BeautifulGame Posted March 25, 2015 Posted March 25, 2015 Took 108 balls to reach 80 runs in a flat pitch Flat wicket?Was seaming alarmingly in the firstv 15 overs :hysterical:
rkt.india Posted March 25, 2015 Posted March 25, 2015 Still i don't understand why you have to bowl a predetermined ball. Every bowler predetermines what he will bowl. You set your field according to that.
Ram Posted March 25, 2015 Posted March 25, 2015 My heart goes out to ABDV. A once-in-a-lifetime batsmen like him absolutely deserves to be a world cup champion. Unfortunately, WC cricket is not like franchise sports where super-star players can sign with other star players to win trophies. Worst part was, this was probably his best chance yet to win the cup. It is quite possible that almost the entire South African bowling unit (except maybe with the exception of Tahir) will not be around by the time the next WC comes around..As we have seen repeatedly before, it is very hard for younger/green players to come in and simply excel in those high pressure situations.
rkt.india Posted March 25, 2015 Posted March 25, 2015 Took 108 balls to reach 80 runs in a flat pitch Ball was doing early on and they had lost 2 early wickets.
bulbul Posted March 25, 2015 Author Posted March 25, 2015 Ball was doing early on and they had lost 2 early wickets. Still for a champion player its poor returns :giggle:
vvvslaxman Posted March 25, 2015 Posted March 25, 2015 Every bowler predetermines what he will bowl. You set your field according to that. I mean if a batsman moves around you bowl wide , if someone comes out you bowl bouncer.. like that. They decided to go with length ball assuming he would miss because he would move around. Length balls are always risky in the death overs. Moment he saw him not moving around he could have gone for fuller yorker.
Roshanrocks Posted March 25, 2015 Posted March 25, 2015 The match was full of mistakes. New Zealand committed almost as many as the South Africans, if not more. A catch was dropped in the second over, and by the third over both openers had been reprieved. Two more catches were spilled later, and one of them was off AB de Villiers, of all people. The ground fielding was excellent, as ever, but there was the odd batting blip. Martin Guptill, the double-centurion in New Zealand's last victory, was needlessly run out, and Ross Taylor's was a soft dismissal at a crucial juncture. But sport and history are generous to the follies of the winners, and it is South Africa who will be haunted by theirs. -Sambit Bal (Cricinfo)
Precambrian Posted March 25, 2015 Posted March 25, 2015 Sachin had great team in 2003 & 2011. Even 2007 was not bad team. Arre yaar. I am talking about the teams that Sachin captained. I know he had a good team around him in 2003 and 2011 and that showed in the performance as well.
bowl_out Posted March 25, 2015 Posted March 25, 2015 i wonder if saffers are just like germans?? Germans mauled the hosts... Saffers choked under pressure :dontknow:
vishalvirsingh Posted March 25, 2015 Posted March 25, 2015 I guess the last 2 balls should have been Yorkers and they shud have placed fielders to cover for those Yorkers and even in 3rd man....if the third man is well placed , a 4 can easily be saved in a large part of area behind wickets- it wud have been safer. steyn was good at Yorkers too but he bowled a length ball and at 135k pace...that was easy for Elliott.
vishalvirsingh Posted March 25, 2015 Posted March 25, 2015 did u guys notice steyn was possibly under 140K at most times and I believe that made him a lesser bowler in the match
Precambrian Posted March 25, 2015 Posted March 25, 2015 It's frustrating being a fan of such a captain when things go badly though. I think it's reassuring for the South African fans how much the skipper cares' date=' you don't get that from Dhoni[/quote'] I prefer action over empty words. You screw it up, you bear it on the chin, not excuse around with flowery words. Dhoni has been at it and done that. 3 World trophies within 6 years is not every captain has, and that too with a side that is usually not regarded the best in the world. Dhoni's value will be truly known only after he is gone. He is clearly one of the GOAT captain.
Precambrian Posted March 25, 2015 Posted March 25, 2015 The match was full of mistakes. New Zealand committed almost as many as the South Africans, if not more. A catch was dropped in the second over, and by the third over both openers had been reprieved. Two more catches were spilled later, and one of them was off AB de Villiers, of all people. The ground fielding was excellent, as ever, but there was the odd batting blip. Martin Guptill, the double-centurion in New Zealand's last victory, was needlessly run out, and Ross Taylor's was a soft dismissal at a crucial juncture. But sport and history are generous to the follies of the winners, and it is South Africa who will be haunted by theirs. -Sambit Bal (Cricinfo) Yes, no doubt NZ also showed signs of choking. And NZ is indeed an underrated team in the choking aspect. 6 times SF and no finals? And today they almost screwed it up, but for a Dhoni esque innings by Elliot.
profster Posted March 25, 2015 Posted March 25, 2015 Yes' date=' no doubt NZ also showed signs of choking. And NZ is indeed an underrated team in the choking aspect. 6 times SF and no finals? And today they almost screwed it up, but for a Dhoni esque innings by Elliot.[/quote'] This was a contest of chokers. NZ won the match and SA won the choker tag. In the end, cricket was the winner ;-)
tweaker Posted March 25, 2015 Posted March 25, 2015 They should have selected Albie Morkel.He would had made the difference in the SF
Yamaha Posted March 25, 2015 Posted March 25, 2015 Should have stuck with Abbott instead of replacing him with the overrated Philtrundler.
Thalaiva Posted March 25, 2015 Posted March 25, 2015 Should have stuck with Abbott instead of replacing him with the overrated Philtrundler. Your right. RSA is doing a big mistake with the race quotas. It's absurd to drop Abbott just to get the race mixture right. And regarding devilliers, yep SA lost because of his stupid captaincy. This is a knockout game and he brings himself and duminy to bowl for 6 overs :finger:. Stupid captaincy
CoverDrive Posted March 25, 2015 Posted March 25, 2015 i high pressure game like this there are going to be a lot of mistakes from both sides. NZ also dropped a few in the end. this was one case where one team really wanted this win a lot more and backed by their crowd outplayed the opposition
bulbul Posted March 25, 2015 Author Posted March 25, 2015 i high pressure game like this there are going to be a lot of mistakes from both sides. NZ also dropped a few in the end. this was one case where one team really wanted this win a lot more and backed by their crowd outplayed the opposition Even though NZ made similar mistakes like SA they didn't had the pressure of knowing how it may cost them.
Yoda-esque Posted March 25, 2015 Posted March 25, 2015 He is right..reminds me of Sachin in his captaincy,too hard on himself and others