Rohit vs Rahul as opener

Rohit is a liability as he is both tuk-tuk and bad against movement.And I dont think he will be good in middle overs as he is poor in strike rotation which is essential in middle overs.But him being vice captain and Kohli's close aide, it is tough get him out of the LOI team. I hope he fails miserably in English ODI series.

4 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

Rohit will score well on and off based on who he faces and where he faces them. Don't want him to be dropped. But is it a must that he should open the innings. Either way he has to see off the first 10 overs nervously to make the most of his slow start. With a bit more positive batsman up the order India will have a better distribution of their hitting power. It is not like Rohit is a born opener. He is just a makeshift opener.  If not for against other teams, atleast against Pakistan Rohit is a sure shot failure as an opener. He is a sitting duck against Aamir.

yes coz he wnt do wel anywere else, max 3.....which is kohli position n it shudnt be touched 

1 hour ago, Cricket_Fan said:

Rohit is a liability as he is both tuk-tuk and bad against movement.And I dont think he will be good in middle overs as he is poor in strike rotation which is essential in middle overs.But him being vice captain and Kohli's close aide, it is tough get him out of the LOI team. I hope he fails miserably in English ODI series.

liabilities dnt avg 50 as an opener 

also he is our next captain

55 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

yes coz he wnt do wel anywere else, max 3.....which is kohli position n it shudnt be touched 

liabilities dnt avg 50 as an opener 

also he is our next captain

Amla was a liability, stats may say other wise but fact is that he had no impact on the results, negative if any for SA. Rohit is our Amla

On 6/4/2018 at 12:08 AM, Khota said:

Today I will pick Rahul. I will keep him on a short leash though.

RCB ka team hai kya, aaj isko khilao kal usko

Consistency is very important when u build a team. Constant chopping n changing has done no good to any team in the history of cricket

Coz its important for a player to go through failure or else he will never improve 

4 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

RCB ka team hai kya, aaj isko khilao kal usko

Consistency is very important when u build a team. Constant chopping n changing has done no good to any team in the history of cricket

Coz its important for a player to go through failure or else he will never improve 

Depending on the players history but you cannot give them endless game.

On 6/4/2018 at 4:36 PM, Gollum said:

Problem with Rohit is that against quality attacks in next year's WC he'll go kaput. Left arm quicks like Starc, Boult, Amir will toy with him and we will effectively be playing those matches a player short. We have seen enough of him, he isn't going to improve anymore. I would prefer Rahul to open with Gabbar but that won't happen under this regime :((

Ideally this should be our batting order come June 2019:

Dhawan

Rahul

Kohli

Rohit

Pant

Karthik

Pandya

If Rohit isn't comfortable starting in the middle orders he can GTFO, team trumps any individual and even if that weren't the case Rohit isn't a Viv around whom a batting strategy can be formulated...he is quite dispensable IMHO.

I don't feel confident with that lineup. 

Rohit and Karthik are chokers. 

Pandya is hit or miss. 

Pant is explosive. Will blast opposition or get out.

Pant needs some reliable middle order controllers.

Sadly we are going to 2019 wc very ill prepared. 

5 minutes ago, sensible-indian said:

Pandya is hit or miss. 

True. I wanetd Gill to make rapid strides. He looks like he can control the innings without losing his wicket and finishing it if needed. 

Pandya is hit or miss. 

Kartik is not a choker..
Sure , he has some bad days but he played some super innings this Ipl.
Only problem is his age.

Sent from my CPH1609 using Tapatalk

9 minutes ago, UrmiSinhaRay said:

Kartik is not a choker..

He has been a choker at international level thats why with his talent he went nowere

9 minutes ago, UrmiSinhaRay said:

Sure , he has some bad days but he played some super innings this Ipl.
Only problem is his age.

Age is no issue, if ur performing age is not the issue 

No, Kartik looks a changed man circa Nidahas Trophy.
Age I mentioned because of long term place in the team.
If he had been younger , he could have been one of the mainstays of our team.
Now we have to find a replacement

Sent from my CPH1609 using Tapatalk

5 minutes ago, UrmiSinhaRay said:

No, Kartik looks a changed man circa Nidahas Trophy.

That choker tage has been with him coz of his career will take sometime to go

5 minutes ago, UrmiSinhaRay said:

Age I mentioned because of long term place in the team.
If he had been younger , he could have been one of the mainstays of our team.
Now we have to find a replacement

He aint that old , 33 is ok . we have good replacements ready in sanju, kishen n pant

4 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

who has been given endless games ???

This is reference to previous poster who wanted a run of 20+ games for Rahul.

9 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

He has been a choker at international level thats why with his talent he went nowere

More than choker he has concentration issues. He has played some key pressure knocks. None better than his 93 against Pakistan in the test match.  ALso his 46 against SA.  If anything for Tamilnadu he is quintessential pressure player in the last few years.  Also remember the test where India had a chance to win the first ever test series in South Africa, he played so well under pressure. Actual guys who felt the pressure were Sachin, Dravid.  Similarly his partnership with Dhoni (he played on one leg) against BD he forged a partnership under pressure. If anything he fails when there is nothing at stake. He was not a choker by any means. His biggest problem was conversion. Pretty much everything was due to his fidgety nature. 

On 6/5/2018 at 11:00 PM, Khota said:

This is reference to previous poster who wanted a run of 20+ games for Rahul.

20+ matches in Test is a huge rope. No one deserves to continue if they fail in that period. Somehow Ishant crossed 50+ unnoticed. Kudos to him for that.