mishra Posted January 2, 2015 Posted January 2, 2015 Misjeee long time no see :woot: :two_thumbs_up: DDLJ. Been busy
dial_100 Posted January 3, 2015 Posted January 3, 2015 Brilliant movie. Contrary to what fringe morons believe' date=' this is a truw hindu movie, and celebrates the ability of its to introspective and correct itself. I'd rather be offended of I were minority that this movie sort of insultingly ignores issues in other religions.[/quote'] Thank you for saying this !!!! The only reason why i have given up on that literal hinduism is because of all this nautanki. There is no stamp on anybody that they are hindu or muslim. In my honest opinion, hinduism should learn and evolve from every criticism or else it will fade away. Eventually, all of them will. well, having said all this, i must say that bollywood definitely has an agenda. I observe very minutely on how subtly they indulge into demeaning hinduism. But I call it a cheap move because it doesn't deserve more than a minute worth of attention. At times it sounds disgusting but again thats what those people are. But we should learn to enjoy movie as an entertainment. If there is an opportunity to learn from a criticism then why not. Man is made to evolve and not get stuck by a book or a rituals.
rkt.india Posted January 3, 2015 Posted January 3, 2015 Very good movie actually with regards the message it delivers. Lot of other things can be argued about though.
hhunaeh Posted January 3, 2015 Posted January 3, 2015 The movie didn't say anything new. Message wise it was very light and played it safe. It repeated a few truths which most people know. The romance bit was badly done and was unnecessary. I felt oh my god was a better movie though it didn't look as polished as PK.
randomGuy Posted January 3, 2015 Posted January 3, 2015 The movie didn't say anything new. Message wise it was very light and played it safe. It repeated a few truths which most people know. The romance bit was badly done and was unnecessary. I felt oh my god was a better movie though it didn't look as polished as PK. My views too. Songs wise though - both movies are nice. I liked Mere Nishan song by Kailash Kher frm OMG.
hhunaeh Posted January 3, 2015 Posted January 3, 2015 My views too. Songs wise though - both movies are nice. I liked Mere Nishan song by Kailash Kher frm OMG. They should have made the movie with just aamir khan, sanjay dutt , the thief and the swamiji. Anushkha and her lips could have played a female alien instead of ranbir kapoor.
Sidhoni Posted January 3, 2015 Posted January 3, 2015 They give him a special thanks before movie starts.
Precambrian Posted January 3, 2015 Posted January 3, 2015 They should have made the movie with just aamir khan' date=' sanjay dutt , the thief and the swamiji. Anushkha and her lips could have played a female alien instead of ranbir kapoor.[/quote'] Heh V true. Unnecessarily killed off sanjay dutt for easy melodrama.
Precambrian Posted January 3, 2015 Posted January 3, 2015 Thank you for saying this !!!! The only reason why i have given up on that literal hinduism is because of all this nautanki. There is no stamp on anybody that they are hindu or muslim. In my honest opinion, hinduism should learn and evolve from every criticism or else it will fade away. Eventually, all of them will. well, having said all this, i must say that bollywood definitely has an agenda. I observe very minutely on how subtly they indulge into demeaning hinduism. But I call it a cheap move because it doesn't deserve more than a minute worth of attention. At times it sounds disgusting but again thats what those people are. But we should learn to enjoy movie as an entertainment. If there is an opportunity to learn from a criticism then why not. Man is made to evolve and not get stuck by a book or a rituals. Hinduism will survive and prosper because it's not a bookish religion, heck it was made a religion by the British who just couldn't understand it and desperately wanted to bracket it under something they understood.
