tweaker Posted May 16, 2015 Posted May 16, 2015 If Kohli wanted rest he could have skipped IPL.His priorities are wrong,he wants to skip a series which would be his first as captain.If someone like Jadhav,Iyer score a match winning century on his debut,can Kohli claim his spot for the next series
G_B_ Posted May 16, 2015 Posted May 16, 2015 And He needs similar rest this year as well.That 15-20days rest in two years is hardly enough for the amount of cricket India played in last 2 years.Even Dhoni was rested for the Lanka ODIs despite skipping the Ban series along with Dhoni except its not a 15-20 rest. Its a 3-4 week rest every year when the champions league begins for the past 3 years or more as his team has not been part of it. Dont make it sound as if he has not had rest. Your talking about a 26 year old batsman. Not a 35 year old on his last legs. He can miss the ODIs thats not an issue so he will have the break that he needs. Plus we can rest him for the ODI series coming up with many other teams. These bilateral ODI series are worth ****. Rahane played grand total of 2 Ranji matches in last 2 years .Kohli has played same no of Test matches if tests are included as Rahane has even with Ranji. lets stick to the last year. There is no point comparing last two years. Kohli did get the rest he wanted post the IPL last year when he skipped the ODI tour of BD and before the England series started. Neither did RR last year.Difference is Rahane most of last 2 years has been a squad played didnt play much in ODIS. Kohli has nearly played double the number of ODIs Rahane has in last 2 years .And most of them away from home .And for CL,Rahane hardly played in WT20 when was playing every match.Kohli has played far more cricket in last 2 years than Rahane whether you include Ranji or IPL.Rahane wasnt even part of the XI for the CT WI tour or the Aus ODIs whereas Kohli played every match of them. again whats with these last 2 years analysis? Kohli got rest in June 2014 and that should draw a line for that period. Talk to me about the last year. Its the other way round.We have far bigger series coming upl against Srl SA Aus and Pak within 6-8 months .We need to wrap key players in cotton wool before that.Only Kohli and Ashwin will be expected to play all these matches in that period.Being Captain its even more of a prerogative to rest him properly before the main winter season kicks off As i said before. Let Virat rest for the ODI series against SL and SA. I have no qualms about that. Rest is rest. Its not going to change if you rest for tests odis or even t20s. But its not right to rest for a format for which you have just been appointed as a captain.
Gollum Posted May 16, 2015 Author Posted May 16, 2015 CricketNDTV @CricketNDTV 25m25 minutes ago Sunil Gavaskar Wants Virat Kohli Not to Skip Bangladesh Test http://tinyurl.com/lldzvw6 View summary Thank you Sunny bhai
G_B_ Posted May 16, 2015 Posted May 16, 2015 btw can somebody russle up the number of balls che has faced in the time from June 2014 to May 2015. Cant find the number of international balls faced by him. I got numbers for his domestics in ranji and county cricket http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ranji-trophy-2014-15/engine/records/averages/batting_bowling_by_team.html?id=9513;team=2121;type=tournament http://stats.espncricinfo.com/county-cricket-2015/engine/records/batting/most_runs_career.html?class=4;id=2015;team=1515;type=season its about 900 balls. (450 Saurashtra and 480 odd for Yorkshire, probably more than all ipl batsman) and i do believe Che did take part in the Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy as well for Saurashtra. As well as playing a handful of list A matches for Saurashtra. the reason i ask is somebody like Lokesh Rahul has faced about 1200 balls in the ranjis itself.In addition he as played the other competitions and some international cricket. He did well in the Irani trophy as well if memory serves me right. http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ranji-trophy-2014-15/engine/records/averages/batting_bowling_by_team.html?id=9513;team=1923;type=tournament We might be surprised how much batsman in the domestics face. Robin Uttappa too might have faced a lot of balls in domestic cricket. The quality may not be there but we will get an idea of the work load.
