jalebi_bhai Posted January 19, 2014 Posted January 19, 2014 He obviously loves his hair more than his izzat....so I suggested a bit off the bangs.:--D Every guy who has grown his hair long finds it very hard to get rid of their zulfein.........I myself am no different........I find it very annoying when people tell me to cut my hair.......
JourneyMan Posted January 19, 2014 Posted January 19, 2014 Solution of our current problem is not to call back people who already failed and have shown no improvement but to try new people or people who have been dropped and worked hard and improved Otherwise all we are doing is rotating one younger loser with older loser who has already failed and has done nothing Zaheer got smashed in ranjis by zol and sehwag,bhajji a nd yuvraj have done nothing to get back.. Why not reward players who have done well on a tours ? Shami is one of them and look at his performance going by ur logic we should not have selected shami and went with nehra or munaf:giggle: Agreed. If we want to build a team that lasts we need to bring in young talent and let the players develop. Even if Zaheer, Sehwag and others did hit good form, they would be a quick fix at best.
Desi Cartman Posted January 19, 2014 Posted January 19, 2014 He obviously loves his hair more than his izzat....so I suggested a bit off the bangs.:--D What izzat ? Do you think he has any left ?
vvvslaxman Posted January 19, 2014 Posted January 19, 2014 Thanks Ganguly for proving that you should not be given selectors job ever.
suraj Posted January 19, 2014 Posted January 19, 2014 Ganguly likes to make sensationalist statements. I do feel Pujara deserves to have a spot.
suraj Posted January 19, 2014 Posted January 19, 2014 - And that Sharma is Anushka Sharma. I don't know what she has done to turbo-charge Kohli but she should be immediately put on BCCI's payroll. - I have watched International Cricket for 25 years and Jadeja is absolutely the worst number 7 batsman I have ever seen. He makes Ajit Agarkar look like a proper batsman. My gosh, how did this nincompoop score three triple centuries in domestic cricket. This guy doesn't look capable of scoring 10 runs at U14 level. - I welcome the brickbats but Harbhajan offered twice the utility that Jadeja and Ashwin combined offer. He didn't give up easy runs when he wasn't picking wickets, was a gutsy lower order batsman, a good outfielder, and had a fantastic team spirit to boot. - Selectors should never pick anyone with last name Sharma to make up for the sins of their forefathers Ishant and Rohit. Ishant is simply a hopeless case and Rohit Sharma has been deteriorating so rapidly ever since Steyn worked him over in first ODI in RSA. Showed absoutely no respect for match conditions, hogged the strike, beaten countless times, kept the strike away from red-hot Dhawan, and foolishly gave his wicket away. - Somebody should arrange a Sadhu-Mahatma so we can get rid of Dhoni's Win Toss Field First chutiypa. India's batting is always under incredible pressure because of limp bowling. - Enough wrist slitting. It was good to see Shami and Bhuvi get few yorkers in the blockhole in slog overs. :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Hilarious!! and good points too
ThePhenomenal1 Posted January 19, 2014 Posted January 19, 2014 at least ganguly is looking to back a pacer with some decent pace and guts! ishant is the bottom of the barrell. i disagree about zak in odis like i said above but i have confidence that ganguly would pick good fast bowlers.
Pagalpanti Posted January 19, 2014 Posted January 19, 2014 Ganguly should stick to commentary. He'll always lobby for bengal players. Also no point bringing back Zak. Keep him for tests, we will be toothless without him in NZ and England.
Forever Indian Posted January 19, 2014 Posted January 19, 2014 His weight will reduce if he cuts those hairs, that's the reason he wont do it.
Trundler27 Posted January 19, 2014 Posted January 19, 2014 this guy is a thinking bowler who has some serious skill with the new ball..... Him and Shami should be given as much exposure as possible before the WC in Australia when it comes to the ODI format.... but i'm afraid that 2 good bowlers won't be enough to win the cup in those conditions. We need more bowlers to step up... i really hope Aaron gets a few games in this ongoing series and grabs the opportunity.
mancalledsting Posted January 19, 2014 Posted January 19, 2014 Minimum requirement of 3 pacers + 1 seaming all rounder/pure pacer Hence binny has been drafted into squad - don't think he has enough with either bat or ball tho Would love to see Umesh and Aaron both playing
Trundler27 Posted January 20, 2014 Posted January 20, 2014 Nohit has just had a brilliant start to his test career and so now dhobi should feel relatively comfortable in 'resting' him from the odi team for a bit? At least he will play test cricket for a few decades. Same can be said of lambu.... both these guyz are dhobi's pets and can't be removed from the side without guaranteeing them a spot in one of the formats. Dhawan is getting starts but not converting so he needs to play a worthwhile innings pretty soon to keep his form from falling into the 'dangerous' category. Raina sucks overseas and so does jaddu (as an all-rounder). Ashwin is no longer a threat with the ball. Overall this odi team largely sucks and can be expected to fail more often than not in overseas conditions. IMO the truth is that the reserves in this squad are waaaaay better than most of the playing XI
mancalledsting Posted January 20, 2014 Posted January 20, 2014 The potential benefit of early exposure at international level Remember Virat Kohli's ODI debut? In 2008, Against Sri Lanka in an ODI series in Sri Lanka where India have traditionally under performed, a 19 year old debutant made an impression at the top of the order. Nothing spectacular, but an impression. At the time, all he had achieved was an U19 WC victory and a modest IPL season with the worst team that year, RCB. http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/series/343727.html But he was the right person, athletic, good fielder, hard working, ambitious. And So he was persisted with. Further flops followed in 2009 Champions trophy/ODI series vs australia as he failed to attack spinners like afridi and Adam voges (ppl he would currently eat for breakfast). Then something changed, in the back end of 2009 he played a spectacular knock vs Sri Lanka in Eden Gardens in front of a capacity crowd whilst chasing a steep target after the early loss of Sachin and Sehwag. But still it was only one knock, it was home conditions, it was only sri Lanka. He eventually made it to WC 2011 largely on the back of some good innings on some pattas against NZ. Apart from against Bangladesh, he didn't do much in the WC with modest contributions in the QF, the semis and final. Fast track to today, the guy is a monster, a beast. Now given the void at 4 and 5 in our current batting line up, is it time we blood some wild cards with the only prerequisites being youth, ipl experience, under 19 success and huge potential (basically what Virat was when he was first selected)? In other words, should Unmukt, Baba, or Sanju be fast tracked?
cowboysfan Posted January 20, 2014 Posted January 20, 2014 a better idea would be stick with Rahane,he atleast has talent unlike Rohit and he is bound to figure odis soon.
fineleg Posted January 20, 2014 Author Posted January 20, 2014 Fast track to today, the guy is a monster, a beast. maybe zol or sanju in a few odis here and there. slowly get them in. BUT - M$D is persisting with monster and beast Ishant Sharma (and also Raina and Rohit Sharma)
rkt.india Posted January 20, 2014 Posted January 20, 2014 I wont mind LR Shukla as a seam alrounder, better than Binny for me. Akalpit
rkt.india Posted January 20, 2014 Posted January 20, 2014 Ganguly should stick to commentary. He'll always lobby for bengal players. Also no point bringing back Zak. Keep him for tests, we will be toothless without him in NZ and England. We are toothless with him too. Akalpit
gaurav92 Posted January 20, 2014 Posted January 20, 2014 Rahane should open and Nohit should make way for Rayudu if he doesn't perform in 2nd ODI.
tweaker Posted January 20, 2014 Posted January 20, 2014 The other advantage is getting records of highest century,1/2 century,runs
skindia Posted January 20, 2014 Posted January 20, 2014 Rohit eating 10 overs thats reason virat doing well at no 3