tapandrun Posted November 10, 2024 Posted November 10, 2024 (edited) 6 hours ago, express bowling said: Saw 2 overs ftom Lance Morris and he was bowling 140 k to 144 k then. Decent accuracy but lacked a bit of zip off the deck ( considering it was a zippy deck ). Posted this previously as well even in BBL he hardly bowled anything 145+kmph, the ball rises fr him but that could just be Aus wkts. He is accurate -do not think this is any uncommon attribute for an Aus bowler, they are v.accurate regardless Do not think he is anything 150+ kmph which was claimed earlier , although he is coming back of an injury but that seems to be his range 138-145ish kmph. Or could be rhythm bowler who once in rhythm can bowl few 150 kmph, him and Ali (pak intnl) are kind of same in approach not v.quick run-up but all the effort comes-up at end, v.similar to Tait but he was putting all in and had v.quick arm speed plus he was v.tall Johnson is not bowling that fast what he was bowling 1st season of BBL, he is also peaking at 143 kmph at best Edited November 10, 2024 by tapandrun express bowling 1
tapandrun Posted November 11, 2024 Posted November 11, 2024 10 hours ago, express bowling said: Naseem was bowling 132 k to 136 k in the mid overs. ( did not see his opening spell ) Hasnain was in the 130s too. Naseem-Not nearly as quick as they were before injury and Hasnain's action change has reduced his pace alot. For Naseem not just pace the bounce he use to get for not so tall bowler is also lost, do not think he will be able to find any purchase on no so helpful pitches
tapandrun Posted November 11, 2024 Posted November 11, 2024 Considering this is 1-off game from A.Singh , but do not see any Merritt with picking Avesh his eco. is 9.0 when he only plays 2nd string opponents mostly not a fast mover in the field and do not think he can contribute with bat express bowling 1
Lone Wolf Posted November 11, 2024 Posted November 11, 2024 Umran's recovery may take a while. Set to miss SMAT as well express bowling and Mosher 2
MK55 Posted November 11, 2024 Posted November 11, 2024 4 hours ago, Lone Wolf said: Umran's recovery may take a while. Set to miss SMAT as well We r cursed when it comes to express bowlers. Need to consult some exorcist lol. But from his insta, he does seem to have resumed training. All depends on the timing. Need4Speed and Lone Wolf 1 1
Need4Speed Posted November 11, 2024 Posted November 11, 2024 (edited) abey yaar... Unless we have good set of pace and bounce bowlers..we shoudlnt think we can create 2/3 teams.. Coetzee smashing Avesh and Arsh.. Kamboj and Co getting smashed by Afghan A.. if we just want trundlers..we can make 5 teams.. but those wont be a quality teams..that can trouble opposition batters.. Edited November 11, 2024 by Need4Speed tapandrun 1
Lone Wolf Posted November 11, 2024 Posted November 11, 2024 Nahid Rana impressive ODI Debut in Sharjah vs Afg so far... Bowling genuine pace with accuracy Need4Speed 1
Need4Speed Posted November 11, 2024 Posted November 11, 2024 Seeing Gerald Coetzee,Lockie F,Nahid Rana these last few matches..they are bowling accurately 140ks and getting bounce.. so express pace is not needed,,if you bowl accurately with intent and bounce..just good pace works..I believe Harshit can do the same if he is groomed..plus batting potential.. wtf TM\BCCI is doing..and not grooming him..he is still warming the benches.. tapandrun 1
Need4Speed Posted November 11, 2024 Posted November 11, 2024 1 hour ago, Lone Wolf said: Nahid Rana impressive ODI Debut in Sharjah vs Afg so far... Bowling genuine pace with accuracy he asked same for Mayank Yadav..BCCI sent him to NCA..and they did what they do best..recurrence of injuries..
singhvivek141 Posted November 12, 2024 Posted November 12, 2024 7 hours ago, Need4Speed said: Seeing Gerald Coetzee,Lockie F,Nahid Rana these last few matches..they are bowling accurately 140ks and getting bounce.. so express pace is not needed,,if you bowl accurately with intent and bounce..just good pace works..I believe Harshit can do the same if he is groomed..plus batting potential.. wtf TM\BCCI is doing..and not grooming him..he is still warming the benches.. Express Pace isnt a mandate, but it gives you an edge. McGrath, Gillespie, Kasprowicz were all good pace bowlers..but Lee gave them an Xtra factor. Specially vs tailenders, pure raw pace can come handy if it's directed to stumps. We have faced many times the problem with tailenders in Tests, because they are too bad to get out edging to the keeper. A fast yorker at 145-150k hitting at the blockhole and crashing to stumps, or hitting at the boots.
