Ankit_sharma03 Posted July 7, 2017 Posted July 7, 2017 8 hours ago, bleaf27 said: Your idiotic statements and bollywood reasoning is midnight numbing. I really hope you don't consider some sort of statistical guru by going on cricinfo and spending 5minutew to copy paste some stats. Common sense doesn't need stats so buckle up bollywood hero for some common sense Does your stats tell you which bowlers kohli faced in his centuries vs bowlers Tendulkar faced? Does your stats tell you the quality of bowling kohli faces today vs what tendulkar faced? Is the quality or bowling better now or the 90s? Does your stats tell you that Tendulkar was scoring centuries aging along side nayan mongia, Robin singh, Ajay jadeja and Sidhu? Does your stats tell you whether facing McGrath, ambrose, Akram z Donald, saw lain and Warne has the same weightage vs stokes, taskin, holder and adil Rashid? No wonder I fail to take you seriously or anyone else for that matter, you actually dig up stays and copy paste em here to make your point. Your reasoning is like a child if you fail to consider a 100 other factors which are more significant than the numbers you are putting up. There is a reason that we cannot ever compare Bradman and tendulkar - get a hint. I think people have pretty much answered u here ........... tell do u even watch cricket or just read newspaper headlines Kohli wud have been successful in any era in ODI as hi game is based on strike rotation and planning, targetting. He pretty much plays risk free cricket. He aint a hack like guptill or few. If u think he cant bat in tough condition plzz revisit his 100 in SA in 1st test 2013 Now do u think the bowlers ur naming wud have been that successful in the same way today, no . Likes of Johnson, steyn, starc, hazelwood, shami wud have been far more effective in previous era. These aint some poor bowler that u outrightly dismiss modern batsman cases The likes of akram, waqar effectivness wud hve been reduced today as the reverse doesnt come in play much in LOI . Tendulkar had poor batsman for a decade but plzz add dravid n ganguly in support to ....when u give ur points give full details so it isnt he was surrounded by 11 poor players. The next decade he had truckload of good batsman around , it isnt that he didnt bat with dhoni, gambhir, sehwag, yuvraj, ganguly, dravid, kohli. Now its not kohli's fault that he didnt face these bowler and the champion he is he wud have done well against them to. It isnt that tendulkar didnt feast on patta....he did It isnt that he enjoyed bowlers of less quality post 2007 Ofcourse tendulkar is at diff level but in someways kohli does take cake from him specially when it comes to a chase and working hard regd fitness. Watever be the era nobody stopped tendulkar to be a superhuman fit Constantly coming with era excuse is just demeaning someone......nobody chooses eras to play in. Its ur success in whatever conditions ur given in. A champion always finds a way against challenges. Kohli plays very simple cricket and that will be successful in any era
express bowling Posted July 7, 2017 Posted July 7, 2017 12 hours ago, bleaf27 said: If you take chasing centuries against SL/WI/BD out and also look at the home and away games - how does he look now ? Kohli averages 62.57 with a SR of 96 against Australia, England, NZ, Pakistan and South Africa while chasing. He averages 48.27 at a SR of 91 in away and in neutral venues, while chasing against the above mentioned teams. Excellent ! http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/player/253802.html?batting_fielding_first=2;class=2;filter=advanced;opposition=1;opposition=2;opposition=3;opposition=5;opposition=7;orderby=default;template=results;type=batting ThePhenomenal1, Ankit_sharma03, Cricketics and 3 others 6
velu Posted July 7, 2017 Posted July 7, 2017 8 hours ago, maniac said: I personally think 90s was the most competitive era in cricket only Eng and Nzl are better now than what they were in the 90s and Bangladesh was technically not a Full member if you look at how SL,WI,Zim and even Pak (despite the CT win) and SA have regressed that should say something. maybe for you because sachin scored in those period only game will always be competive if all the teams are equally crap .. probably true in 90s bleaf27 and Rasgulla 2
bleaf27 Posted July 7, 2017 Posted July 7, 2017 4 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: I think people have pretty much answered u here ........... tell do u even watch cricket or just read newspaper headlines Kohli wud have been successful in any era in ODI as hi game is based on strike rotation and planning, targetting. He pretty much plays risk free cricket. He aint a hack like guptill or few. If u think he cant bat in tough condition plzz revisit his 100 in SA in 1st test 2013 Now do u think the bowlers ur naming wud have been that successful in the same way today, no . Likes of Johnson, steyn, starc, hazelwood, shami wud have been far more effective in previous era. These aint some poor bowler that u outrightly dismiss modern batsman cases The likes of akram, waqar effectivness wud hve been reduced today as the reverse doesnt come in play much in LOI . Tendulkar had poor batsman for a decade but plzz add dravid n ganguly in support to ....when u give ur points give full details so it isnt he was surrounded by 11 poor players. The next decade he had truckload of good batsman around , it isnt that he didnt bat with dhoni, gambhir, sehwag, yuvraj, ganguly, dravid, kohli. Now its not kohli's fault that he didnt face these bowler and the champion he is he wud have done well against them to. It isnt that tendulkar didnt feast on patta....he did It isnt that he enjoyed bowlers of less quality post 2007 Ofcourse tendulkar is at diff level but in someways kohli does take cake from him specially when it comes to a chase and working hard regd fitness. Watever be the era nobody stopped tendulkar to be a superhuman fit Constantly coming with era excuse is just demeaning someone......nobody chooses eras to play in. Its ur success in whatever conditions ur given in. A champion always finds a way against challenges. Kohli plays very simple cricket