BeautifulGame Posted May 16, 2015 Posted May 16, 2015 except its not a 15-20 rest. Its a 3-4 week rest every year when the champions league begins for the past 3 years or more as his team has not been part of it. Dont make it sound as if he has not had rest. Your talking about a 26 year old batsman. Not a 35 year old on his last legs. He can miss the ODIs thats not an issue so he will have the break that he needs. Plus we can rest him for the ODI series coming up with many other teams. These bilateral ODI series are worth ****. lets stick to the last year. There is no point comparing last two years. Kohli did get the rest he wanted post the IPL last year when he skipped the ODI tour of BD and before the England series started. again whats with these last 2 years analysis? Kohli got rest in June 2014 and that should draw a line for that period. Talk to me about the last year. As i said before. Let Virat rest for the ODI series against SL and SA. I have no qualms about that. Rest is rest. Its not going to change if you rest for tests odis or even t20s. But its not right to rest for a format for which you have just been appointed as a captain. The last 2 year analysis is because we have been doing non stop overseas tours for last 2 years starting with the Champions trophy in England No team has played this many overseas tours in recent history on a sequence
BeautifulGame Posted May 16, 2015 Posted May 16, 2015 btw can somebody russle up the number of balls che has faced in the time from June 2014 to May 2015. Cant find the number of international balls faced by him. I got numbers for his domestics in ranji and county cricket http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ranji-trophy-2014-15/engine/records/averages/batting_bowling_by_team.html?id=9513;team=2121;type=tournament http://stats.espncricinfo.com/county-cricket-2015/engine/records/batting/most_runs_career.html?class=4;id=2015;team=1515;type=season its about 900 balls. (450 Saurashtra and 480 odd for Yorkshire, probably more than all ipl batsman) and i do believe Che did take part in the Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy as well for Saurashtra. As well as playing a handful of list A matches for Saurashtra. the reason i ask is somebody like Lokesh Rahul has faced about 1200 balls in the ranjis itself.In addition he as played the other competitions and some international cricket. He did well in the Irani trophy as well if memory serves me right. http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ranji-trophy-2014-15/engine/records/averages/batting_bowling_by_team.html?id=9513;team=1923;type=tournament We might be surprised how much batsman in the domestics face. Robin Uttappa too might have faced a lot of balls in domestic cricket. The quality may not be there but we will get an idea of the work load. There is a difference playing in Ranji trophy at home and touring Australia for 4 months mostly stuck in hotel away from Family Its far more tiring mentally
rkt.india Posted May 16, 2015 Posted May 16, 2015 There is a difference playing in Ranji trophy at home and touring Australia for 4 months mostly stuck in hotel away from Family Its far more tiring mentally Ranji trophy is as tiring. You get just 3 days of gaps between matches, playing 8-10 matches in just 3 months. In Ranjis too, you have to be in hotel and travel all over India.
G_B_ Posted May 16, 2015 Posted May 16, 2015 not to mention the type of travel is really *****y. Much different from five star hotels and first class (i dont begrudge our indian team that, everything that helps) but do spare a thought for our ranji players. I do believe Mumbai players usually take a local bus to pune to play maharashrtra and stay in sub rate government hotels for the duration. I have looked up total balls faced etc and somebody like Chris Rogers before he got selected for Australia was playing a full domestic season in England and Australia. Amazing.
Shivaji bhonsle Posted May 16, 2015 Posted May 16, 2015 If Kohli wanted rest he could have skipped IPL.His priorities are wrong' date='he wants to skip a series which would be his first as captain.If someone like Jadhav,Iyer score a match winning century on his debut,can Kohli claim his spot for the next series[/quote'] He couldn't have skipped Ipl unless he was injured. Ipl is also a product of bcci. There is no way he could have skipped it.
rkt.india Posted May 16, 2015 Posted May 16, 2015 He couldn't have skipped Ipl unless he was injured. Ipl is also a product of bcci. There is no way he could have skipped it. If he could ask to skip a test match than he can very well ask to skip IPL too.
