ShebbySB Posted November 17, 2016 Posted November 17, 2016 (edited) We are playing lot of cricket right now and we'll need back up.New players are picked from the A teams nowadays.We need to pick diff players for diff formats which is suitable for them and also rotate our main squad. India A for tests:- Mukund,Herwadkar,Bawne,Hooda,Vihari,Pant(Wk),Kuldeep,Shardul,Aaron,Chahal,Rajpoot. Reserves:- Mayank,Ishan Kishan,Parvez,Jackson(Wk),Nathu. Guys like Nair,Hardik,Jayant,BK are already in the test squad so they are not considered. India A for LOIs:- Mukund(list a avg of 50.5),Mayank,Mandeep,Hooda,Pant(Wk),Samson(Wk),Kuldeep,Aaron,Chahal,Sran,Nathu. Reserves:- Ishan Kishan,Gurkeerat,Parvez,Rajpoot. Players already in ODI setup are not considered. Please give your inputs... Edited November 17, 2016 by ShebbySB Mosher, tweaker, express bowling and 1 other 4
express bowling Posted November 17, 2016 Posted November 17, 2016 (edited) Unofficial Tests - Mukund Mayank Hedwarkar Pant Hooda Bawne Pandey Mandeep Nathu Rajpoot Aniket Aaron Kuldeep Chahal Gopal One day matches - Mukund Mayank Pant Hooda Samson Kishan Iyer Mandeep Nathu Sran Sangwan Rajpoot Krunal Kuldeep Chahal Edited November 17, 2016 by express bowling ShebbySB, speedster, Mosher and 1 other 4
ShebbySB Posted November 17, 2016 Author Posted November 17, 2016 (edited) 36 minutes ago, express bowling said: Unofficial Tests - Mukund Mayank Hedwarkar Pant Hooda Bawne Pandey Mandeep Nathu Rajpoot Aniket Aaron Kuldeep Chahal Gopal One day matches - Mukund Mayank Pant Hooda Samson Kishan Iyer Mandeep Nathu Sran Sangwan Rajpoot Krunal Kuldeep Chahal Missed Herwadkar there...certainly 1st choice in India A right now in longer format.Added him. Edited November 17, 2016 by ShebbySB express bowling 1
SUMO Posted November 17, 2016 Posted November 17, 2016 UNOFFICIAL TEST mukund herwadker Iyer bawne jackson pant pandya ( not played much of first class, needs to be tested rigorously) kuldeep jayant ( can't have much of chances to play for india as long as ashwin is there, but could be his replacement in case of injury) rajpoot nathu reserves: hooda kishan shardul aaron LIST-A mayank pant Iyer hooda nitish rana gurkeerat pandya kuldeep chahal aaron shardul reserves: mandeep kishan samson rajpoot sran
tweaker Posted November 18, 2016 Posted November 18, 2016 (edited) India A team for 4 day test Herwadkar Mukund Bawne Iyer Hooda Pant Pandya Kuldeep Rajpoot Chaudhary Shardul Jackson Shreyas Gopal Lad Ishan Kishan Anureet Singh India A team for odi Mayank Pant Shreyas Nitish Hooda Suryakumar Pandya Kuldeep Jayant Shardul Rajpoot Chaudhary Axar Chahal Manan Edited November 18, 2016 by tweaker ShebbySB and Bleed-Blue 2
gakgupta Posted November 18, 2016 Posted November 18, 2016 Here is the requirement for indian ODI team.... Opening batsmen... (Rahane didn't do the job) Late order hitting batsmen... Back-up wicket keeper / Batsmen... One middle order batsmen As always, one good pace owler express bowling, ShebbySB and tweaker 3
Cricketics Posted November 18, 2016 Posted November 18, 2016 I will definitely try to fit in Rohit Sharma in India A team as he will have hard time getting into our national side right now in test. Also after surgery amd without even any odi games, the stint with A side will help him in both formats. sandeep 1
express bowling Posted November 18, 2016 Posted November 18, 2016 (edited) 1 hour ago, gakgupta said: Here is the requirement for indian ODI team.... Opening batsmen... (Rahane didn't do the job) Late order hitting batsmen... Back-up wicket keeper / Batsmen... One middle order batsmen As always, one good pace owler 1. Rahul ( can hit from ball one, rotate strike , play long innings too and hit big shots ) to partner Rohit 2. Hooda ( big hitter at No. 6, in great form and is a part-time spinner too who can take Raina's role ) 3. Pant ( Big hitter at No. 5 and in great form, can hit 6s at will ) 4. Will not be needed as long as Dhoni is there 5. Nathu Singh ( very good at bowling fast, inswinging yorkers at pace and has impressive List A and T20 stats ) Edited November 18, 2016 by express bowling SUMO, tweaker, ShebbySB and 1 other 4
