So what kind of pitch to prepare for 2nd test ?

22 members have voted

1. 1. So what kind of pitch to prepare for 2nd test ?

• Raging Turner
    • Slow Turner
    • Batting Highway
    • Green Seamer
    • Pitch with some turn on 1st 3 days,Raging Turner from day 4 and 5
    • Pitches like ones in England Series
    • Pitches like ones in NZ series

We need to stop thinking too much about the pitch. Curators must be instructed to prepare a normal pitch as how they would have done before a ranji game. Leave enough grass, water it well, cut the extra grass 1 day before the game. It will good for seam bowling on day 1, best to bat on day 2- 3 and will turn from 4th day.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Problem is, when you play on a raging anything, it becomes a lottery as any lalloo panjoo can turn up on his day and the extract best from the conditions. So many Indian overseas victories have come on 'fast tracks' as our inferior fast bowlers were brought into the game. You then have a t20 type situation where a game (or innings in the case of a test match) can be won with one good batting performance and one good bowling performance. First thing, take their seamers out of the equation and make them toil. No bouncy tracks, Aussie batsmen are best in the world against bounce. Did you see England seamers do anything during last series? 

5 hours ago, Ultimate_Game said:

I would go with raging turner. You have to believe that Indian batsmen and spinners would be better positioned on such pitches than Aussies. Changing the approach would be playing into Aussies' hands.

no, raging turners are lottery like green mambas are too. We have won quite a few test matches on green mambas because our fast bowlers too made use of the conditions. We need a pitch like we had n Mohali and Vizag against England. Slow turner, not a raging turner.

https://goo.gl/LRiYCP

India vs Australia 2017: Slow turner, and not a sandpit, likely in Bangalore

Ind vs Aus 2017: Where Pune looked a parched desert, the groundstaff at stadium in Bangalore aren’t being miserly with water.

Written by Sriram Veera | Bangalore | Updated: February 28, 2017 9:53 am
India vs Australia, India vs Australia Test 2017,India vs Australia 2nd Test 2017,Chinnaswamy stadium,bangalore stadium, cricket news, cricket, india news,The teams are expected to come Tuesday evening into the city and would be coming to the stadium on Wednesday.

“Arre pitch dekha nahi bhai, Vishwas karo!” Amit Mishra, his thigh heavily strapped, says as he walks inside the Chinnaswamy stadium in Bangalore. Beside him is Mohammad Shami who smiles before walking away. The seamer and the leggie are at the National Cricket Academy for rehab from injuries, and both realise the frenzy that’s about to set in the city.

Leaving the two cricketers in the outdoors café with their South Indian snacks, you head to the stadium to see a surprising sight: water sprinkling here and there. Where Pune looked a parched desert, the groundstaff at stadium in Bangalore aren’t being miserly with water. Not yet. The word is that the pitch would be a slow turner — something that would help spin from second or third day but it won’t be a sand pit. A usual Bangalore track, in other words.

India vs Australia 2017: India Suffer Harrowing 333 Run Defeat

The teams are expected to come Tuesday evening into the city and would be coming to the stadium on Wednesday. It’s ironical that just when the memories of South Africa Test in Nagpur seemed a distant memory, especially after a fabulous home season, the shenanigans in Pune have brought the pitch back in focus. Indians worked hard through the season to dispel any talk about pitch as conspiratorial nonsense from media, but here we are, a week from the Test, and all the talk has come down to the 22-yard strip.

No one is obviously giving any official quotes about the pitch, but where is the fun in that? As if anyone in Pune was musing about sand pit before the game! It’s the rumours that one is interested anyway. You walk out to the entrance area, where police and association heads are sauntering about, to do some small talk when Brijesh Patel, former KSCA president who resigned post Supreme Court developments, walks in. He might have resigned but obviously hasn’t severed his ties, but when asked about the pitch, he smiles, puts his hands upwards and walks off.

And so you hit the clubhouse area. It’s early evening and only thing flowing is filter coffee and the savoury khara bhath that closely resembles upma but tastes way better. Familiar faces — from umpires, scorers, officials, admin staff — are lounging about. Sip some coffee, and gulp in some gossip. Talk revolves how the pitch backfired in Pune (for India that is), and how the non-spinner Stephen O’Keefe was the best because he was the “worst” spinner out there. Someone says, India should have tried M Vijay or even Cheteshwar Pujara — India’s worst might have turned it less and produced better results. If only the game was as simple as that but you move on and bring the discussion to the pitch in Bangalore.

