gattaca Posted February 17, 2014 Posted February 17, 2014 KARACHI: Pakistan's Hindu minority is angered by "forced conversions", with leaders of the community saying girls as young as six years were being pressured to change their religion. "Can you accept your daughters being forcibly married to Hindu men?" said Raj Kumar, whose niece Rinkle Kumari was allegedly forced to convert and marry a Muslim man in 2012. Rinkle's case made headlines and was even taken up by the Supreme Court. Speaking at a seminar at the Karachi Press Club on Sunday on the theme "Hindus in Pakistan - issues and solutions", Kumar called six-year-old Jumna on to the stage and said she and her 10-year-old sister Pooja would have been forced to change their religion if the media had not raised their case. "What do children as young as Jumna and Pooja know about Islam and their own religion, for that matter, that they'd want to convert? This is the height of injustice," Kumar was quoted as saying by the influential Dawn daily. Jumna's mother Marju and father Soma, residents of Mirpurkhas city in Sindh province, were present at the event. "We are poor people. My little girls helped supplement our income by selling clay toys and utensils door to door. On February 4, they left home as usual with their basket of toys but didn't return. We raised an alarm," Soma said. "After several reports in the media about our missing girls, it was found that they had been staying with a man named Rajab Pathan. The police of our area later produced them in court as Muslim children. We were prevented by the police from seeing them too." Soma said the court sent the girls to a Darul Aman or womens' home following suspicions they may have been subjected to child abuse at home. "Little Jumna has been given back to us now but Pooja is still at the Darul Aman. She seems to have been brainwashed into saying strange things about us. Her mind seems affected by the trauma," he said. All Hindu Rights Organisation chairman Kishan Chand Parwani, one of the organisers of the seminar, said it was sad to see the problems of Pakistan's minorities "multiplying instead of decreasing". Former lawmaker Safdar Abbasi said it was a sad reality that not just Hindu temples but mosques, imambargahs or Shia prayer halls and churches were no longer safe in Pakistan. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/world/pakistan/Pakistani-Hindus-angered-by-forced-conversions/articleshow/30572816.cms
G_B_ Posted February 17, 2014 Posted February 17, 2014 terrible.... increase numbers by hook or crook....
Malcolm Merlyn Posted February 17, 2014 Posted February 17, 2014 Pathetic and then they ask why is there Phobia againist them..
NareshK Posted February 18, 2014 Posted February 18, 2014 What's new about this ? They have been doing this since ages and to a point where once Hindus used to be in significant numbers have been reduced to a tiny minority. Pakistan is Islamic republic after all and hotbed of Islamic fundamentalism. No surprises they want to convert everyone.
Desi Cartman Posted February 18, 2014 Posted February 18, 2014 If I was living in Pakistan, I would have converted long time ago. Religion is BS anyway so why not join the popular one and make your life easy.
NareshK Posted February 18, 2014 Posted February 18, 2014 If I was living in Pakistan' date=' I would have converted long time ago. Religion is BS anyway so why not join the popular one and make your life easy.[/quote'] Religion is important to many people and its a way of life, maybe not to you. Stripping that away and converting them forcefully is stripping away their identity, self respect and their way of life.
Desi Cartman Posted February 18, 2014 Posted February 18, 2014 Religion is important to many people and its a way of life' date=' maybe not to you. Stripping that away and converting them forcefully is stripping away their identity, self respect and their way of life.[/quote'] If my choice of religion put my and my family's life in danger then I would convert, even if I was a believer. I have no interest in being a muslim but if not being one hurt my chances of a decent life everyday then its more sensible to convert. I, in no way support these forced conversions btw
Detonator Posted February 18, 2014 Posted February 18, 2014 I didn't know there are Hindus in Pakistan.
game_changerr Posted February 18, 2014 Posted February 18, 2014 I didn't know there are Hindus in Pakistan. i dont blame you as our own sikular media ignores their plights while giving daily dose on world news
Detonator Posted February 18, 2014 Posted February 18, 2014 i dont blame you as our own sikular media ignores their plights while giving daily dose on world news That's my point precisely. I bet most Indians dont kno. Our secularists might believe they can take care of themselves.
