Precambrian Posted November 16, 2014 Posted November 16, 2014 He could not because he was looking to score his double by picking singles. If he had tried to hit boundaries' date=' he might have had more strike. It was opposite to last ODI where set batsman was hitting boundaries and new batsman gave him strike. In SRT's case, it was just opposite. I am not saying it was wrong. Who would not have wanted a double in ODIs that too first ever.[/quote'] Arre yaar.. He was tired already And he saw Dhoni was going guns at the other end. It made logical sense to give more strike to the better contributor at the time. And that's exactly what he did. As I said before, if he just wanted to get to 200, why should he take such a risk and delay it till the 50th over? He contributed as much he could by 43rd over, played one of the best ever ODI innings, and then gave Dhoni most of the strike, by selflessly giving Dhoni most of the strike. That is why he faced just 13 out of last 42 balls India faced. Just like what Uthappa did in the last match. Now are we all calling Uthappa selfish as well?
rkt.india Posted November 16, 2014 Posted November 16, 2014 Arre yaar.. He was tired already And he saw Dhoni was going guns at the other end. It made logical sense to give more strike to the better contributor at the time. And that's exactly what he did. As I said before, if he just wanted to get to 200, why should he take such a risk and delay it till the 50th over? He contributed as much he could by 43rd over, played one of the best ever ODI innings, and then gave Dhoni most of the strike, by selflessly giving Dhoni most of the strike. That is why he faced just 13 out of last 42 balls India faced. Just like what Uthappa did in the last match. Now are we all calling Uthappa selfish as well? What's easy when tired, running or hitting? I think he was playing and hitting really well but suddenly gone defensive. He was defending good length delivery in 48th over. This was a great inning, no doubt about that, but Rohit's 209 was the most entertaining especially once he crossed 100, it was 6s galore. Merciless but buttery. Bowlers' expressions were saying everything. You dont see that with Aussie bowlers.
Precambrian Posted November 16, 2014 Posted November 16, 2014 What's easy when tired' date=' running or hitting? I think he was playing and hitting really well but suddenly gone defensive. He was defending good length delivery in 48th over. This was a great inning, no doubt about that, but Rohit's 209 was the most entertaining especially once he crossed 100, it was 6s galore. Merciless but buttery. Bowlers' expressions were saying everything. You dont see that with Aussie bowlers.[/quote'] Easy - it's taking rest at non striker's end. Sachin ran just few singles. Dhoni was producing 4s and 6s and all Sachin had to do was turn strike. Rohit's contained more entertainment but that was also against a pathetic bowling line up and he was dropped like 3 or 4 times yaar.
adi B Posted November 16, 2014 Posted November 16, 2014 fact is sachin did slow down at the end to get to his 200 but with the expectations around(being the 1st guy),it was understandable
Trichromatic Posted November 16, 2014 Posted November 16, 2014 Everyone wanted to see him scoring 200 at that time and no one bothered how it came.
gaurav92 Posted November 16, 2014 Posted November 16, 2014 Everyone wanted to see him scoring 200 at that time and no one bothered how it came. Exactly. And it wasn't like Dhoni was not hitting, the very fact that Dhoni was going nuts made it even more easy for him to score the first ever double.
Crookbond Posted November 16, 2014 Posted November 16, 2014 I don't know why people want to ignore some pretty straightforward facts when it comes to Tendulkar and argue to put him up on a pedestal. Tendulkar was not tired, he just wanted to give Dhoni the strike because Dhoni was hitting the ball well. In this case, Tendulkar's pursuit of a 200 was not in conflict of the team's goal. Tendulkar also mentioned that in his press conference Tendulkar: ": I don't know how to react to this.I would like to dedicate this to the people of India who have always stood behind me for these 20 years amid the ups and downs. I was striking the ball and timing the ball well, it was coming on to the bat nicely. Yusuf came and changed the momentum and MS really struck the ball well; it was due to their big hitting that we were able to put up such a big score. It was only when I got closer to the score that I realised that I had an opportunity and I could take the singles to give MS the strike. I'm enjoying my cricket. I've always played the way I felt was the right way to play, always done what I felt was good for the team. There have been times when I've made some bad decisions as a batsman, but as long as in my heart I know that whatever I'm doing for the team at that moment, I'm going to go ahead with that. It feels good that I lasted for 50 overs, a good test of my fitness. I'd like to bat another 50 overs at some stage and see that the fitness level doesn't drop." Tendulkar's to Aakash Chopra on 200 "I wasn't tired at the end. I could have gone on for more overs comfortably," Tendulkar wrote at the end of the text. Batting anything over 30 overs in an ODI is physically challenging. That Tendulkar still had gas in the tank for more tells us how fit he is physically and mentally.
velu Posted November 16, 2014 Posted November 16, 2014 Last 50 balls. Sehwag 87. Tendulkar 90. Sharma 112. Sharma 118. Sehwag the slowest! :omg: 87 from 50 is slightly better than 14 from 13 balls :--D
velu Posted November 16, 2014 Posted November 16, 2014 looks like Precambrian is our new MTC :phehehe:
Crookbond Posted November 16, 2014 Posted November 16, 2014 ^I don't understand why people ignore 25 years of platinum standard sportsmanship and try to bring him down based on 10-20 balls. On a related matter so what if people want to ignore 'these facts' - nobodys business really - now if you want to question the impact that 'these facts' had on the team or the sport in general then that's a serious axe to grind. Did you read what I said? There was no problem in Tendulkar pursuing his 200 by giving MS Dhoni the strike because it did NOT conflict with the team's goal. MS Dhoni was hitting the ball well. No one is bringing down Tendulkar here but only pointing out that he did care about the 200. In this game, it was absolutely fine. People here are pointing out that Tendulkar was "tired" when logic (taking singles is more tiring) and Tendulkar's own admission shows otherwise. Soon, I will see a goal post shift which is standard template of arguments when the vision is jaundiced.
rkt.india Posted November 16, 2014 Posted November 16, 2014 Easy - it's taking rest at non striker's end. Sachin ran just few singles. Dhoni was producing 4s and 6s and all Sachin had to do was turn strike. Rohit's contained more entertainment but that was also against a pathetic bowling line up and he was dropped like 3 or 4 times yaar. Drop happens due to the pressure you put onto the bowlers and fielders though I don't remember many drops in that game and Aussie bowling attack wasn't crap by any means. All of their pacers can easily make it to our team.
rkt.india Posted November 16, 2014 Posted November 16, 2014 Did you read what I said? There was no problem in Tendulkar pursuing his 200 by giving MS Dhoni the strike because it did NOT conflict with the team's goal. MS Dhoni was hitting the ball well. No one is bringing down Tendulkar here but only pointing out that he did care about the 200. In this game, it was absolutely fine. People here are pointing out that Tendulkar was "tired" when logic (taking singles is more tiring) and Tendulkar's own admission shows otherwise. Soon, I will see a goal post shift which is standard template of arguments when the vision is jaundiced. Agree. No one questioning his 200. It was a great inning against a good pace attack.
Precambrian Posted November 16, 2014 Posted November 16, 2014 Drop happens due to the pressure you put onto the bowlers and fielders though I don't remember many drops in that game and Aussie bowling attack wasn't crap by any means. All of their pacers can easily make it to our team. :facepalm: let's stop here. I don't know what pressure Rohit had created when he was dropped by Thisara on 4(12). :haha:
Lord Posted November 16, 2014 Posted November 16, 2014 Drop happens due to the pressure you put onto the bowlers and fielders though I don't remember many drops in that game and Aussie bowling attack wasn't crap by any means. All of their pacers can easily make it to our team. Their attack was NCN,McKay,Faulkner,Watto.decent but not great
rkt.india Posted November 16, 2014 Posted November 16, 2014 Their attack was NCN' date='McKay,Faulkner,Watto.decent but not great[/quote'] They are their frontline bowlers even against SA and will make most international teams.
Lord Posted November 16, 2014 Posted November 16, 2014 They are their frontline bowlers even against SA and will make most international teams. only NCN and Watto are there.NCN isnt a certainty even in Aus lineup and Watto is there due to his batting
rkt.india Posted November 16, 2014 Posted November 16, 2014 :facepalm: let's stop here. I don't know what pressure Rohit had created when he was dropped by Thisara on 4(12). :haha: So was it the first drop ever? How does it matter whether there was a drop or not. You will still have to score those runs. 264 in 170 balls is not a joke even if you had a drop. Viru's 300 had dozen drops, so, does it make a bad inning. Drops are part of the game. Cricket is all about chance. Such chances usually change the game. I was talking about catch drop against Aussies in later stages of that innings due to pressure, not last ODI's innings.
rkt.india Posted November 16, 2014 Posted November 16, 2014 only NCN and Watto are there.NCN isnt a certainty even in Aus lineup and Watto is there due to his batting Faulkner was also regular, not there just because they are trying hazelwood.
Lord Posted November 16, 2014 Posted November 16, 2014 Faulkner was also regular' date=' not there just because they are trying hazelwood.[/quote'] yeah but he too is there as an allrounder.On pure bowling they are decent at best