UP Tamasha... Whats happening?

diga

52 minutes ago, jalebi_bhai said:

Not sure if SP will capitalize tbh. The murdered constable was a Yadav. Their spokesperson was barking about how poor the prison facilities were.

BMW, Khangress and other associated Jholachaapis have already started their 'Hai Tauba' like the presstitutes.

SP and Congress are looking at a potential alliance, so SP can pretend to care about Yadavs, while Congress sympathizes with the SIMI dastards. RLD may also join in apparently. 

1 hour ago, Tibarn said:

SP and Congress are looking at a potential alliance, so SP can pretend to care about Yadavs, while Congress sympathizes with the SIMI dastards. RLD may also join in apparently. 

LOL. Does Ajay babu still have influence among the agricultural communities in UP?

On 11/15/2016 at 10:53 AM, jalebi_bhai said:

He is one of the best psephologists in India. Since he got started, he predicted every election perfectly barring Delhi, where he got the direction correct but not the scale of AAP's victory.

If this is the case, I'm sure two of the other parties will look to tie up. 

3 hours ago, Tibarn said:

He is one of the best psephologists in India. Since he got started, he predicted every election perfectly barring Delhi, where he got the direction correct but not the scale of AAP's victory.

I thought Dr.Praveen Patil had decided to abandon this venture... as they struggled financially. Agree that they have a very good record..

18 hours ago, Tibarn said:

He is predicting a comfortable majority for the BJP. Also, this was pre-demonetization.

Edited by jalebi_bhai

12 hours ago, diga said:

I thought Dr.Praveen Patil had decided to abandon this venture... as they struggled financially. Agree that they have a very good record..

Nope, he still operates and relies on independent contributions. He has done preliminary surveys in both Punjab and UP so far. I think he is also associated with Swarajya Magazine, although they don't fund him full time. 

On 10/24/2016 at 6:59 AM, diga said:

Not a word from our seculars on this ...

What is wrong in uttering verses from the Holy Koran in a rally? 

The Badals quote the Granth Sahib in ALL their rallies. The BJP rath yatras have the Hanuman Chalisa playing. Shiv Sena starts with a Jai Bhavani. Do you object to these too?

Personally, I do not see anything wrong in quoting scripture. One has to realize that people seek succor in religion.

We've had Bollywood celebrities mouthing off popular dialogues in their rallies. Shatrughan Sinha starts his rallies with a "khamosh" and that "jali ko aag kehte hain, bhuji ko raakh kehte hain ... jis raakh se barood bane, usse Vishwanath kehte hain " very frequently. Now that in many ways is a mockery of democracy.

Edited by Mariyam

5 hours ago, Mariyam said:

The Badals quote the Granth Sahib in ALL their rallies. The BJP rath yatras have the Hanuman Chalisa playing. Shiv Sena starts with a Jai Bhavani. Do you object to these too?

Personally, I do not see anything wrong in quoting scripture. One has to realize that people seek succor in religion.

We've had Bollywood celebrities mouthing off popular dialogues in their rallies. Shatrughan Sinha starts his rallies with a "khamosh" and that "jali ko aag kehte hain, bhuji ko raakh kehte hain ... jis raakh se barood bane, usse Vishwanath kehte hain " very frequently. Now that in many ways is a mockery of democracy.

Madamji, you can dilute the atmosphere with your satire,but you know how people react when election rallies start with Hanuman chalisa.. 

17 hours ago, Mariyam said:

The intention in this case is what matters. BSP are carrying out these recitals to woo a non-traditional vote bank. It reeks of ripe opportunism and theatrics.

Did you hear of any Bible recitals by the BJP when they were wooing the Catholic votes in Goa during the last elections? Me neither. Why not? Cause there were no recitals. Deals were struck in private and a few Catholic candidates were given seats. People knew what was going on and so there was no need for any over the top drama.

Point I'm trying to make, there are less nauseating ways to woo non-traditional voters.

Edited by jalebi_bhai

14 hours ago, diga said:

Madamji, you can dilute the atmosphere with your satire,but you know how people react when election rallies start with Hanuman chalisa.. 

No being satirical at all. For nearly half a century now, the Shiv Sena has been organizing rallies in Shivaji Park on Dussehra. They start with a "Jai Bhavani". I haven't seen any media house make an issue of this. Nor have I seen any reaction. It is a complete non issue.

If the BSP started a rally with verses from the Holy Quran, why should the media pay much heed?

2 hours ago, jalebi_bhai said:

The intention in this case is what matters. BSP are carrying out these recitals to woo a non-traditional vote bank. It reeks of ripe opportunism and theatrics.

Did you hear of any Bible recitals by the BJP when they were wooing the Catholic votes in Goa during the last elections? Me neither. Why not? Cause there were no recitals. Deals were struck in private and a few Catholic candidates were given seats. People knew what was going on and so there was no need for any over the top drama.

Point I'm trying to make, there are less nauseating ways to woo non-traditional voters.

Fair enough. But what if a party wants to be opportunistic and theatrical? Why should the media censure the approach?

I am not saying that uttering religious phrases is progressive politics. It isn't necessarily right. But it isn't wrong also. What exactly should the media report here?

2 hours ago, Mariyam said:

Fair enough. But what if a party wants to be opportunistic and theatrical? Why should the media censure the approach?

I am not saying that uttering religious phrases is progressive politics. It isn't necessarily right. But it isn't wrong also. What exactly should the media report here?

As long as public order and health are not compromised, I guess they can be opportunistic and theatrical. Again, it is purely the intent I question in this situation. Media doesn't have to censure anything either.