Would there be a word from the Indian management here? After the laughter subsides, an official points out the strained relations between India’s head coach Anil Kumble and Brijesh Patel’s men. “You know the history and how the election was fought last time around. Even if Brijesh has resigned, it’s his men who are running the show. It would be really surprising if Kumble or anyone else has any demands here."

Not everyone agrees with that argument. Someone would come with a request or two, they say. But if the track plays out like a normal Bangalore track — spin but nothing alarming like Pune, Indians might be happy with that. The consensus about the pitch is that there will be spin but not from the first ball. It seems a fairly sensible thing to do after what went down in Pune, but time will tell.

Edited by rkt.india

Bangalore pitch looks all right for India’s batsmen 

PETER LALOR

On report and facing a potential fine for a “poor” wicket in the first game in Pune, local ground staff were yesterday hosing, primping and fine-tuning the pitch for Saturday’s second Test at Bengaluru.

All the mysteries of the east are contained in the 22-yard M Chinnaswamy Stadium strip. Will it turn? Will it seam? Will it play true? How will the BCCI ground and pitches committee avoid the censure it received in the first match and prepare a wicket which favours the local spinners but not the visitors?

The board’s pitch doctors are being blamed for overcooking the Pune surface.

Three days out the wicket is a patchy but not bare surface, with grass evident in certain regions and a distinct dry area outside the left-handers’ off-stump at both ends. The Indian top order are all right-handers, but three out of the four Australians are left-handed.

The bare patch seems tailor-made for off-spinner Ravi Ashwin. When the Australians arrived for an inspection yesterday they seemed intrigued by these areas.

Captain Steve Smith was on his hands and knees examining the wicket. Particular attention was being paid to a crack almost dead centre in the pitch yesterday, with a moisture gauge employed as a committee of ground staff fussed about. It is not a part of the pitch which will come into play.

The Indians will want to make a surface where the experience of Ashwin and left-arm spinner Ravi Jadeja count for more after Pune offered a wicket that offered assistance to all-­comers.

It was an embarrassment to the locals that Steve O’Keefe arrived and took 12-70, outbowling their slow men.

In the past five Tests played at the second Test venue, the wicket favoured seam over spin. The square is lush and will make achieving reverse by throwing it in on the bounce unlikely.

Locals said what grass is on the wicket will remain for fear it will fall apart in the heat. Vice-captain and left-hander David Warner was not unduly concerned about the pitch yesterday.

“You have to respect each ­bowler, and they are two fantastic bowlers and we have to respect them every time we come up against them. We’ve got our own artillery, they’ve got their own artillery as well so we’re just going to have to wait until the day gets there and we’ll play it from there.”

Three days out, the wicket certainly doesn’t resemble the wicket the strip prepared ahead of the first Test in 2004 when local hero Anil Kumble was on the verge of taking his 400th wicket.

Australia won that game thanks to a debut 151 by Michael Clarke and a quick-fire century from acting captain Adam Gilchrist, but it was later in the year — after the summer had baked the strip.

It certainly isn’t getting the same preparation — or lack of — than the Pune wicket did. This one got a good watering yesterday and was then covered in hessian to stop it drying.

There has only been one game played at M Chinnaswamy in the past nine months and the surface was relaid last year.

The ICC officially rated the Pune wicket “poor” and the BCCI faces a potential fine.

“The report has been for­warded to the Board of Control for Cricket in India, which now has 14 days to provide its response,” the ICC said.

India were reported for the 2015 three-day wicket they prepared for the Nagpur match against South Africa, but the outcome was never released.

The ICC can report boards which prepare a wicket that has excessive seam, spin or unevenness of bounce at any time in the match, or one which is lifeless.

There is speculation that the BCCI senior pitch curator Daljit Singh, 79, may lose his job over the wicket debacle in Pune. While Pandurang Salgaoncar is the local curator, the preparation was taken out of his hands. Daljit was in charge when the Nagpur wicket was reported, but there are reports the instructions for a turning wicket came from senior administrators in the team and not him.

The Indian Supreme Court recently ordered all selectors over 60 and office bearers over 70 to be removed from their positions, but there were no restrictions on the age of curators.

Warner said he had seen similar wickets to Pune in other parts of the world and India captain Virat Kohli was relaxed about the surface after the game.

“I don’t think it was any different from the turners that we played on in the past,” he said. “We just didn’t play good cricket. You can ask me any sort of question or any perception about the loss. We know exactly what happened, the mistakes that we made. External perceptions don’t matter to us, they have never mattered to us.”

•