Roshanrocks Posted May 16, 2015 Posted May 16, 2015 Skip IPL for 1 test against Bangladesh? This is absurd! :hysterical: Skip a few million dollars for a few lakh rupees for one test match...LOL..WHo in their right mind would do such a thing? Yea I know KP :hehe: But even he wanted to play in the Ashes and not a single test..
rkt.india Posted May 16, 2015 Posted May 16, 2015 Skip IPL for 1 test against Bangladesh? This is absurd! :hysterical: Skip a few million dollars for a few lakh rupees for one test match...LOL..WHo in their right mind would do such a thing? Yea I know KP :hehe: But even he wanted to play in the Ashes and not a single test.. yeah dont skip IPL, no one is asking him to do that but skipping his first test as captain?
Gollum Posted May 16, 2015 Author Posted May 16, 2015 not to mention the type of travel is really *****y. Much different from five star hotels and first class (i dont begrudge our indian team that' date=' everything that helps) [b']but do spare a thought for our ranji players. I do believe Mumbai players usually take a local bus to pune to play maharashrtra and stay in sub rate government hotels for the duration. I have looked up total balls faced etc and somebody like Chris Rogers before he got selected for Australia was playing a full domestic season in England and Australia. Amazing. Dude the plight of Ranji players is much better today. In 2000 Dalmiya did some real reforms in making lives of our 1st class players much better. For travel they get economy airfare/2nd tier AC railways. They also get accommodation in minimum 3 star hotels. Source:Friends in Bengal Ranji team
express bowling Posted May 16, 2015 Posted May 16, 2015 People claiming that IPL is not that important are not taking a practical stance. Anyone skipping IPL may mess up up his relationship with the BCCI. It is like skipping a party thrown by the boss. Kohli is surely overworked. The fatigue maybe more mental than physical. But he should play the solitary test. Skip the ODI series. I would actually like all our top player to skip the ODI series. Rest Kohli, Rahane, Dhoni, Rohit, Ashwin, Umesh and drop Jaddu.
vvvslaxman Posted May 16, 2015 Posted May 16, 2015 Umesh definitely should not play one dayers. He should be playing only in Tests.
riya Posted May 16, 2015 Posted May 16, 2015 He was in a hurry during Aus series to captain Indian side and act all aggressive..Everybody was going gaga how aggressive he is compared to Dhoni..And then in the first tour as a captain skipping as there is no threat to his captaincy.After all its BD tour.
jf1gp_1 Posted May 17, 2015 Posted May 17, 2015 Indian fans just need an excuse to bash Indian captain. Thought with Dhoni retiring won't hear rant against captain for atleast a year but no , have to bash the one man who scored 4 100s in the previous test series. People are so worked up cause Kohl wants to skip one test, BD isn't Important. If they were then please let me know in the last 15-16 yrs of their test history how many times have they been invited to play a test series in India ? ZERO. No one cares about BD cricket in India which includes BCCI, Players, FANs. Give the guy a break, 26yr old wants to spend time with friends and family.
MK55 Posted May 17, 2015 Posted May 17, 2015 Umesh definitely should not play one dayers. He should be playing only in Tests. :hmmm: Are you referring to just the Bangladesh series or ODIs in general?
vvvslaxman Posted May 17, 2015 Posted May 17, 2015 :hmmm: Are you referring to just the Bangladesh series or ODIs in general? FOr major series he can play. Otherwise his test bowling needs to be preserved.
moniker Posted May 17, 2015 Posted May 17, 2015 Indian fans just need an excuse to bash Indian captain. Thought with Dhoni retiring won't hear rant against captain for atleast a year but no , have to bash the one man who scored 4 100s in the previous test series. People are so worked up cause Kohl wants to skip one test, BD isn't Important. If they were then please let me know in the last 15-16 yrs of their test history how many times have they been invited to play a test series in India ? ZERO. No one cares about BD cricket in India which includes BCCI, Players, FANs. Give the guy a break, 26yr old wants to spend time with friends and family. Way to miss the point. Nobody is claiming that BD is "important" or that BD cricket is followed with any uber passionate zeal in India. This was supposed to be his first test after being officially appointed as the captain, he hasn't yet cemented his position as captain to feel entitled to ask for breaks. Yeah he played some great knocks during the Aus tour and was pretty fun to watch, but that doesn't mean he has earned his position as captain. He got there by default on virtue of being the vice captain, he's got some work left to do to cement it before he can start taking his position for granted and skip matches at will.