Desi Cartman Posted December 1, 2014 Posted December 1, 2014 World class cities or even reasonably well run cities have development plans for the next 20-30 years, which has estimates of population growth and it proactively makes plans and builds infrastructure to support it. In India things are reactive, our national capital dilli still doesnt have 24hr water supply. Forget everything else, there is no 24 hr water supply in South Delhi. As for traffic, I am with other posters who partially blame the citizens, I remember in the 90s BJP started issuing tickets for crossing the stop line at signals. 1000s of people paid fines, they also started demolishing illegal construction, 1000s of properties were destroyed including the illelgal extension of shops so what happened next ? Kangress was voted into power. People want the things to change as long as it doesnt mean that they also need to follow the rules.
BeautifulGame Posted December 2, 2014 Posted December 2, 2014 Do house owners take 10 months advance anywhere else in the world except bangalore? They do that even in small towns in TN let alone Chennai .Its like a unwritten rule
BeautifulGame Posted December 2, 2014 Posted December 2, 2014 when did this happen? you do know that Pawar-Bindra-Srini axis overthrew Dalmiya faction right? The differences between Pawar and Srini arose because Srini started to monopolise his position rather than step aside after his time in power was done. Pawar is not even a Mumbaikar. Just happens to have a Mumbai address. I would take Srini over his anyday. But lets not go about throwing statements like MCA marginalized TNCA. Chennai has been hosting some key games for India in all formats of cricket over the last 15 years. The spat between Pawar and Srini started when Srini and Co blacklisted DY Patil stadium apparently for hosting England for some unauthorized practice. Pawar saw it as a power play on his turf. Mumbai hosted 1987 Semi Final 2006 CT final 2011 WC final Even Mohali got semi final in 96 and again in 2001 .Also the semi final in 2006 CT Chennai so far got one Qf in 96. We have hosted 3 world cups and 1 CT and South India got 2 Knock out matches all these combined and both in 96 When Pawar was president of BCCi during 2006 CT all matches were played in Mumbai , Mohali (Bindra) ,Jaipur (L Modi) and Ahmedabad. Chepauk hardly hosted any important limited overs match until the IPL started rolling in
G_B_ Posted December 2, 2014 Posted December 2, 2014 Mumbai hosted 1987 Semi Final 2006 CT final 2011 WC final Even Mohali got semi final in 96 and again in 2001 .Also the semi final in 2006 CT Chennai so far got one Qf in 96. We have hosted 3 world cups and 1 CT and South India got 2 Knock out matches all these combined and both in 96 When Pawar was president of BCCi during 2006 CT all matches were played in Mumbai , Mohali (Bindra) ,Jaipur (L Modi) and Ahmedabad. Chepauk hardly hosted any important limited overs match until the IPL started rolling in but u have been more than compensated with test matches. maybe thats what srini wanted? secondly the city of mumbai has a metropolitan area of 23 million compared to 9 mill for chennai. u cant expect distribution in a 1:1 ratio.
Detonator Posted December 2, 2014 Posted December 2, 2014 about car population, Delhi and Bangalore have the most number of cars. http://firstbiz.firstpost.com/data/these-five-cities-have-the-most-vehicles-in-india-mumbai-isnt-one-of-them-79564.html Look who showed up on the list. Coimbatore has 13 lakh cars and the total population is 21 lakhs :ohmy: Also coimbatore has the most number of luxury cars from what I have seen. Indore has also similar car population and total population. Also note that Delhi has 7 lakh cars with 11 lakh population.
panesarv Posted December 2, 2014 Posted December 2, 2014 Rent situation is horrible in the silicon valley as well
Kalia_Test Posted December 2, 2014 Posted December 2, 2014 about car population, Delhi and Bangalore have the most number of cars. http://firstbiz.firstpost.com/data/these-five-cities-have-the-most-vehicles-in-india-mumbai-isnt-one-of-them-79564.html Look who showed up on the list. Coimbatore has 13 lakh cars and the total population is 21 lakhs :ohmy: Also coimbatore has the most number of luxury cars from what I have seen. Indore has also similar car population and total population. Also note that Delhi has 7 lakh cars with 11 lakh population. Firstly, I think the bolded part is a typo. Delhi population will be more like 110 lakh ( 1.1 crore or 11 million ) Secondly, there seems to be something wrong in this data. It looks like number of vehicles ( including two-wheelers ). The article mentions vehicles at most places except once where car is used. There is no way Delhi can have 7.35 million cars in a population of 11 million. If we take an average of 4 people per household, it means 11/4 = 2.75 million households...meaning 7.35/2.75 = 2.67 cars per household. A more relevant statistic is cars per 1000 population ( India is not yet in a state of cars per household or even cars per 100 population :(( ) Chandigarh is top with 82 per thousand and Delhi is second with 54 per thousand. 1 Chandigarh Chandigarh 82 2 Delhi Delhi 54 3 Panaji Goa 48 4 Chennai Tamil Nadu 43 5 Alappuzha Kerala 43 6 Shimla Himachal Pradesh 40 7 Vadodara Gujarat 40 8 Cherthala Kerala 37 9 Coimbatore Tamil Nadu 35 10 Thiruvananthapuram Kerala 32
Old guy Posted December 2, 2014 Posted December 2, 2014 about car population, Delhi and Bangalore have the most number of cars. http://firstbiz.firstpost.com/data/these-five-cities-have-the-most-vehicles-in-india-mumbai-isnt-one-of-them-79564.html Look who showed up on the list. Coimbatore has 13 lakh cars and the total population is 21 lakhs :ohmy: Also coimbatore has the most number of luxury cars from what I have seen. Indore has also similar car population and total population. Also note that Delhi has 7 lakh cars with 11 lakh population. You live there no ? Rich guy :finger:
Lord Posted December 2, 2014 Posted December 2, 2014 You live there no ? Rich guy :finger: now he'll say his brother gifted cars to him:giggle:
Detonator Posted December 2, 2014 Posted December 2, 2014 Firstly, I think the bolded part is a typo. Delhi population will be more like 110 lakh ( 1.1 crore or 11 million ) Secondly, there seems to be something wrong in this data. It looks like number of vehicles ( including two-wheelers ). The article mentions vehicles at most places except once where car is used. There is no way Delhi can have 7.35 million cars in a population of 11 million. If we take an average of 4 people per household, it means 11/4 = 2.75 million households...meaning 7.35/2.75 = 2.67 cars per household. A more relevant statistic is cars per 1000 population ( India is not yet in a state of cars per household or even cars per 100 population :(( ) Chandigarh is top with 82 per thousand and Delhi is second with 54 per thousand. 1 Chandigarh Chandigarh 82 2 Delhi Delhi 54 3 Panaji Goa 48 4 Chennai Tamil Nadu 43 5 Alappuzha Kerala 43 6 Shimla Himachal Pradesh 40 7 Vadodara Gujarat 40 8 Cherthala Kerala 37 9 Coimbatore Tamil Nadu 35 10 Thiruvananthapuram Kerala 32 That's not a typo sir, but a brain fart from me. I was thinking Delhi has 11L peeps till now Your stat is more relevant, so I agree. TFS :two_thumbs_up:
Detonator Posted December 2, 2014 Posted December 2, 2014 You live there no ? Rich guy :finger: :beee: now he'll say his brother gifted cars to him:giggle: I have only a cycle. :((
Old guy Posted December 2, 2014 Posted December 2, 2014 :beee: I have only a cycle. :(( was it not like 50 k cycle
AmreekanDesi Posted December 5, 2014 Posted December 5, 2014 We're a dirty country, we're dirty people. We refuse to improve. Nothing will change. As Indians, we are an absolute disgrace. What a selfish bunch of sh*twits we are. bro move north to Delhi. Or even better, Gurgaon. Thats where its at. Lovely gardens and clean air. Top class metro. Educated and generally nice people. You can live as a human
AmreekanDesi Posted December 5, 2014 Posted December 5, 2014 I always feel the problem with Mumbai is jaw dropping income nequality. some neighborhoods are so rich you might as well be in some posh area in Connecticut. but then there are slums with ppl in worse conditions than in the poorest areas of africa
vvvslaxman Posted December 5, 2014 Posted December 5, 2014 One can justify car population in Delhi somewhat. But cities like Bangalore, Mumbai, Chennai cry for a top notch transportation system. If you look at the design of chennai one can understand how difficult it is to go from A to B. With huge surge of 4 wheelers this only made things worse. In California bay area they had the same issue. Usually Carpool lane would be empty. I read an interesting article on Vox which said Having more lanes more roads will result in more vehicles.
randomGuy Posted December 5, 2014 Posted December 5, 2014 bro move north to Delhi. Or even better' date=' Gurgaon. Thats where its at. Lovely gardens and [b']clean air. Top class metro. Educated and generally nice people. You can live as a human the clean air is only in those lovely gardens. air quality is among the worst here.
BlackMamba Posted December 5, 2014 Posted December 5, 2014 I always feel the problem with Mumbai is jaw dropping income nequality. some neighborhoods are so rich you might as well be in some posh area in Connecticut. but then there are slums with ppl in worse conditions than in the poorest areas of africa bro move north to Delhi. Or even better' date=' Gurgaon. Thats where its at. Lovely gardens and clean air. Top class metro. Educated and generally nice people. You can live as a human[/quote'] Wait, Delhi? Clean? Air ? You might be right, if you are referring to this Delhi https://www.google.co.in/maps/place/Delhi,+CA,+USA/@37.4339725,-120.767845,14z/data=!3m1!4b1!4m2!3m1!1s0x80910e84ec5f6b79:0xa54968157e8a81a8?hl=en FYI: WRT - New Delhi in India there was a news clipping in India how the pollution level is beyond Very Dangerous Level !
Crookbond Posted December 5, 2014 Posted December 5, 2014 Delhi is one of the most polluted cities in the world, not just India - FYI. Delhi most polluted city in the world : WHO Pollution in Delhi Four Times Higher Than Normal New Delhi, the World’s Most Polluted City, Is Even More Polluted Than We Realized India court slams Delhi's worsening air pollution
vvvslaxman Posted December 6, 2014 Posted December 6, 2014 I have a question for Delhiites. Compaerd to Delhi in 1990s how is it now? Has it gone through sea change?
randomGuy Posted December 6, 2014 Posted December 6, 2014 I have a question for Delhiites. Compaerd to Delhi in 1990s how is it now? Has it gone through sea change? Yes, it has. Best change is in transport system. Metro train, broad roads, more buses, cabs etc means it is far easier and quicker to go from 1 corner to another. I would say the transport system is world class. Its great that many more cities will have metro trains in future. The city has expanded with NCR region's development and connectivity. Most areas have 24X7 elec. I guess. Water is fine in many areas (I dont use purifier, water is clean for drinking) but in many areas, purifier is needed - so thats bad. I guess one great part is the diversity - you have people from all parts of India which is great. This was in the 90s too, and so were the parks, playgrounds etc. But they are better maintained now. Weather+pollution is the worst part. Weather from April till September is crap.