CSK Fan Posted February 18, 2014 Posted February 18, 2014 i dont blame you as our own sikular media ignores their plights while giving daily dose on world news What? Dont we have our own citizens to care for?
randomGuy Posted February 18, 2014 Posted February 18, 2014 If I was living in Pakistan' date=' I would have converted long time ago. Religion is BS anyway so why not join the popular one and make your life easy.[/quote'] bas naam hi change karna hoga i guess, like Aman becomes Amaan. Asha becomes Aysha
zumi Posted February 18, 2014 Posted February 18, 2014 If my choice of religion put my and my family's life in danger then I would convert, even if I was a believer. I have no interest in being a muslim but if not being one hurt my chances of a decent life everyday then its more sensible to convert. I, in no way support these forced conversions btw +1, if living in a intolerant society like Pakistan with no voice just because you believed in the wrong imaginary thing. If it is straight forward as just change belief to the acceptable imaginary friend, then do it. No need to follow the imaginary rules too. Silly Pakistani Hindus, always moaning about the injustice to them because they are Hindus, you live in Pakistan!!, what do you expect!
Khalpat Posted February 18, 2014 Posted February 18, 2014 If my choice of religion put my and my family's life in danger then I would convert' date=' even if I was a believer. [/quote'] Yup even Sunny Deol also agreed to convert for his family in the movie Gadar, before he saw the HandPump. We are mere mortals.
randomGuy Posted February 18, 2014 Posted February 18, 2014 Aseem became Asim:winky: Yup even Sunny Deol also agreed to convert for his family in the movie Gadar' date=' before he saw the HandPump. We are mere mortals.[/quote'] :cantstop:
Muloghonto Posted February 18, 2014 Posted February 18, 2014 There's a saying in Arabic : a Muslim man's honor is between the legs of his females(relatives is the context). That yes you ask you need to know Sent from my GT-S5830D using Tapatalk 2
rahulrulezz Posted February 18, 2014 Posted February 18, 2014 +1, if living in a intolerant society like Pakistan with no voice just because you believed in the wrong imaginary thing. If it is straight forward as just change belief to the acceptable imaginary friend, then do it. No need to follow the imaginary rules too. Silly Pakistani Hindus, always moaning about the injustice to them because they are Hindus, you live in Pakistan!!, what do you expect! So how is it their fault.. It's not as if Indian government has given free visas to all the hindus...What is the fault of any Hindus of Pakistan if their great grandparents choose to stay in Pakistan ... I agree with D_C, I would probably convert too or leave Pakistan asap if I wanted to be a Hindu .. You have to give it to Hindus in Pakistan for surviving and making a living...I have met quite a few Hindu Pakistanis and they are indeed mentally strong ...
Sajid_Rana Posted February 18, 2014 Posted February 18, 2014 Times of India suddenly becomes as authentic as wall street journal it seems.
gattaca Posted February 18, 2014 Author Posted February 18, 2014 Times of India suddenly becomes as authentic as wall street journal it seems. This news is every where.
Iconoclast Posted February 19, 2014 Posted February 19, 2014 People should have the freedom to follow whichever religion or no religion at all and governments should back this freedom. I am a Pakistani and I am an athiest. With that being said the Hindu population of Pakistan (not including Bangladesh) hasn't changed much over the years and has hovered around 2%. As per wikipedia ->http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hinduism_in_Pakistan "In 1951, Hindus constituted 22 percent of the Pakistani population and the Hindu population was concentrated in East Pakistan which later became Bangladesh, while the Hindu population in West Pakistan was less than 2%.[11][4] By 1998, the proportion of Hindus was down to around 1.7 percent."