and that will be successful in any era I'll start off with answering your questions - No I do not read the Indian Newspaper nor watch the news TV dramas of the Indian "superstars" - how Kohli got a new tattoo or Dhawan got a new facial hairstyle "specials"... Do you like a magic crystal ball that no one other has or just such a brilliant cricketing mind that is above everyone in the world ? Kohli would be in succesful in every era ? Who told you this prophecy Did you hear that on the TV news special segment as well ? Stop making stupid statements. Something that cannot be established or proven shouldn't be made as a conclusion. Again , idiotic statements of how the bowlers from today would fare in the past , you cannot determine that champ , that's your opinion , not a fact. Learn the difference. and if you believe that Hazelwood / Shami / Boult / Stayn are on par with McGrath , Donald, Ambrose , Pollack , Wasim , Walsh etc. then that's a laughable comparison I'd say imo.
bleaf27 Posted July 7, 2017 Posted July 7, 2017 3 hours ago, express bowling said: Kohli averages 62.57 with a SR of 96 against Australia, England, NZ, Pakistan and South Africa while chasing. He averages 48.27 at a SR of 91 in away and in neutral venues, while chasing against the above mentioned teams. Excellent ! http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/player/253802.html?batting_fielding_first=2;class=2;filter=advanced;opposition=1;opposition=2;opposition=3;opposition=5;opposition=7;orderby=default;template=results;type=batting Does that make him the greatest ? Does that make him on par with let's say Gavaskar Chasing in the 80's? Is his chasing ability affected by the team he plays with ? -Other batsman in his team ? Is his chasing ability has anything to do with the level of bowling he faces ? Looking at stats and reading numbers and comparing those numbers to everyone around isn't how you conclude You seem like a logical guy so I'll give you an example - If the rate of Death Penalty let's say now is 3% and before it was 5 % , can you say there is less crime now ? - No ! Because maybe death penalties aren't being given out as much now ! , maybe people are doing more crimes that are not awarded death penalties , maybe criminals aren't getting caught now , maybe lawyers are more efficient in preventing dealth penalties ! Comparing numbers and making conclusions by avoiding everything else is like rudimentary way to make conclusions. Kohli is a good batsman ..... but GOAT and Greatest Chaser ever and all that ...that's rubbish
Sandeep99 Posted July 7, 2017 Posted July 7, 2017 BS. He is an ordinary batsman thriving on modern day rubbish pitches and rubbish bowlers.
raki05 Posted July 7, 2017 Posted July 7, 2017 28 minutes ago, bleaf27 said: Does that make him the greatest ? Does that make him on par with let's say Gavaskar Chasing in the 80's? Is his chasing ability affected by the team he plays with ? -Other batsman in his team ? Is his chasing ability has anything to do with the level of bowling he faces ? Looking at stats and reading numbers and comparing those numbers to everyone around isn't how you conclude You seem like a logical guy so I'll give you an example - If the rate of Death Penalty let's say now is 3% and before it was 5 % , can you say there is less crime now ? - No ! Because maybe death penalties aren't being given out as much now ! , maybe people are doing more crimes that are not awarded death penalties , maybe criminals aren't getting caught now , maybe lawyers are more efficient in preventing dealth penalties ! Comparing numbers and making conclusions by avoiding everything else is like rudimentary way to make conclusions. Kohli is a good batsman ..... but GOAT and Greatest Chaser ever and all that ...that's rubbish You seems to be pretending the most knowledgeable/logical person by enforcing ideas and presenting analogy from altogether a different domain which has nothing to do with cricket. And you are also bashing people that how they are stating he would have succeed in the past . Tell me what magic crystal ball you have used to gauge that all the greatest bowlers whom you named form the past would be successful in this era. One more thing most of the people you have quoted above has more or less same opinion about Kohli except you and in a democratic procedure normally people go with general opinion. So i think you need to do introspection and check either you are too intellect to handle or like stubborn ignorant who find fault in obvious thing to prove their intellect as few people say " Khubsoorat hai to kya hua Chaand me bhi daag hai". manu4411 and Pratik77 2
bleaf27 Posted July 7, 2017 Posted July 7, 2017 Just now, raki05 said: You seems to be pretending the most knowledgeable/logical person by enforcing ideas and presenting analogy from altogether a different domain which has nothing to do with cricket. And you are also bashing people that how they are stating he would have succeed in the past . Tell me what magic crystal ball you have used to gauge that all the greatest bowlers whom you named form the past would be successful in this era. One more thing most of the people you have quoted above has more or less same opinion about Kohli except you and in a democratic procedure normally people go with general opinion. So i think you need to do introspection and check either you are too intellect to handle or like stubborn ignorant who find fault in obvious thing to prove their intellect as few people say " Khubsoorat hai to kya hua Chaand me bhi daag hai". Not claiming to be the most knowledgeable. Different domain other than cricket ? Most of my posts focused on the 80's and 90s which are era's and domain within cricket so what you on about ? When did I say that the greatest bowler from the past would be as succesful today ? My opinion is that the bowling quality in the 80's and 90s is much better than today - My opinion. You can go with the democratic opinion , heck make a statue for him , this is a forum to put forth your views , not necessarily to agree/disagree with everyone. Don't expect the herd mentality to follow through with the masses. India has enough of that.
express bowling Posted July 7, 2017 Posted July 7, 2017 40 minutes ago, bleaf27 said: Does that make him the greatest ? Does that make him on par with let's say Gavaskar Chasing in the 80's? Is his chasing ability affected by the team he plays with ? -Other batsman in his team ? Is his chasing ability has anything to do with the level of bowling he faces ? Looking at stats and reading numbers and comparing those numbers to everyone around isn't how you conclude You seem like a logical guy so I'll give you an example - If the rate of Death Penalty let's say now is 3% and before it was 5 % , can you say there is less crime now ? - No ! Because maybe death penalties aren't being given out as much now ! , maybe people are doing more crimes that are not awarded death penalties , maybe criminals aren't getting caught now , maybe lawyers are more efficient in preventing dealth penalties ! Comparing numbers and making conclusions by avoiding everything else is like rudimentary way to make conclusions. Kohli is a good batsman ..... but GOAT and Greatest Chaser ever and all that ...that's rubbish You asked for these statistics specifically..... so I gave it to you. I don't know whether he is the greatest chaser ever.... nor do I really care. Ranks do not really interest me. Kohli is a very good chaser and that is what is important from a team point-of-view for us. Ankit_sharma03 and Cricketics 2
bleaf27 Posted July 7, 2017 Posted July 7, 2017 6 minutes ago, express bowling said: You asked for these statistics specifically..... so I gave it to you. I don't know whether he is the greatest chaser ever.... nor do I really care. Ranks do not really interest me. Kohli is a very good chaser and that is what is important from a team point-of-view for us. I agree he's a good chaser undoubtedly but calling players GOAT and best chaser in the history of the game and all that is over exaggeration and something that cannot be concluded decisively imo..
raki05 Posted July 7, 2017 Posted July 7, 2017 38 minutes ago, bleaf27 said: Not claiming to be the most knowledgeable. Different domain other than cricket ? Most of my posts focused on the 80's and 90s which are era's and domain within cricket so what you on about ? When did I say that the greatest bowler from the past would be as succesful today ? My opinion is that the bowling quality in the 80's and 90s is much better than today - My opinion. You can go with the democratic opinion , heck make a statue for him , this is a forum to put forth your views , not necessarily to agree/disagree with everyone. Don't expect the herd mentality to follow through with the masses. India has enough of that. I never said anything about Kohli i just made a statement that people have more or less same opinion about kohli and i don't see anyone saying him GOAT unanimously. It is you who is over exaggerating and making mountain out of molehills. Also what made you think,that i think of him so highly it just that i don't disregard anyone opinion by calling them idiot or stupid . Also why should i make statue of Kohli rather you should marry to Dhoni so that you can fantasize him in person . i hate Kohli captaincy and for that i bash him but as a batsmen he is one of the best in current Indian ODI team . Cricketics 1
the don Posted July 7, 2017 Posted July 7, 2017 Legendary limited overs batsman . His importamce to the Indian side is massive . India does well whenever he shows up . Mentally one of the strongest Indian cricketers to play the sport . Huge respect .
