:haha: .... watch out Gambo ..u gonna be gang-raped.....there r many biharis in dis forum.... :giggle:
Abey, I'm one of them. :cantstop:

One more thing i forgot about Southies; - their women grease up their long, waist-length hair with a metric f*ck-ton of olive oil - usually Dabur Amla. You can smell them from a mile away without fail.

and they also wear big exposable saari also gujaratiz too
Flexibility in history is often another term for ambiguity and a huge reason for the lack of credibility/knowledge in most of our historical studies. The only reason Indian history exists today is due to the efforts of the western historians- it is their research we owe for our knowledge of the Guptas' date=Mauryas,Cholas, etc. NOT our desi historians, who have very little credibility in the field. The problem with oral history is that the lack of documentation leads to very amiguous picture and history is often the vehicle of social studies- often you will find western social studies class debating the pros and cons of Napoleonic era social norms with FAR more precision and accuracy than Indians debating the nature of society under the Mughals. Simply because, the documentation of the west is unparalleled- and even a simple treaty signed 200 yrs ago throws remarkable light in the prevailing social norms in certain aspects of that era.
Completely wrong. Indian history has ALWAYS been oral. Now if you choose to tag it as an excuse that is a different thing altogether. Fact is that Indian history borrows a lot from Indian culture where to use an analogy - deads are cremated and not buried. India, and its history, was written much earlier by folks like Hieun Tsang and Al-Buruni before Westerners even reached India. Even the contemprory research by Western historian almost always borrows from these gents. There is some good article regarding this, specially the interaction between predominantly Buddhist India and China where folks from latter country would come to India, write about the society/culture and take it back to China. Please check out Amartya Sen's Argumentative Indian regarding this. On an aside note Indians treat history not as a matter of research but a way of life. The city where I was born at (Gaya) has a history that be traced earlier to entire Europe put together(forget USA). The other day I am talking to a colleague of mine who tells me how he visited a house over the weekend which was about 100 years old. Compare this to my ancestral house that has been holding up for twice that number of years! xxx

Gujjus - They eat gathia/dhokla continously and break wind all day. The men keep mumbling stock market prices even in their sleep. Goan Christians - Always pretend as if their ancestors came from UK/Portugal. Put on a funny accent while speaking in Hindi even though their grasp over the language is fairly decent (better than english any day!).

I find most kannadigas non-confrontational ...'adjust-maadi (karo)' types. BTW, South India is not one state. Now say after me..Karnataka, AP, TN and Kerala...
and Goa
Goan Christians - Always pretend as if their ancestors came from UK/Portugal. Put on a funny accent while speaking in Hindi even though their grasp over the language is fairly decent (better than english any day!).
Its the fenny effect :hysterical:
Gujjus - They eat gathia/dhokla continously and break wind all day. The men keep mumbling stock market prices even in their sleep. Goan Christians - Always pretend as if their ancestors came from UK/Portugal. Put on a funny accent while speaking in Hindi even though their grasp over the language is fairly decent (better than english any day!).
Kya man! Tum kaiko aise generalise marta hai man? Aaj apun god se pray karega ki tumko bheja de man.

being here in south india the only stereo typing which i've perceived has been in the education system, all the lanes in this education system of ours lead to 4 destinations 1] Engineering 2] MBA, Chartered accountant, 3] Medical 4] IT Now if you don't know what you are good at or atleast not good at any of the above things that they are asking you to be good at, you need a liittle more time than the rest to settle down [ especially when you don't have a healthy bank balance] nobody here in India understands this simple fact. i dont care about cultural stereo typing , cos' i know it's a sweeping generalization which is'nt true in the society. but stereo typical education is a "true state of affair" in the society and it bothers my social consciousness. Personally i just try and jump over this as another hurdle in life.:regular_smile:

So true! Thank jebus that I will never live in India :martini_shaken::beer-bottle:
Gopsy, Were you forced into one of the above "4"?

forced not by people, but by circumstances , the whole schooling atmosphere is so heavily oriented towards the 4 streams i mentioned earlier, you are like a horse that is blinded , which could see only one direction, you participate in someone else' race instead of finding a work that is closer to your nature. Enter graduation, now you start taking decisions, but your decisions are nothing but rational choices that go along with your wrong foundations at the school level. You stretch this wrong path, stretch it , take it to it's ultimate logical conclusion. And in my case it was total failure. i dont know about others. So now years after my graduation am starting to test waters finally seems like am finding my foot somewhere, whereas ideally schools should have been the place where you test water with the support of the society comprising teachers , friends. Now no one here in India really understands what i've gone through becos of the stereo typical attitude. Not that i want them to understand , but for any other youngsters like me who may not have an understanding parent, with a minimum financial security schools are total waste of time. Now i dont know how it is in other countries, but some alternative to this is the way forward.

- Never met a guy from Delhi who doesn't use MC/BC in every other sentence. - Most Chennai folks I know are cricket lovers, even when India doesn't boast of famous TN cricketers (Venkat, Sreekanth and Kartik in 60 years or so) - Gujjus investing in stocks - Guys from Mumbai who think Mumbai is next to NYC - Sardarjis getting offended by barabaje jokes.

forced not by people, but by circumstances , the whole schooling atmosphere is so heavily oriented towards the 4 streams i mentioned earlier, you are like a horse that is blinded , which could see only one direction, you participate in someone else' race instead of finding a work that is closer to your nature. Enter graduation, now you start taking decisions, but your decisions are nothing but rational choices that go along with your wrong foundations at the school level. You stretch this wrong path, stretch it , take it to it's ultimate logical conclusion. And in my case it was total failure. i dont know about others. So now years after my graduation am starting to test waters finally seems like am finding my foot somewhere, whereas ideally schools should have been the place where you test water with the support of the society comprising teachers , friends. Now no one here in India really understands what i've gone through becos of the stereo typical attitude. Not that i want them to understand , but for any other youngsters like me who may not have an understanding parent, with a minimum financial security schools are total waste of time. Now i dont know how it is in other countries, but some alternative to this is the way forward.
Gopsy, Yes -I remember there was another thread (probably the one about airhostess...) where this topic you mention is discussed. The mindset has to change. Though my understanding is that in today's India its a lot better than before. People are bold enough to venture and try different career options rather than the standard 4. It can still improve, but its changing, right? No?