Tiger80 Posted January 3, 2015 Posted January 3, 2015 Ok' date=' from bollywood movie history , christians were the one depicted as ones with loose morals. Drinking alcohol, dating, multiple partners were the stereotypes used by bollywood writers. It was all fine with no writs, PIL, or protests. Hence , Bobby and Julie were not pathbreaking in 70s IMO. Any mixing of Hindus and Muslims was out of limits until Bombay where Aam junta from Hindu and Muslim community was shown romancing . Rich are less conservative and beyond religion even socially in India. So a romance story between rich Hindus and poor christians was not something revolutionary. MeA or MkS, were rare. I still agree with Tiger80 that a movie like PK couldn't have been made in the 70s.[/quote'] +1 And this is what happeed when inter religious love stories with muslims were shown Gadar over Gadar Religious protests against period film Gadar put free speech on the boil Read more at: http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/religious-protests-against-period-film-gadar-put-free-speech-on-the-boil/1/230620.html
Tiger80 Posted January 3, 2015 Posted January 3, 2015 Hinduism will survive and prosper because it's not a bookish religion' date=' heck it was made a religion by the British who just couldn't understand it and desperately wanted to bracket it under something they understood.[/quote'] Hindu's should thank Britishers for uniting then under the name of hinduism O/W you don't know how many religions could have formed and each of them demanding special rights or even their separate country
jalebi_bhai Posted January 3, 2015 Posted January 3, 2015 Hindu's should thank Britishers for uniting then under the name of hinduism O/W you don't know how many religions could have formed and each of them demanding special rights or even their separate country What utter non-sense....... India had been a united nation ever since the Mauryan dynasty.......Hinduism has undergone it's own set of reformation movements through the course of history.......which resulted in the emergence of Buddhism, Jainism and then later Sikhism........Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism and Sikhism are all considered Dharmic faiths.......we were a Buddhist country under Ashoka.......But after much introspection, Hindu scholars were able to reform Hinduism and then successfully debate and convert scholars of the other faiths.......people still had religious freedom......but Hinduism was recognized as the official religion......... The thing is......we were betrayed by our own in the face of adversity........there is a reason why Jai Chand and Mir Jafar are names synonymous with betrayal........because of these traitors.......Islamists and the British were able to invade us........Islamists did it with swords and the koran........the British did it through guns and subversion.....they hijacked our religious and educational institutions and filled them with all sorts of falshoods and misrepresntations.....the effects of such subversion we see to this day.......with the bogey of secularism and the pseudo-liberals....... Pseudo-seculars will keep harping on about how our constitution is secular........kindly ask them when and the context in which the term was added to our constitution.......even Ambedkar, a man who was critical of certain aspects of Hinduism, felt that there was no need to add the term secular to our constitution........ So, please......if you really think the British united us.......then brush up on some history........
dial_100 Posted January 3, 2015 Posted January 3, 2015 Hinduism will survive and prosper because it's not a bookish religion' date=' heck it was made a religion by the British who just couldn't understand it and desperately wanted to bracket it under something they understood.[/quote'] IMHO, religion is just a mean not a destiny. So it doesn't matter whether certain or all the religions/books survive or not but trust me the true core of them will always survive.
surajmal Posted January 3, 2015 Posted January 3, 2015 If sickulars were to start a campaign to remove the caveats from the FoE, I would support them. But they won't. I've come to the conclusion that sickularism isn't a modern phenomenon but genetic with Indians. Otherwise, Jihadis would have never been able to establish foothold in India. I think Hindus/dharmic are going to have to change tact and instead of targeting the sickular infrastructure, strengthen the dharmics. In the end, take control of the power levers with sheer numbers. Because even if BJP et al manage to destroy and displace the entire apparatus, I'm pretty sure the parivar will spring a new kind of sickular mafioso. There is just something instinctive in the dharmics to occupy the entirety of political/social spectrum, perhaps out of a need to present balance? I don't know.
urbestfriend Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 The movie didn't say anything new. Message wise it was very light and played it safe. It repeated a few truths which most people know. The romance bit was badly done and was unnecessary. I felt oh my god was a better movie though it didn't look as polished as PK. Also illogical end...PK had this ability of memory transfer from touch ( aka mind reader)..Which is what they have shown in earlier prostitute episode..But when he touches anushka, not only he transfers her memory , but also he was able to read his lover's mind. This means he has ability of travelling through time machine to the past and understand what happened , or he could transfer memory from connected minds too..This special ability we only associate with god, so PK is god himself?
zep1706 Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 I watched a very interesting interview of Raju Hirani and Abhijat Joshi the other day. This completely explains why I felt the second half of the film was not as good as the first half and somewhat detached. Do watch it from the about 11:00. This also explains why they took 5 years to write this film. They actually had to change the script twice. First because of Inception and then OMG. Initially they had the concept of the alien entering someone's mind to change things but then Inception came up and they had to abandon that idea. After that they worked on suing God which again became pointless after OMG. Very intriguing. They also talk about Munnabhai 3 which is shelved. t_jsywOhQag
Desi Cartman Posted January 7, 2015 Posted January 7, 2015 I want to know how Dutt was able to shoot and then record his voice for the movie as he has been in prison for almost 2 years now? Is he getting out every few months to shoot for the movies ?
Ram Posted January 7, 2015 Posted January 7, 2015 I cant believe people keep falling for Hirani's formula. Going to his movie is like watching the same movie, except that the cast is new and the script is slightly different. I hate these bleeping feel-good movies with these stupid good-guy wins in the end fake finishes. #NeverAgain
zep1706 Posted January 7, 2015 Posted January 7, 2015 I want to know how Dutt was able to shoot and then record his voice for the movie as he has been in prison for almost 2 years now? Is he getting out every few months to shoot for the movies ? He had a month after his verdict to surrender, he shot his portion then. It was in the news then.
bulbul Posted January 7, 2015 Posted January 7, 2015 I cant believe people keep falling for Hirani's formula. Going to his movie is like watching the same movie, except that the cast is new and the script is slightly different. I hate these bleeping feel-good movies with these stupid good-guy wins in the end fake finishes. #NeverAgain Only masala Entertainments works.its same for Hollywood as well all big earners are super hero movies or fantasy.