plays that long haired bloke I shan't and 35 year old zaheer, he will feast on em and regain confidence.[/quote'] That much seems a given. But, what worth are those runs? I'd rather rate a batsman as being good when they score well against strong attacks. Pak in UAE, SA in SA and now rejuvenated Aus in Aus - these are the true tests for Cook. And we all know how well he's done in these conditions, if one excludes that 2010/11 tour. Cook is an opportunist - he scores massively when facing sub-standard attacks, and this inflates his avg a great deal. He is still a very good player, but certainly not England's current best batsman - that honour still goes to KP.
gattaca Posted January 6, 2014 Posted January 6, 2014 That 2010/11 team was one of the most confident if not the most confident English side to tour Australia. Since straussy dealt with the burdens of captaincy' date=' cook played naturally and batted like a god. He just could do no wrong. This time ryano and Mitchy never let him settle and play his natural game :3. His captaincy was attacked and it all came crashing down. He is still highly respected for his batting in Australia and if India plays that long haired bloke I shan't and 35 year old zaheer, he will feast on em and regain confidence.[/quote'] He always was a , is a pokemon. Their is youtube video on it. you shouldn't give him easy singles. In India I remember we used to give him lot of singles. If you put pressure on him he will poke . He is good but he is a pokemon outside off.
GoldenSun Posted January 6, 2014 Posted January 6, 2014 That much seems a given. But, what worth are those runs? I'd rather rate a batsman as being good when they score well against strong attacks. Pak in UAE, SA in SA and now rejuvenated Aus in Aus - these are the true tests for Cook. And we all know how well he's done in these conditions. Cook is an opportunist - he scores massively when facing sub-standard attacks, and this inflates his avg a great deal. He is still a very good player, but certainly not England's current best batsman - that honour still goes to KP. Thats why in my opinion I would pick Clarke and Amla over Cook. Cook loves playing India that's why I said that I back him to score massively against India and Sri Lanka. Overall I agree with you to an extentt
Vijy Posted January 6, 2014 Posted January 6, 2014 Thats why in my opinion I would pick Clarke and Amla over Cook. Cook loves playing India that's why I said that I back him to score massively against India and Sri Lanka. Overall I agree with you to an extentt Yep, the above two are amongst the best players to have made their debut in the 2000s. There was a thread earlier discussing the same. Amongst current players, I'd also put Sanga and Chanders in that list. In the earlier stages of his career, Sanga scored heavily at home, but he's improved a lot. Still scores more at home, but he is now an excellent batsman abroad as well.
putrevus Posted January 6, 2014 Posted January 6, 2014 Yaar bhai, Cook isn't one game or one series wonder. If he continues to fail also from here on, no one can deny that he had a brilliant run. Not just for frew series, but a span of big 75+ test. He has played 100 test for a reson. He has been brilliiant. He will still continue to score runs I believe but I guess with not same consistency as before. He is not one series wonder but he never was Bradman reincarnated which he was during his golden run. He was on his of becoming immortal and all time great but now he just good.
Ram Posted January 6, 2014 Posted January 6, 2014 There’s a clear pattern emerging in Cook’s career. Periodically, he goes thru an extended slump where he averages between 30-40 and almost immediately follows it up with a staggering run of form. Before, it was him falling over in his crease and being consistently out lbw. Now, he cant seem to decide where his off-stump is. Nobody scores 8000 test runs in their first 7 years of international cricket without being a super-human batting talent. But his recent struggles have only highlighted the fact that while he maybe a very good batsmen, he is not yet in the league of SRT and the likes. His batting average is now 46, which by this generation’s standards, is not extremely high.
Vijy Posted January 7, 2014 Posted January 7, 2014 There’s a clear pattern emerging in Cook’s career. Periodically, he goes thru an extended slump where he averages between 30-40 and almost immediately follows it up with a staggering run of form. Before, it was him falling over in his crease and being consistently out lbw. Now, he cant seem to decide where his off-stump is. Nobody scores 8000 test runs in their first 7 years of international cricket without being a super-human batting talent. But his recent struggles have only highlighted the fact that while he maybe a very good batsmen, he is not yet in the league of SRT and the likes. His batting average is now 46, which by this generation’s standards, is not extremely high. 46 is certainly not high. I mean, Jaya and Samaraweera are rated FTBs and they have higher avgs.
Zero_Unit Posted January 7, 2014 Posted January 7, 2014 :two_thumbs_up: Checked his stats against SA/Pak/NZ/Aus.. Cook avgs just 40 with 11 100s from 53 matches, whereas overall he avgs 47 with 25 100's from 97 matches..clearly mediocre against good pace attacks To you an AVG of 40 is not good? You'r kidding right? Give the dude some credit man ... he does score runs in big numbers. Hell if Jadeja or Raina could score half the runs he did in the past 2 years, we would have made them the prime f'ing minister by now.
Precambrian Posted January 8, 2014 Posted January 8, 2014 Nope average of 40 is mediocre, no way good unless you are English.
special K Posted January 9, 2014 Posted January 9, 2014 46 is good for an opener England. Will be back up over 50 after this summer.
diga Posted January 9, 2014 Posted January 9, 2014 To you an AVG of 40 is not good? You'r kidding right? Give the dude some credit man ... he does score runs in big numbers. Hell if Jadeja or Raina could score half the runs he did in the past 2 years' date=' we would have made them the prime f'ing minister by now.[/quote'] Only if they open the batting
SLICKR392 Posted January 9, 2014 Posted January 9, 2014 46 is good for an opener England. Will be back up over 50 after this summer. He rolled back from 50 to 46. A sub 40 batsman like any other English bat. Only 2 players in the side capable of having an average of 50+ are- Trott and KP. The Saffers.
Vijy Posted January 9, 2014 Posted January 9, 2014 He rolled back from 50 to 46. A sub 40 batsman like any other English bat. Only 2 players in the side capable of having an average of 50+ are- Trott and KP. The Saffers. Cook's avg will always oscillate. Shoot up to nearly 50 against trundlers and go down when facing top attacks in helpful conditions for bowling. KP's avg will most prob not go over 50 since he is growing more inconsistent. If Trott sorts out his mental issues, he will avg >50. If not, then he too will have sub-50 avg.