jalebi_bhai Posted October 1, 2014 Posted October 1, 2014 Who do you guys think has been our greatest left-handed batsman in LOI? Again.....the criteria is solely batting....... 1. Sourav Ganguly: Has a very healthy average for someone who opened the batting for most of his career. 4th highest century maker in ODIs. 2. Yuvraj Singh: Was our premier match winner from 2006-2011. The main catalyst in our victorious 2007 T20 WC campaign. 3. Gautam Gambhir: Very solid top order player from 2006-2011. Another key contributor to our 2007 and 2011 WC wins. 4. Suresh Raina: Currently our best left-handed batsman. Team India main stay since 2009. Solid contributor. Frankly......these are the only 4 serious candidates I can think of.......Indian cricket has had a serious dearth in terms of quality left-handed batsman....... My personal vote goes to Yuvraj......
Desi Cartman Posted October 1, 2014 Posted October 1, 2014 No Robin Singh, Jadeja or Shrikanth :woot: IMO the best one was Kambli but he couldnt improve/last so I guess it has to be Dada.
Debutant Posted October 1, 2014 Posted October 1, 2014 Tough to chose between Dada and Yuvi. I voted for Yuvi simply because he has won us 2 world cups.
GautiMaan Posted October 1, 2014 Posted October 1, 2014 No Robin Singh' date=' Jadeja or[b'] Shrikanth :woot: IMO the best one was Kambli but he couldnt improve/last so I guess it has to be Dada. :hmmm:
Raghav_12 Posted October 1, 2014 Posted October 1, 2014 Between Ganguly and Yuvi. Gambhir can also be there for winning us WC final in 2011 but he drifted away after that.
SLICKR392 Posted October 1, 2014 Posted October 1, 2014 Between Ganguly and Yuvi. Gambhir can also be there for winning us WC final in 2011 but he drifted away after that. Thank you. Gambo deserves a massive chunk of credit for the 2 knocks in the finals.
jalebi_bhai Posted October 1, 2014 Author Posted October 1, 2014 It really is shocking that we haven't been able to produce more than 10 world class left-handed batsman in around four decades of LOI cricket...... Who are the most promising southpaws for the future? Vijay Zol, Akshar Patel......don't know beyond those two......
Guest PrancingHorse Posted October 1, 2014 Posted October 1, 2014 Ganguly is the best so far. Yuvi and Gambhir not far behind, both of them have contributed in winning us both WCs. Raina is still a notch behind these three.
kira Posted October 1, 2014 Posted October 1, 2014 Ganguly Yuvraj Raina Gambhir ahead of Raina, he played a match winning knock in WC final whose credit was stolen by captain kewl :giggle:
Gollum Posted October 1, 2014 Posted October 1, 2014 Ganguly, he played some great knocks against top bowling attacks. Remaining 3 are FTBs.
sticky wicket Posted October 1, 2014 Posted October 1, 2014 Gambhir, for large part thanks to 2011 final, but when on song loved watching his combative attitude and gave 110% for India, especially vs Pakistan:cantstop:, versus Pakistan he would go into this psycho mode
Lord Posted October 1, 2014 Posted October 1, 2014 Thank you. Gambo deserves a massive chunk of credit for the 2 knocks in the finals. Hes right up there for sure. Being no. 3 is not bad :P