ShebbySB Posted November 18, 2016 Author Posted November 18, 2016 Bumrah,Shami,Umesh,BK and Nathu should be the fast bowlers in LOIs right now,need to rotate them.Left arm pacers are not up to their level and Sran is probably the front runner followed by Sangwan.Aniket certainly not considered by the selectors. express bowling and tweaker 2
sandeep Posted November 18, 2016 Posted November 18, 2016 Any young non-spin allrounders of note? Is pandya a goddamn purple unicorn? I mean there have to be more options other than Binny and Rishi Dhawan? I expect Chahal to outdo Kuldeep Yadav over the long run, let's hope he keeps getting better. tweaker 1
SUMO Posted November 18, 2016 Posted November 18, 2016 3 hours ago, sandeep said: Any young non-spin allrounders of note? Is pandya a goddamn purple unicorn? I mean there have to be more options other than Binny and Rishi Dhawan? I expect Chahal to outdo Kuldeep Yadav over the long run, let's hope he keeps getting better. None... dur dur tak koi nahi hai... Pandya is the best we have.
Sooda Posted November 18, 2016 Posted November 18, 2016 (edited) Interesting how no one has chosen Pankaj Singh, yet a few picks for Aniket and Nathu - his Rajasthan team mates who he has comprehensively outbowled so far this season. Ill defer to the superior domestic cricket knowledge of Rkt and the likes if I am wrong, but Pankaj has oncreased his pace over the years and was not given a fair crack at all when chosen for India squad he should definitely be in an A team XI - even if he is the wrong side of 30, still producing the goods and deserves it. FC team: Mukund, Herwadkar Nair Bawne Pandey Pant Pandya Kuldeep Nadeem Pankaj Varun List A: Mukund, Mayank Mandeep Iyer Nair Hooda Pant S Kaul Rajpoot M Sharma Chahal T20 Mandeep Iyer Nair Surya Kumar Hooda Pant Krunal Pandya S Sharma Rajpoot M Sharma Chahal Edited November 18, 2016 by Sooda tweaker 1
Vijy Posted November 19, 2016 Posted November 19, 2016 Don't know enough about List A (and don't care much about domestic T20s), but here's my A team for 4- and 5-day matches: Herwadkar Mukund/Khajuria Iyer Vihari Bawne Hooda Pant/Kishan (wk) Kuldeep Chahal Pankaj Thakur/Rajpoot Most of the top 6 are capable of some degree of bowling - Herwadkar, Hooda and Vihari. Rather surprised to see so few people mentioning Vihari - as far as I know, over the past 2-3 seasons, no one has performed more consistently than him. Khajuria has been very impressive this season, albeit against weaker opposition but there were some matches where he batted time and almost single-handedly drew matches. For the allrounder position, I don't think we have any, but I feel that our best bet from the spin POV may actually be Rasool - his overall stats aren't great since he ends up overbowling/underbowling himself, but his batting has the advantage that he's been exposed to batting in the middle-order a fair amount. Gopal seems to be on his way to becoming a batting allrounder, but isn't the finished package yet. As for pace bowling allrounders: Binny doesn't make it. Pandya's too raw. R. Dhawan seems to be more a domestic bully. V. Shankar's bowling and batting have both regressed I think. Our pace cupboard is pretty bare since the most effective bowlers have been long-term domestic workhorses such as Pankaj, Aravind, VK, Sid Kaul, I. Pandey, etc. The new recruits such as Nathu have shown promise, but not results. It is rather worrying in my opinion. For genuine spinners, Chahal and Kuldeep are developing okay, but a good offie is missing. I would like to see how Gani develops. He has fairly good FC stats, but hasn't played enough. For SLA, we have a fair number of decent ones including the vastly experienced Nadeem. What will be interesting is to see how some of the U19s (apart from Pant and Kishan) do: Avesh Khan, Sarfaraz Khan, Salman Khan and especially Lomror. tweaker 1
