^ Agree. Talking about any construction and saying its offend poor people is pure BS,If that's the case everyone should build huts not expensive houses. At least this will generate employment and if plan goes well should be a good tourism opportunity,they can always develop it in future as well.
Ab itna bhi dal mat badlo, you were the first one to point as silly expenditures of congress, first to point about waste of money by the rich. Ambani and Mayamati, pretty sure you commented on them too. Now what changed? How will a statue generate more employment than those 182 crores being invested in something industry, etc

If the goal is to destroy the house that Nehru built, this statue is important. I think for the next year or 2, it will kept on the back burner but suddenly the funds will become available in 2016 or there about and right before the elections in 2019, the statue will be inaugurated.

What a waste of resources. But also find the criticisms from Congress abit rich considering Patel is one of their own and how many crores they spent on feliciting Gandhi parivar a birthdays and death anniversary and what not. Congress' real fear is that IF this statue were to become a success it would further put a dent on the mythical aura surrounding Nehru and his sperms.

where were you when congress was building gandhi statues congress bootlicker :yousuck:
Just because other government wasted tax payers money, it does not gives right to the next government to continue doing so. Statues are fine, but should it be worth 200 crores. NO imo. I was traveling in Kolkota. They had small statues of Tagore and some other statues outside a garden. Small and old, hardly costing few lacs together but those were as good as a 200 crore statue would please the mind. what a pleasing sight it was with books in their hands. Heritage and history needs to be displayed but not at this cost.

Completely off topic PJ When the great flood comes n nothing of this world remains..the Patel statue would become a great mystery to future generations. Some scholars in the future might find some ridiculous correlations between the sphinx pyramids and the Patel statue.. :cantstop: some might wonder how cavemen built such a magnificent statue...

where were you when congress was building gandhi statues congress bootlicker :yousuck:
or newspaper ads every other day with some birth / death anniversary of a member of Nehru-Gandhi family
So basically you are admitting that BJP = Congress and nothing changed :giggle:

Epic wastage which was not required now... Bring the Economy back on track. Focus on Women safety and rural sanitation... Once things get bit better, then think about statues etc...

Won't this be the largest statue in the world? Definite potential for tourism......however.....the gestation period for the project will take a while......not the need of the hour.....but not a complete waste.......

So basically you are admitting that BJP = Congress and nothing changed :giggle:
If I had a dollar every time someone gave that argument, I would be a millionaire. But "What about Congress?", "What about Mayawati?". :wall:
Won't this be the largest statue in the world? Definite potential for tourism......however.....the gestation period for the project will take a while......not the need of the hour.....but not a complete waste.......
It was also told that the statue will be built from donations and no public funds will be used. Look where we are now. Read Post #40

Kalki Koechlin @kalkikanmani · Jul 12 If we are going to make a 200 cr statue I think it should be one of a giant, sexy woman so men can stare at her instead of at us... ....

Point hai ...make it in Delhi :--D
Who would stare at Kalki? :hmmm: