CG Posted March 7, 2014 Posted March 7, 2014 Okay, just checked some stats : In SL -Didn't score a 100 but has 179 runs in the 2 tests he has played @ 44.75 with 2 50s. In India he has 430 runs in 7 test @ 36 which is nothing special but that's his lowest average in any one particular country. Sehwag on the other hand averages 29 in England, 20 in NZ and 25 in SA. His highs are great but lows are very ordinary. Smith is much more consistent. Sehwag was a match winner he could win u games,He had his moments in sa,eng .Nz i do not consider because last tour he threw his wickets on those docile tracks rather than anything and 2002 nz tour was on atrocious pitches.
CG Posted March 7, 2014 Posted March 7, 2014 Different kinds of players not ideally suited for comparison. For those claiming Smith got tough runs, he averages only 32 against Australia, the best team of his era. He also struggled in the SC. I would choose Sehwag because Sehwag refined the art of test match batting as an opener. We may see many more Smiths in future, but another Sehwag who averages 50 @ 82 will be very difficult to come by. True Sehwag innings against likes of warne,mcgrath in chennai when nobody else could score runs in that series is for me highlight of his greatness and The way he demolished muruli and mends when nobody would bat against them in srilanka just shows why he is a great.I respect smith for his determination and attitude but just as a batsman i would pick sehwag.
Deleted_User_1 Posted March 7, 2014 Posted March 7, 2014 Fatwag is the greatest FTB of all time. No comparison.........Smith. Sh*twag is one of most overrated players.
diga Posted March 7, 2014 Posted March 7, 2014 For subcontinent & 1st innings, it has to be sehwag rest everywhere its smith
CoverDrive Posted March 7, 2014 Posted March 7, 2014 Sehwag was legendary in setting the game up and smith in finishing it.I would say they are equal considering smith weakness against spin and sehwags Average performance in eng' date='sa.But i would take sehwag for the sheer match winning ability.[/quote'] +1 there are many like SMith - Cook, Kirsten are 2 others in the same mould but Sehwag is unique and I would personally take him over Someone like smith
MCcricket Posted March 7, 2014 Posted March 7, 2014 WE ARE COMPARING A GENIUS A PATH BREAKER TO A GRITTY LIMITED BATTER WHO CANNOT PLAY A COVER DRIVE OR 90% STROKES ON THE OFF SIDE? Sehwag is an all time g8, he has scored all across the globe, has made 4 or more 250 plus score at run a ball and that has never ever happened, he to me with Laxman, Dravid were the three best match winners in test.
Marut Posted March 7, 2014 Posted March 7, 2014 Fatwag is the greatest FTB of all time. No comparison.........Smith. Sh*twag is one of most overrated players. For Smith, the so called green tops were home after all, where has raised and played all his career. No big point in him playing comfortably at home. How does he fare in the SC - that is the main issue. And how did he fare against the best side of his era, which is Australia? We tend to overrate the achievements of foreign players more than our players, when it comes to matches outside the SC. The same yard stick are not applied to foreign players over their achievements in the SC. This is typical SC fan mentality.
pooja_sinha Posted March 7, 2014 Posted March 7, 2014 Is it just me or did actually Sri Lanka played really very well throughout Asia Cup 2014 sponsored by Cycle Pure Agarbathies? And A.D Mathews surely deserved the Man of the Match. What do you think?
vamos_rafa Posted March 7, 2014 Author Posted March 7, 2014 Is it just me or did actually Sri Lanka played really very well throughout Asia Cup 2014 sponsored by Cycle Pure Agarbathies? And A.D Mathews surely deserved the Man of the Match. What do you think? You ok?
zen Posted March 7, 2014 Posted March 7, 2014 If both are playing at the peak of their powers, the choice is easy ----> Sehwag If both are struggling, the choice is easy too ----> Smith Overall Sehwag
vamos_rafa Posted March 7, 2014 Author Posted March 7, 2014 At a personal level. I don't really attach much importance to how someone looks while batting. The most important thing is to score runs and Smith has done it as much as Sehwag has. I am not trying to demean anyone's performance in the SC, but come to think of it, if there was a batsman whom I had to rely more then it would be Smith, especially when the going got tough. Smith's lowest average in any country is 36, I don't think Sehwag boasts that kinda record anyways. So, in a way, this comparison is not apples to oranges as is being pointed out. They have had similar careers and it all boils down to personal liking. Whom would you prefer, a maverick who could turn matches on it's heads or a strong leader kinda person who stand up for the cause of the team always.
adi B Posted March 8, 2014 Posted March 8, 2014 At a personal level. I don't really attach much importance to how someone looks while batting. The most important thing is to score runs and Smith has done it as much as Sehwag has. I am not trying to demean anyone's performance in the SC, but come to think of it, if there was a batsman whom I had to rely more then it would be Smith, especially when the going got tough. Smith's lowest average in any country is 36, I don't think Sehwag boasts that kinda record anyways. So, in a way, this comparison is not apples to oranges as is being pointed out. They have had similar careers and it all boils down to personal liking. Whom would you prefer, a maverick who could turn matches on it's heads or a strong leader kinda person who stand up for the cause of the team always. i thought we were comparing them purely as a batsman
Gollum Posted March 8, 2014 Posted March 8, 2014 Sehwag on Monday,Tuesday,Wednesday,Thursday,Friday,Saturday and Sunday.
Tendulkar_Bhai Posted March 8, 2014 Posted March 8, 2014 Smith WAS a solid opener in his early years and nothing more Sehwag as mentioned gets you out of bed in the early hours and is a match winner.