Suhaan Posted November 12, 2024 Posted November 12, 2024 (edited) 10 hours ago, Need4Speed said: Seeing Gerald Coetzee,Lockie F,Nahid Rana these last few matches..they are bowling accurately 140ks and getting bounce.. so express pace is not needed,,if you bowl accurately with intent and bounce..just good pace works..I believe Harshit can do the same if he is groomed..plus batting potential.. wtf TM\BCCI is doing..and not grooming him..he is still warming the benches.. Scientist Gambhir had all the time from June but deliberately sidelined him Time is precious,we waste too much time on wrong guys, another big reason we underachieve which no one looks at "Time wastage" Edited November 12, 2024 by Suhaan Need4Speed, rollingstoned and tapandrun 3
express bowling Posted November 12, 2024 Author Posted November 12, 2024 (edited) This channel ball steep bounce at 140 k+ from Harshit can be really helpful in Australia. He is a very objective bowler when in rhythm and we see a sequence of systematic deliveries like below. Edited November 12, 2024 by express bowling Suhaan and Need4Speed 1 1
Adamant Posted November 12, 2024 Posted November 12, 2024 4 hours ago, singhvivek141 said: Express Pace isnt a mandate, but it gives you an edge. McGrath, Gillespie, Kasprowicz were all good pace bowlers..but Lee gave them an Xtra factor. Specially vs tailenders, pure raw pace can come handy if it's directed to stumps. We have faced many times the problem with tailenders in Tests, because they are too bad to get out edging to the keeper. A fast yorker at 145-150k hitting at the blockhole and crashing to stumps, or hitting at the boots. The only x factor Lee gave was his average of 32 with the ball and getting pasted all around allowing opposition to release all pressure built by Mcgrath and Gillespie.
singhvivek141 Posted November 12, 2024 Posted November 12, 2024 1 hour ago, Adamant said: The only x factor Lee gave was his average of 32 with the ball and getting pasted all around allowing opposition to release all pressure built by Mcgrath and Gillespie. Brett Lee avg 23 in ODI. He was avg in Tests, but still scores 28 on his home pitches. He was superb in one format and avg in other...dont think he is as bad as you are calling out.
Suhaan Posted November 12, 2024 Posted November 12, 2024 6 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said: Brett Lee avg 23 in ODI. He was avg in Tests, but still scores 28 on his home pitches. He was superb in one format and avg in other...dont think he is as bad as you are calling out. He was good with McGrath Warne,Gillespie/kasprovics even in tests,as an enforcer he was good Enforcers aren't meant for low averages in red ball especially,they will go for runs eventually while trying to unsettle batsmen After their retirement,he couldn't lead the attack,which was anyway wasn't his role singhvivek141 and express bowling 2
rkt.india Posted November 12, 2024 Posted November 12, 2024 1 hour ago, Adamant said: The only x factor Lee gave was his average of 32 with the ball and getting pasted all around allowing opposition to release all pressure built by Mcgrath and Gillespie. Lee's test average is 30.8, not 32 and that's because of high economy rate of 3.46. He would go for runs but he was an enforcer, an attacking bowler. His SR of 53.4 and 4+ wickets per test show that he was a wicket taker. He played his role and attacking bowlers do tend to go for runs. Any bowler with 4 wickets per test is as good as anything. Among Indian pacers, only bumrah has 4 wickets per test. Strike rate of Curtly Ambrose is 54, Walsh 57, Gillespie 54.9. So Lee is in a very good league as a test bowler. tweaker and tapandrun 2
singhvivek141 Posted November 12, 2024 Posted November 12, 2024 1 hour ago, Suhaan said: He was good with McGrath Warne,Gillespie/kasprovics even in tests,as an enforcer he was good Enforcers aren't meant for low averages in red ball especially,they will go for runs eventually while trying to unsettle batsmen After their retirement,he couldn't lead the attack,which was anyway wasn't his role Bhai itna samajh me nahi aaega usko. They are just stat readers, ignoring the other variables that needs to be considered.
Need4Speed Posted November 12, 2024 Posted November 12, 2024 12 hours ago, singhvivek141 said: Express Pace isnt a mandate, but it gives you an edge. McGrath, Gillespie, Kasprowicz were all good pace bowlers..but Lee gave them an Xtra factor. Specially vs tailenders, pure raw pace can come handy if it's directed to stumps. We have faced many times the problem with tailenders in Tests, because they are too bad to get out edging to the keeper. A fast yorker at 145-150k hitting at the blockhole and crashing to stumps, or hitting at the boots. yes but my point was..we can still make a difference..if you have decent pace and bounce with height..express pacers we have usually will be prone to injuries..but if we can groom Harshit..he can still give us an edge and batting potential at #8 too singhvivek141 1
singhvivek141 Posted November 12, 2024 Posted November 12, 2024 29 minutes ago, Need4Speed said: yes but my point was..we can still make a difference..if you have decent pace and bounce with height..express pacers we have usually will be prone to injuries..but if we can groom Harshit..he can still give us an edge and batting potential at #8 too Haan agree, Agar express pacer mil gya, to its an added advantage. Even if we don't get, a 138-148k pacer too will serve in most of the conditions. If a pacer is in 130-140 range or lower, he must have a strong secondary skill to compensate for lack of pace. Need4Speed 1
Need4Speed Posted November 12, 2024 Posted November 12, 2024 59 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said: Haan agree, Agar express pacer mil gya, to its an added advantage. Even if we don't get, a 138-148k pacer too will serve in most of the conditions. If a pacer is in 130-140 range or lower, he must have a strong secondary skill to compensate for lack of pace. In an ideal world..imagine this bowling attack in white ball. Pandya\Axar\Sundar\Parag -5th..6th..bowling options.. 8-Harshit 9-Boom 10-Mayank\Umran(if accurate) 11-Chakravarthy in current form or could be any other good attacking spinner too