speedster Posted November 19, 2016 Posted November 19, 2016 On 11/17/2016 at 11:00 PM, express bowling said: Unofficial Tests - Mukund Mayank Hedwarkar Pant Hooda Bawne Pandey Mandeep Nathu Rajpoot Aniket Aaron Kuldeep Chahal Gopal One day matches - Mukund Mayank Pant Hooda Samson Kishan Iyer Mandeep Nathu Sran Sangwan Rajpoot Krunal Kuldeep Chahal Looks good, I would just throw Qadri into the mix for test instead of Chahal, feel he has better potential in that format, also Suyal could be considered instead of Sangwan but its very close between them, Suyal looks a bit more pacy. express bowling 1
express bowling Posted November 19, 2016 Posted November 19, 2016 11 minutes ago, speedster said: Looks good, I would just throw Qadri into the mix for test instead of Chahal, feel he has better potential in that format, also Suyal could be considered instead of Sangwan but its very close between them, Suyal looks a bit more pacy. I would definitely like to include Quadri but left him because he does not seem to be in the running even. Suyal is another case of a player gone down-hill by neglect...while Sangwan is bowling 135 k to 142 k with some bounce nowadays.
Vijy Posted November 19, 2016 Posted November 19, 2016 5 minutes ago, express bowling said: I would definitely like to include Quadri but left him because he does not seem to be in the running even. Suyal is another case of a player gone down-hill by neglect...while Sangwan is bowling 135 k to 142 k with some bounce nowadays. Funny. Last time I saw Sungwon (Sangwan) was when he used to bowl around 123-127 kmph. I guess he's added some pace, eh?
express bowling Posted November 19, 2016 Posted November 19, 2016 2 minutes ago, Vijy said: Funny. Last time I saw Sungwon (Sangwan) was when he used to bowl around 123-127 kmph. I guess he's added some pace, eh? Added a LOT of pace and muscles...his bowling style has changed too. From a seamer who gently floated the ball in, now he is hitting the deck hard.
Vijy Posted November 19, 2016 Posted November 19, 2016 Just now, express bowling said: Added a LOT of pace and muscles...his bowling style has changed too. From a seamer who gently floated the ball in, now he is hitting the deck hard. If he can get it to 140-145 that would be ideal then. Suyal, as you said, was badly mismanaged and is now perhaps lost forever. In your list of pacers, you didn't have young Avesh. Has he fallen off completely too? I seem to recollect that his debut Ranji season had been quite reasonable. I agree with your batsman choices except for Mayank and Mandeep. Former lacks patience and 100 conversion rate, and I think an opener must have one or both of them - Khajuria would be my back-up opener. As for Mandy, I think that Vihari has done much more over the past few seasons than any other batsman (admittedly on pattas).
express bowling Posted November 19, 2016 Posted November 19, 2016 2 minutes ago, Vijy said: If he can get it to 140-145 that would be ideal then. Suyal, as you said, was badly mismanaged and is now perhaps lost forever. In your list of pacers, you didn't have young Avesh. Has he fallen off completely too? I seem to recollect that his debut Ranji season had been quite reasonable. I agree with your batsman choices except for Mayank and Mandeep. Former lacks patience and 100 conversion rate, and I think an opener must have one or both of them - Khajuria would be my back-up opener. As for Mandy, I think that Vihari has done much more over the past few seasons than any other batsman (admittedly on pattas). My choices include viable options rather than my ideal options. Avesh Khan was very good but has not played Ranji trophy this season and that is why I have not included him.
Vijy Posted November 19, 2016 Posted November 19, 2016 5 minutes ago, express bowling said: My choices include viable options rather than my ideal options. Avesh Khan was very good but has not played Ranji trophy this season and that is why I have not included him. True. I understand what you mean. As someone else had noted, if we had the ideal choices, Quadri would have been picked. I'm pretty sure if he played Tests, especially on our bunsens, his Test record would be superior to his FC one by a fair bit.