Any canadian ICFers from the toronto area?

sandeep

What are the "good" Indian grocery stores in the Missisauga area, or even better Hamilton area, where I can buy good mangoes.  I'm under the impression that Indian stores in Canada get more supplies and 'better' quality of Alphonso mangoes than their counterparts in the US.  

I'm going to be driving some  family friends to the famous pilgrimage spot for Indian tourists - Niagara-dham this weekend, and will have to cross the border into Canada. Maybe I can get something out of this trip after all.   

13 hours ago, zen said:

There are grocery stores such as OM Ind Food Center, Subji Mandi, etc. in Brampton area (GTA)  

Thanks.  Will google these and check it out.  These are good spots to get Alphonso Mangoes?   

3 minutes ago, sandeep said:

Thanks.  Will google these and check it out.  These are good spots to get Alphonso Mangoes?   

I am not into doing groceries but my family gets mango from OM. If you want I can ask them to get a box and you can pick it up from me. 

3 minutes ago, zen said:

I am not into doing groceries but my family gets mango from OM. If you want I can ask them to get a box and you can pick it up from me. 

That's extremely nice of you :) but I can just as easily pick them up from the OM store, no need to inconvenience you.  This is just the type of info I was looking for - identify a store where to buy from.  I don't have to hunt for stores that may not have them available, and since a fellow desi is buying Hafoos mangoes, some level of reliability in terms of quality.   

Last time I had a good Alphonso mango was in 2003 - my sister's mother-in-law smuggled a few mangoes in her purse when flying in from Bombay.   The mangoes we get in NJ are mostly crap.    

1 minute ago, sandeep said:

That's extremely nice of you :) but I can just as easily pick them up from the OM store, no need to inconvenience you.  This is just the type of info I was looking for - identify a store where to buy from.  I don't have to hunt for stores that may not have them available, and since a fellow desi is buying Hafoos mangoes, some level of reliability in terms of quality.   

Last time I had a good Alphonso mango was in 2003 - my sister's mother-in-law smuggled a few mangoes in her purse when flying in from Bombay.   The mangoes we get in NJ are mostly crap.    

Haha, there won't be any inconvenience if you want me to pick them up for you. Note that I am not in to groceries so would not know the variety of mango. I only know that the mangos from there taste nice 

Also there is a nice Indian restaurant in Brampton called Khazana. Many Indian restaurants in Canada have that Canadian taste to it, Khazana is one of the nice (closer to taste in Ind) ones  

Below are the addresses:

OM

Address: 71 West Dr, Brampton, ON L6T 5E2
Hours: 
Open today · 10AM–8PM

Khazana (restaurant)

Address: 9121 Airport Rd, Brampton, ON L6S 0B8
Hours: 
Open today · 11AM–10PM

These places are not far from each other 

7 minutes ago, sandeep said:

NJ? :woot: kaha hai tu be lol

1 hour ago, zen said:

Haha, there won't be any inconvenience if you want me to pick them up for you. Note that I am not in to groceries so would not know the variety of mango. I only know that the mangos from there taste nice 

Also there is a nice Indian restaurant in Brampton called Khazana. Many Indian restaurants in Canada have that Canadian taste to it, Khazana is one of the nice (closer to taste in Ind) ones  

Below are the addresses:

OM

Address: 71 West Dr, Brampton, ON L6T 5E2
Hours: 
Open today · 10AM–8PM

Khazana (restaurant)

Address: 9121 Airport Rd, Brampton, ON L6S 0B8
Hours: 
Open today · 11AM–10PM

These places are not far from each other 

Thanks.  Will call them and find out if they have inventory of Alphonso (Hafoos) mangoes.   No need for restaurants as I'm going to just drop the guys off at Niagara falls, and make a quick mango shopping run before heading back home.  

1 hour ago, laaloo said:

NJ? :woot: kaha hai tu be lol

Central Jersey - Desi land.   

20 minutes ago, sandeep said:

Thanks.  Will call them and find out if they have inventory of Alphonso (Hafoos) mangoes.   No need for restaurants as I'm going to just drop the guys off at Niagara falls, and make a quick mango shopping run before heading back home.  

Note that Brampton is approx. 80-120 mins drive (depending on traffic) from Niagara Falls

PS

Niagara_Falls_to_Brampton_052317.jpg

9 minutes ago, zen said:

Note that Brampton is approx. 80-120 mins drive (depending on traffic) from Niagara Falls

PS

Niagara_Falls_to_Brampton_052317.jpg

Yeah I know.   That's why I asked about desi stores in Hamilton - seems to be closer and a big enough town to have decent desi stores.   I'm willing to drive an hour each way if I can find good alphonso mangoes.  Yeah, its a bit crazy.  I'm picky when it comes to mangoes.  

Just now, sandeep said:

Yeah I know.   That's why I asked about desi stores in Hamilton - seems to be closer and a big enough town to have decent desi stores.   I'm willing to drive an hour each way if I can find good alphonso mangoes.  Yeah, its a bit crazy.  I'm picky when it comes to mangoes.  

Brampton = mini desi area so you will find what you want! Take the 407 (toll road) and your journey will be quicker 

27 minutes ago, sandeep said:

Nice I'm in JC

1 hour ago, sandeep said:

Parsipanny ya Edison ...now don't pick a 3rd option and disappoint lol

16 minutes ago, maniac said:

Parsipanny ya Edison ...now don't pick a 3rd option and disappoint lol

Typical frogumen.  Thinks he knows what he's talking about.  Parsippany is not in central jersey.  And there's no way I'm letting you know where I live.  :laugh:

If you're on a mango hunt, might as try the various imports of alphonso mango if you can find them.

1. Longo's is the high end grocery store for fruits and veges. try calling their brampton locations if they carry them

http://www.longos.com

2.  Freshco has alphonso mangoes in their flyer.  Use flipp.com to get their flyer

site: http://freshco.com

flyer link: https://flipp.com/flyer/1153312-freshco-flyer?item_id=196485902

NVFlXIo.jpg

For desi stores, prolly best to ask them beforehand.. here's a few...or just google indian grocery strore brampton /mississauga/malton

http://www.subzimandi.ca/

https://www.asianfoodcentre.com

btw, that's a lot of traveling just for a mango :hysterical:

Edited by PBN