How much Dhoni mek?

Magneto

7 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

Lol, he is not blocking future players if he and Pant are playing together. You should read full post and see what i am suggesting.

I don’t care about ‘blocking future players’. They will come through the ranks if they are good enough. But I care about Dhoni losing matches for India because of his insipid batting form, and his struggle in the death overs. 

Barring injury, question of dropping Yuvi and MS doesn't arise. They wouldn't have played the England series otherwise. If they can channelize even 60% of their prime form, we'll be a competitive side.

Kohli-Yuvi-Dhoni-Kedar is a decent spine. Considering the musical chairs going on with our openers, having a settled spine is a must.

1 minute ago, jalebi_bhai said:

Barring injury, question of dropping Yuvi and MS doesn't arise. They wouldn't have played the England series otherwise. If they can channelize even 60% of their prime form, we'll be a competitive side.

Kohli-Yuvi-Dhoni-Kedar is a decent spine. Considering the musical chairs going on with our openers, having a settled spine is a must.

A fractured bone can make you spineless. ;-)

6 minutes ago, Magneto said:

I don’t care about ‘blocking future players’. They will come through the ranks if they are good enough. But I care about Dhoni losing matches for India because of his insipid batting form, and his struggle in the death overs. 

You have wrong worry then. Dhoni is not losing us games in 50 overs like you think he is. 

Just now, Mariyam said:

Misal paav is someone whose foot (paanv) is shaped like a missile. Desi version of the yeti. Like Amitabh and his Kolhapuri chappal size 9.

No idea why you are being called that though.

Must be found in the Western Ghats. That jalebi fella seems to be scared of me, why else would he call me that? His name sounds familiar though, heard it somewhere.

Just now, Magneto said:

Averages 27 in the whole of 2016 with a strike rate of 80. Might look great for you, but we can do better. 

Other players have been far worse, he hasn't batted at top order either like he will do now. You can not judge odi averages when you come at lower order like how Dhoni has been coming and having to change his role and sometimes throw his bat at every ball in the last overs and give away his wicket.

Averages are good to read if you consistently are batting like first down like Kohli, but not for someone like Dhoni who at times get to bat in last 5-10 overs and doesn't have much time but to throw his bat. 

He has done both the finishers role and the  anchoring role well for India. He might not be same consistent finisher, but by no means that since he isn't the finisher now that he should be dropped. Still a player whom you can depend on, and at this time, India needs such players whom they can depend on when in trouble. 

3 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

Other players have been far worse, he hasn't batted at top order either like he will do now. You can not judge odi averages when you come at lower order like how Dhoni has been coming and having to change his role and sometimes throw his bat at every ball in the last overs and give away his wicket.

Averages are good to read if you consistently are batting like first down like Kohli, but not for someone like Dhoni who at times get to bat in last 5-10 overs and doesn't have much time but to throw his bat. 

He has done both the finishers role and the  anchoring role well for India. He might not be same consistent finisher, but by no means that since he isn't the finisher now that he should be dropped. Still a player whom you can depend on, and at this time, India needs such players whom they can depend on when in trouble. 

Well, Dhoni has a career average of 50. At 5-6 only. If he is scoring 27 in 30 balls as a finisher now, it’s pretty much clear he is not finishing a lot of games. 

No one is asking for Dhoni should be dropped. I have repeatedly mentioned that if Dhoni is in decent form, no questions should be asked. But if he is scratching around and struggling for 10-12 games like in the last 2, Kohli may have to take a bold decision. Dhoni did the same in 2008.

17 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

Misal paav is someone whose foot (paanv) is shaped like a missile. Desi version of the yeti. Like Amitabh and his Kolhapuri chappal size 9.

No idea why you are being called that though.

Paav is not the same as Paanv

16 minutes ago, Magneto said:

Must be found in the Western Ghats. That jalebi fella seems to be scared of me, why else would he call me that? His name sounds familiar though, heard it somewhere.

I'd give you a gaali, but you support Pawne. Enough misery for you :giggle: