Texy Posted January 3, 2015 Posted January 3, 2015 Five Indian men have been arrested in connection with the alleged abduction and gang rape. This includes tour guide brothers Sajid Khan, 32, and his 25-year-old brother Jawed Khan, police deputy superintendent Alok Kumar Singh said. 'One of the men spoke very fluent Japanese,' Pallav Kanti Ghosh, a Calcutta police commissioner, told the BBC. 'They said: "We are guides and want to take you sight-seeing." 'They took her to Digha (a beach resort) on 23 November. There they sexually assaulted her and robbed her of 76,000 rupees [£1,200] using her ATM card.' >>Source<< >>Source 2<< >>Source 3<< This is fecking shameful. What has this country become. These people don't have mothers or sisters? Apparently these gangs are roaming the country targeting single female tourists.
G_B_ Posted January 3, 2015 Posted January 3, 2015 typically BBC, going where the dirt is. Having said that what is india becoming? The other day i read that 15 people basically turned on a girl waiting for a train in Diva station at the outskirts of Mumbai. With heavy police presence. The girl in question was ok just about because the police saw what was happening. But its worrying that these 15 men could basically have the nerve to attempt to pull something like this off in broad daylight in front of many people when there was heavy police presence.
jf1gp_1 Posted January 4, 2015 Posted January 4, 2015 Copied from Wiki * Annual rape rate in India has increased from 1.9 to 2.0 per 100,000 2008-2012 * Australia the reported rape rate per 100,000 people is 28.6 in 2010. * England the reported rape rate per 100,000 people is 24 * According to the National Violence Against Women Survey, 1 in 6 U.S. women and 1 in 33 U.S. men has experienced an attempted or completed rape in her or his lifetime.(Study has been heavily criticized so read stats with pinch of salt) So even if rapes are under reported in India, we are still safer than some of the 'developed' nation
beetle Posted January 4, 2015 Posted January 4, 2015 typically BBC, going where the dirt is. Having said that what is india becoming? The other day i read that 15 people basically turned on a girl waiting for a train in Diva station at the outskirts of Mumbai. With heavy police presence. The girl in question was ok just about because the police saw what was happening. But its worrying that these 15 men could basically have the nerve to attempt to pull something like this off in broad daylight in front of many people when there was heavy police presence. More worrying that all 15 were in agreement here.Not one bloody effing guy who chose to stop them.Apni maa bahan ko ghar mein band rakho...aur sab ko attack karo.Bastards should be casterated.Next time there might not be police present.
beetle Posted January 4, 2015 Posted January 4, 2015 So even if rapes are under reported in India, we are still safer than some of the 'developed' nation Underreporting would probably be an understatement.Considering the nightmare that victims have to go through a life time...would not be surprised if majority go un reported. Most of us probably wouldn't want our family members to go through it . I personally would just choose others means to get justice.
Old guy Posted January 4, 2015 Posted January 4, 2015 What scary is these people are guides ! Imagine what people must think while visiting India ..
G_B_ Posted January 4, 2015 Posted January 4, 2015 More worrying that all 15 were in agreement here.Not one bloody effing guy who chose to stop them.Apni maa bahan ko ghar mein band rakho...aur sab ko attack karo.Bastards should be casterated.Next time there might not be police present. exactly... I will be interested to know if these 15 knew each other before hand. If they did then thats some sort of solace. If 15 random strangers basically came to the same conclusions about raping a girl in a matter of moments then there is something fundamentally wrong with indian men. If law and order collapses then is basically a free for all. On the issue of Indian rape rate, you can safely multiply it by 10 for the actual value. If Indian women did start dressing like western woman etc it will easily be about 50. I believe the Indian rape rate is lower than Aus and England. But the reason for that is Indian women tend to stay at home and be accompanied by men a lot more compared to western women.
CSK Fan Posted January 4, 2015 Posted January 4, 2015 If Indian women did start dressing like western woman etc it will easily be about 50. . Deviating from topic. But seriously we need to stop uninformed statements like these if we want to understand rape and it's causes. Research after research after research has ruled out dress as a cause of rape and molestation. Stayamev Jayete showed the statistics where 98% of rapes in India happened on people wearing saris, burkhas and salwar. 1.9% were girls in frocks but these were because the girls were below 10 years of age. These statistics are true of any country in the world where dress has never equaled to sexual assault
Old guy Posted January 4, 2015 Posted January 4, 2015 Deviating from topic. But seriously we need to stop uninformed statements like these if we want to understand rape and it's causes. Research after research after research has ruled out dress as a cause of rape and molestation. Stayamev Jayete showed the statistics where 98% of rapes in India happened on people wearing saris, burkhas and salwar. 1.9% were girls in frocks but these were because the girls were below 10 years of age. These statistics are true of any country in the world where dress has never equaled to sexual assault I agree with dress but you have to agree cultural difference here like women not going out alone at night is helping keeping these statistics down..
