vvvslaxman Posted March 30, 2015 Posted March 30, 2015 http://scroll.in/article/715918/Dear-Smriti-Irani,-stop-giving-my-money-to-IITians Added few sllides. I also saw a reply to this letter
Texan Posted March 30, 2015 Posted March 30, 2015 Are those numbers derived from reliable sources (like 3.4 lakh per year to educate per person)?
AmreekanDesi Posted March 30, 2015 Posted March 30, 2015 dont know abt the authenticity of numbers but the reason this was started decades ago was to increase the research output and in that regard it has miserably failed IIT has helped the individual students in making a very successful career for themselves on a personal level
amiret Posted March 30, 2015 Posted March 30, 2015 :haha: If Cong and BJP can provide 1000's of crores as subsidies to Sugar manufacturers along with Interest free loans , Rs.988 crores should not be that disconcerting. 40,000 crores in LPG subsidy every year. Why should my money Subsidize the cooking fuel of middle class indians , so they can stuff themselves with fried pakoras ?! I would rather pay to educate an intelligent IIT student. :winky:
Clarke Posted March 30, 2015 Posted March 30, 2015 Applies to all state sponsored professional degree institutions (engg/med/arch etc). IITians are just a highly visible target. Since its mostly a subsidy leveraged by middle/upper classes, there's hardly any noise about it.
NareshK Posted March 30, 2015 Posted March 30, 2015 Most of these IIT idiots also grab the first chance to feck off to another country and polish the white man's shoes there. Why should Indians pay for these selfish feckers education ?
CSK Fan Posted March 30, 2015 Posted March 30, 2015 40,000 crores in LPG subsidy every year. Why should my money Subsidize the cooking fuel of middle class indians , so they can stuff themselves with fried pakoras ?! Most of these help the really poor people in India. I would rather pay to educate an intelligent IIT student. :winky: For them to become richer?
amiret Posted March 30, 2015 Posted March 30, 2015 Most of these help the really poor people in India. no doubt there are many legitimate recipients of LPG subsidies , but it is also true that almost all middle and upper class households in India receive LPG subsidies. my point is elimination or better targeting of these wasteful subsidies should be higher on our list of priorities. The previous Govt's did not care and current Govt has not exhibited a different inclination. Also there is no reason to subsidize all IIT students. Surely scholarships can be awarded to the most deserving and rest can get education loans from banks payable 1 year after employment. Such loans are already available.
Raghav_12 Posted March 30, 2015 Posted March 30, 2015 what crap is this? until few years back capacity of IITs were limited to 2.5 k. Explosion in number of seats has happened reently only. why do this 9885 calculation? All students which got to IITs when total intake was 9885 are either still in IITs or just at the start of their careers. But that wasn't my point. I used this flaw just to expose the real intentions of the person who did this number crunching.
Raghav_12 Posted March 30, 2015 Posted March 30, 2015 Most of these IIT idiots also grab the first chance to feck off to another country and polish the white man's shoes there. Why should Indians pay for these selfish feckers education ? Their are millions professionals in IT services companies and all of them just keep waiting for an opportuity to "feck off to another country and polish white man's shoes" and very miniscule part of these professionals are IITian. Don't they qualify as being idiots as per you? Anyways, it's meaningless to write to Smriti Irani. Its because of dumb politicians like her that people feel need to get out of Indian system.
G_B_ Posted March 30, 2015 Posted March 30, 2015 DRDO need to start paying competitive salaries. TATA and Mahindra will hire a lot more IIT grads once they get full fledged footing in the defence sector. It is the same for all professionals right? Indian government pays a lot of money to educate doctors. They goto western countries to get paid better. That has a big impact on the lives of the poor. Brain drain has been the bane of many developing countries. On the plus side i guess India is the largest receiver of remittance at about 70 billion USD per year. A sum which is growing healthly every year.
vipin Posted March 30, 2015 Posted March 30, 2015 I am all for it. Let the government stop giving subsidy and start paying more to employees in DRDO, ISRO etc.
mishra Posted March 30, 2015 Posted March 30, 2015 I have never met another young Indian who would not leave India if given opportunity. However, I have worked with IITian who will only work for Indian company bcos of their principle.
Temujin Khaghan Posted March 30, 2015 Posted March 30, 2015 wrt patents and accomplishments in science, IITians gave back very little compared to what they got.
amiret Posted March 30, 2015 Posted March 30, 2015 wrt patents and accomplishments in science' date=' [u']IITians gave back very little compared to what they got. maybe not patents but they have created many startups over the years that provide employment to Lakhs of Indians.
Raghav_12 Posted March 30, 2015 Posted March 30, 2015 I have never met another young Indian who would not leave India if given opportunity. However, I have worked with IITian who will only work for Indian company bcos of their principle. Both your points are crap, that too utter ones. 1. There are enough Indians who choose to stay in India despite having ample opportunities of settling down in Europe or US or Australia, including both IITians and Non-IITians. 2. Working of Indian companies only no way reflects on your patriotism nor on your sense of responsibilities.
Desi Cartman Posted March 30, 2015 Posted March 30, 2015 Im all for giving these students education loans. Im sure they all can repay 20 lakh rupees after they graduate. We also need to cut subsidies elsewhere too. Govt should focus on governing and not buying cows to push govt's own agenda.
Number Posted March 31, 2015 Posted March 31, 2015 http://ibnlive.in.com/news/karnataka-makes-kannada-mandatory-subject-in-schools/537258-62-129.html Progressive move by progressive Congress govt unlike BJP removing German. Hence no :whine: