i have started watching shyam bengal's films thesedays.... yesterday i saw ankur... i will see junoon and nishanth during the weekend i also want to see arthsatya and some other early nasseruddin shah's films ankur was awesome for me. but i dont know if you guys will like it... its slow but magnificent. the screenplay sense of benegal on debut was of prize winning movie standard in international film festivals. ---

I am not sure why everyone is giving personal opinion of individual movies. I mean is it even surprise that Maryam would not like anything of Prakash Jha or Outty would not like anything other than Kashyap. What I intended to ask in the OP was has the quality of movies in recent times improved compared to previous decade of bollywood movies? May be calling golden era is a bit OTT but are we moving towards that era.
:confused: I liked Gangajal to some extent. What I cannot stand is pretentious cinema. People (read Aamir Khan, Anurag Kashyap, Prakash Jha) passing of average run of the mill stuff as intellectual/socially relevant cinema. Its just as good/bad as the stuff they claim to be better than. As far as the OP goes, I loved Cinemas of the 90s and early 2000s. I loved almost all the KJo/ Yash Chopra flicks of the period with SRK. They just don't make them anymore. I have always enjoyed the Govinda - Kader Khan comedies to the 'kya kool hai hum' type kitsch. I even enjoyed those crazy action/ serious movies of the 90s- Mohra, Main Khiladi Tu Anari (partially comedy), Sadak, Tridev, Vijaypath :D
: I have always enjoyed the Govinda - Kader Khan comedies to the 'kya kool hai hum' type kitsch. :
Right. Govinda is one of the all time most entertaining actors. Aamir is not pretentious or fake imo. He may come across as that in his interviews because I think he takes time to think and he likes to think, take his time, before talking. And he is one of the time great actors, yes? :)
He's a great actor no doubt. No one is questioning his all so obvious acting acumen. Aamir's Munna in Rangeela was one of my favourite cinematic characters. Its Aamir the producer that I find very average. He still does a great job in front of the camera. Its behind the lens that he's found wanting. As a fellow Govinda fan, I share this dance video. Only Govinda can dance like this. Slow deliberate moves, without caring a damn about what the world thinks. Gotta love his facial expressions too. :dance: OlSJVmpbuEk
He's a great actor no doubt. No one is questioning his all so obvious acting acumen. Aamir's Munna in Rangeela was one of my favourite cinematic characters. Its Aamir the producer that I find very average. He still does a great job in front of the camera. Its behind the lens that he's found wanting.
sorry I got that wrong.
As a fellow Govinda fan, I share this dance video. Only Govinda can dance like this. Slow deliberate moves, without caring a damn about what the world thinks. Gotta love his facial expressions too. :dance:
Epic song. Very enjoyable. btw wtf is he doing between 2:40 - 2:50 ? :haha:
Yeah' date=' I think he was drunk while making that one. Khalpat, avoid that one. But do watch his other movies - Maqbool, Omkaara, [b']Saat Khoon Maaf, Ishquiyaa, Kaminey. All top notch movies.
Top notch movies? Lets just say that you are a lot less critical of Bhardwaj than you are of other directors.
:confused: I liked Gangajal to some extent. What I cannot stand is pretentious cinema. People (read Aamir Khan, Anurag Kashyap, Prakash Jha) passing of average run of the mill stuff as intellectual/socially relevant cinema. Its just as good/bad as the stuff they claim to be better than. As far as the OP goes, I loved Cinemas of the 90s and early 2000s. I loved almost all the KJo/ Yash Chopra flicks of the period with SRK. They just don't make them anymore. I have always enjoyed the Govinda - Kader Khan comedies to the 'kya kool hai hum' type kitsch. I even enjoyed those crazy action/ serious movies of the 90s- Mohra, Main Khiladi Tu Anari (partially comedy), Sadak, Tridev, Vijaypath :D
Kya Super Kool Hai Hum is a modern classic! How can you forget lines like: "Inko ragdo, manne chaat." (At a Dandia function food stall) "Mujhe Bade achche lagte hain!" (At an arranged marriage proposal wala family lunch) The Vet called Ms. Gila Sukhani and someone called Rosemary Marlowe. And many more like that. I can't believe your lah-di-da taste that only appreciates Govinda-Kader Khan cinema.
Mohra is a classic,Raveena is my all time most fav heroine. I can watch Tip Tip Barsa Paani anytime :winky:. Anyways you love KJo/Yash Chopra movies, Govinda- Kader Khan and also the classic list of Vijaypath, Tridev etc. I don't think my assumption was wrong that you will not like Prakash jha movies. It seems you like every movie on which you have spent the time and money.
Top notch movies? Lets just say that you are a lot less critical of Bhardwaj than you are of other directors.
I'll gladly admit that my judgment of Bhardwaj's movies is biased because of movies like Maqbool and Omkara, so even if he does not make a movie to those lofty standards I do tend to give him the benefit of doubt. Regarding Kaminey and Saat Khoon Maaf, I guess I overrated Kaminey. It was really good, but the Tarantino type climax was not well done by Bhardwaj. I also think that the script had potential to be made even better. However, I really liked Saat Khoon Maaf - definitely one of my favorites from the past few years, though Priyanka Chopra's acting did dent the movie a bit.
He's a great actor no doubt. No one is questioning his all so obvious acting acumen. Aamir's Munna in Rangeela was one of my favourite cinematic characters. Its Aamir the producer that I find very average. He still does a great job in front of the camera. Its behind the lens that he's found wanting.
How really? I personall think he is a better producer than as an actor . Not easy to back up film like Dehli Belly, Peepli Live, Dhobi Ghat, Lagaan and Tare Zameen Par, then make them huge hits. He hasn't got single flop as a producer
As a fellow Govinda fan, I share this dance video. Only Govinda can dance like this. Slow deliberate moves, without caring a damn about what the world thinks. Gotta love his facial expressions too. :dance: OlSJVmpbuEk
Watched this after quite a while, and then watched it again. Brilliant! :adore:

No one can dance like Govianda,was one of most versatile actors. Then he got into these comedy roles that he never got out of it , It became really repetitive seeing him do similar type of roles over again and again.

Hearing great things about this film LunchBox, praised every where it has been screened (Cannes,Telluride, Toronto, Sony Classics, Danis Tanovic, London FF) So finally an Indian movie which has a chance of winning an oscar after Lagaan I am so waiting for this movie to release

LOL! If Aamir Khan had not played politics to get that piece of crap in the Oscars, Monsoon Wedding would have already been the first Indian movie to win the Oscar.
LOL! If Aamir Khan had not played politics to get that piece of crap in the Oscars' date= Monsoon Wedding would have already been the first Indian movie to win the Oscar.
Sorry, come again? Bodyguard and Ready has a fantastic plot but this you term as a ' piece of crap ' ?