Haarkarjeetgaye Posted July 7, 2017 Posted July 7, 2017 Congratulations. Hope we win some ICC trophies with him as captain
bleaf27 Posted July 7, 2017 Posted July 7, 2017 1 hour ago, raki05 said: I never said anything about Kohli i just made a statement that people have more or less same opinion about kohli and i don't see anyone saying him GOAT unanimously. It is you who is over exaggerating and making mountain out of molehills. Also what made you think,that i think of him so highly it just that i don't disregard anyone opinion by calling them idiot or stupid . Also why should i make statue of Kohli rather you should marry to Dhoni so that you can fantasize him in person . i hate Kohli captaincy and for that i bash him but as a batsmen he is one of the best in current Indian ODI team . Definitely not , I do not have an concerns if people being his fans or thinking highly of him , He's a good batsman no doubt however my exemption is to purely point him as the greatest ever ... I have a reservation about that hence my opinion , not a mountain. Never did I say what you think of him nor is that my concern. Again , what do you think of my opinion on Dhoni ? I'd be a better judge of that ? Not everyone is in a camp here bud.
raki05 Posted July 8, 2017 Posted July 8, 2017 11 hours ago, bleaf27 said: Definitely not , I do not have an concerns if people being his fans or thinking highly of him , He's a good batsman no doubt however my exemption is to purely point him as the greatest ever ... I have a reservation about that hence my opinion , not a mountain. Never did I say what you think of him nor is that my concern. Again , what do you think of my opinion on Dhoni ? I'd be a better judge of that ? Not everyone is in a camp here bud. But that's the whole point no one said he is greatest ever and you are unnecessarily geting emotional even if you see OP he just said geatest chaser and not greatest ever. And hence you end up giving a sence of reservation for certain player and hatred for another one. And i dont mind.
bleaf27 Posted July 8, 2017 Posted July 8, 2017 1 hour ago, raki05 said: But that's the whole point no one said he is greatest ever and you are unnecessarily geting emotional even if you see OP he just said geatest chaser and not greatest ever. And hence you end up giving a sence of reservation for certain player and hatred for another one. And i dont mind. Have you actually even read the title of the Thread you are replying to ? What is the difference between greatest Chaser and Greatest ever ? It means he is the greatest chaser - understand the difference between great vs greatest , I'm sure you must. Cool , if you don't mind though
raki05 Posted July 8, 2017 Posted July 8, 2017 31 minutes ago, bleaf27 said: Have you actually even read the title of the Thread you are replying to ? What is the difference between greatest Chaser and Greatest ever ? It means he is the greatest chaser - understand the difference between great vs greatest , I'm sure you must. Cool , if you don't mind though Actually he has a case for that , however i would till he won a knockout or 2 in icc 50 over world cup. But when you said it's a troll thread basically you are disregarding all his achievements and also you have exaggerated that people are claiming him GOAT when everyone said he has potential. So please understand there is a diff between goat and potential goat.
bleaf27 Posted July 8, 2017 Posted July 8, 2017 4 minutes ago, raki05 said: Actually he has a case for that , however i would till he won a knockout or 2 in icc 50 over world cup. But when you said it's a troll thread basically you are disregarding all his achievements and also you have exaggerated that people are claiming him GOAT when everyone said he has potential. So please understand there is a diff between goat and potential goat. That is your interpretation of what my posts imply. Secondly, in your mind you have a set level of accolades and recognition that Kohli deserves and if I am falling short of that - you feel that I am disregarding it or exaggerating but again that is your opinion of Kohli or the level of recognition he deserves not mine. That is a pre set threshold in your mind which is minimum for him , mine is lower , quite simple. I am not exaggerating , read this thread and I don't want to imply you're stupid or anything but when you choose the word "greatest" - it is pretty decisive, hence the difference between great vs greatest.
raki05 Posted July 8, 2017 Posted July 8, 2017 5 minutes ago, bleaf27 said: That is your interpretation of what my posts imply. Secondly, in your mind you have a set level of accolades and recognition that Kohli deserves and if I am falling short of that - you feel that I am disregarding it or exaggerating but again that is your opinion of Kohli or the level of recognition he deserves not mine. That is a pre set threshold in your mind which is minimum for him , mine is lower , quite simple. I am not exaggerating , read this thread and I don't want to imply you're stupid or anything but when you choose the word "greatest" - it is pretty decisive, hence the difference between great vs greatest. Sure and i don't force you to accept that. Everyone has their opinion but calling it is a troll thread is exageration, when you also coneeded that he is great batsmen in addition to that he has stats to proves that he in oncourse to become one of the best in odi.
bleaf27 Posted July 8, 2017 Posted July 8, 2017 3 minutes ago, raki05 said: Sure and i don't force you to accept that. Everyone has their opinion but calling it is a troll thread is exageration, when you also coneeded that he is great batsmen in addition to that he has stats to proves that he in oncourse to become one of the best in odi. Calling him the greatest Chaser is an exaggeration I think hence I put my views forth , that's all