G_B_ Posted January 4, 2015 Posted January 4, 2015 Deviating from topic. But seriously we need to stop uninformed statements like these if we want to understand rape and it's causes. Research after research after research has ruled out dress as a cause of rape and molestation. Stayamev Jayete showed the statistics where 98% of rapes in India happened on people wearing saris' date= burkhas and salwar. 1.9% were girls in frocks but these were because the girls were below 10 years of age. These statistics are true of any country in the world where dress has never equaled to sexual assault redundant logic. Indian women dont wear revealing western dresses to begin with. So how exactly are you going to test the theory that dress does not matter? Then there are other factors to consider like poor women are disproportionately raped compared to women from middle class or upper middle class families. The poor women in our country wear mostly indian traditional dresses. Quite frankly i found Satyamev Jayate to be bit of a fraud when it came to data. A bit like Aamir Khan and his supposedly original acting in PK. (we all know he is based on Robin Williams in Mork and Mindy). A bit like the Indian version of a Michael Moore documentary.
Desi Cartman Posted January 4, 2015 Posted January 4, 2015 Copied from Wiki * Annual rape rate in India has increased from 1.9 to 2.0 per 100,000 2008-2012 * Australia the reported rape rate per 100,000 people is 28.6 in 2010. * England the reported rape rate per 100,000 people is 24 * According to the National Violence Against Women Survey, 1 in 6 U.S. women and 1 in 33 U.S. men has experienced an attempted or completed rape in her or his lifetime.(Study has been heavily criticized so read stats with pinch of salt) So even if rapes are under reported in India, we are still safer than some of the 'developed' nation Do you have any statistics on % of reported cases in all countries ? Also, the rape numbers may actually be not that high but the daily molestation is extremely high. Without going into details, I have very rarely met an Indian girl who has not been molested in India. From uncles rubbing their genitals on the bus to neighbors kissing 8-10 year old girls. I have heard a lot and I'm glad that I didn't have to go through that but also ashamed that one human can abuse another like this.
Vilander Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 Why majority rapists are Muslims? Expect everyone here to ignore this. But there are others communities as well represented in this.
CSK Fan Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 redundant logic. Indian women dont wear revealing western dresses to begin with. So how exactly are you going to test the theory that dress does not matter? Then there are other factors to consider like poor women are disproportionately raped compared to women from middle class or upper middle class families. The poor women in our country wear mostly indian traditional dresses. Quite frankly i found Satyamev Jayate to be bit of a fraud when it came to data. A bit like Aamir Khan and his supposedly original acting in PK. (we all know he is based on Robin Williams in Mork and Mindy). A bit like the Indian version of a Michael Moore documentary. As I said, this is not only a research by Satyamev Jayeyte but by other countries too. What source do you have except your assertion that less clothes = rape because that's what most people assume? Rape has always been about the helplessness of the victim and opportunity, not clothes. Where do rapes happen? When women are alone with someone and/or at night? So a rapists will just look at clothes and say, not today? The burkha and sari are important facts because according to your logic a woman covered from head to toe must never be raped as rape happens only because skin is exposed. You have no idea how much harm such statements makes because this is also an indirect attempt to blame the victim, an evil which is rampant in India and the biggest challenge in changing the mindset of our culture. And now because of your personal dislike for Amir you will decline stats provided by the show where real people working on the field come and share this information. So they must all be frauds and liars because you dislike the show
CSK Fan Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 Why majority rapists are Muslims? Please bring evidence to corroborate this rather than being a joker
CSK Fan Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 I agree with dress but you have to agree cultural difference here like women not going out alone at night is helping keeping these statistics down.. Which is another weak argument. Keeping all women locked all time at home with a woman police constable outside will prevent 100% of the rape. But that is not what we should aspire for.
randomGuy Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 Copied from Wiki * Annual rape rate in India has increased from 1.9 to 2.0 per 100,000 2008-2012 * Australia the reported rape rate per 100,000 people is 28.6 in 2010. * England the reported rape rate per 100,000 people is 24 * According to the National Violence Against Women Survey, 1 in 6 U.S. women and 1 in 33 U.S. men has experienced an attempted or completed rape in her or his lifetime.(Study has been heavily criticized so read stats with pinch of salt) So even if rapes are under reported in India, we are still safer than some of the 'developed' nation If I had to guess, I would say per capita rapes in India would be less than many developed countries(even after accounting for the under-reporting for which there are no reliable stats country wise). Again, just a guess, no evidence to corroborate the same. What is def. worse in india is the rapes coupled with further brutalities such as murder, burning alive. EDIT : again that happens in a small percentage of rapes and india is a large country of 1.2 billion - 1/6th of all humanity, but we hear too frequent rapes+burning alive
Old guy Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 Which is another weak argument. Keeping all women locked all time at home with a woman police constable outside will prevent 100% of the rape. But that is not what we should aspire for. This is not what I am saying . I am giving u reason why rate seems low and this is one of the biggest one .. I am not saying its something good but its the reason rate is lower .
fineleg Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 beetle, What other means are there to seek justice? (even if you plan to hire goondas, and thereby committing a criminal act for which you may serve life in prison for many years, if you get caught).
AmreekanDesi Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 Copied from Wiki * Annual rape rate in India has increased from 1.9 to 2.0 per 100,000 2008-2012 * Australia the reported rape rate per 100,000 people is 28.6 in 2010. * England the reported rape rate per 100,000 people is 24 * According to the National Violence Against Women Survey, 1 in 6 U.S. women and 1 in 33 U.S. men has experienced an attempted or completed rape in her or his lifetime.(Study has been heavily criticized so read stats with pinch of salt) So even if rapes are under reported in India, we are still safer than some of the 'developed' nation theres so many things wrong, uninformed and ignorant about this post that its unbelievable.