Switchblade Posted August 4, 2018 Posted August 4, 2018 Quote https://www.cricbuzz.com/cricket-news/103459/india-england-2018-ravichandran-ashwin-virat-kohli-edgbaston-test "I think this is a game where we would have liked to finish on the winning side. No doubt about it but there are a lot of things we can feel proud of at the end of this game, it's a long Test series so to feel defeated or pained so early on in the series is unfair and at the moment it is all about the feelings that I am bringing out, and I don't feel that bad about it as of now because I thought we competed really well and made two comebacks and probably didn't close out the game when the initiative was on our side. That's something that can happen when you are traveling so we are upbeat about it," said Ashwin. "Like Virat keeps mentioning, when you make runs and pick up wickets, you want to make sure that it is a killer blow and you want to end up on the winning side. It gives you more pleasure out of the game and when it doesn't happen you feel a little deflated about it. But as I told you before, this game was like a see-saw battle and there was enough in there for the quicks and it was doing quite a bit. So they were always in the game and you do expect batsmen to get a ball that has their name on it. So with that sort of a game hedging on the balance, I thought we competed really well through the game. There are a lot of things to be upbeat about so not completely feeling deflated and in this space I feel like we did well and there is something we can learn going ahead in this series." "For me, it's all about this mental space I find myself in. I don't dwell much into the way I have bowled, it is in the past as of now. It is important to try and learn from this game and take it to the next game. These are not conditions that are extremely suitable or tailor made for a spinner so I would like to take confidence out of this game and try and move ahead and build on this." "Personally there were quite a few learnings from my stint last year here. Not just in terms of pure skill but also how the game is being read here and players go about their business in terms of pacing out their innings and how much the dukes ball does in the first 40 overs. Those are the learnings I had and as a spinner. And how wide my grip can be, and how close I can get to it as the ball moves on. I felt like the ball was slipping also when I came last time for Worcester so that was also in my mind when I came this time."
Gollum Posted August 4, 2018 Posted August 4, 2018 We need to stay positive, can't afford to drop shoulders like we did in 2011 and 2014 after setbacks. Kohli's best attribute is his positivity and enthusiasm,hope it rubs on others as well. Stay upbeat boys and fight hard in Lord's.....you are world number one for a reason. Jo'berg showed the way, just follow that mantra and be mentally dogged. I am still optimistic that we will see a turnaround in the series, Kohli is a different captain and this team isn't one that gives up quickly. We beat Lanka in 2015 from 0-1 down and then a rampaging Australia from behind last year...time to make history in England. And fellow ICFers I know this has been a difficult day but as fans we can not lose hope on our team and this isn't like that 2011-2014 era where we had no fighting spirit. Criticize the poor performers but no scope for negativity, have faith in this squad. I predicted a 3-2 win before the series and I stand by that. With fair weather around and modern teams being defensively weak, there will be many results on offer, draws are a thing of the past. Hopefully we land a blow in the same place where we won in 2014. Switchblade, Samcric, The Dark Horse and 1 other 1 1 2
mishra Posted August 4, 2018 Posted August 4, 2018 ^ weather for first time is supporting our spinners. English pitch curators are helpless. This tournament is our best chance ever to have a home like conditions. It has been dry for over a month and will be dry next week too. Lets just hope that it continues like this and we pick 2 spinners
Tattieboy Posted August 4, 2018 Posted August 4, 2018 Just now, mishra said: ^ weather for first time is supporting our spinners. English pitch curators are helpless. This tournament is our best chance ever to have a home like conditions. It has been dry for over a month and will be dry next week too. Lets just hope that it continues like this and we pick 2 spinners Regardless of pitch conditions it is a home series for you. Mr Shastri said so weeks ago
mishra Posted August 4, 2018 Posted August 4, 2018 (edited) 8 minutes ago, Tattieboy said: Regardless of pitch conditions it is a home series for you. Mr Shastri said so weeks ago I myself i fiercest opponent of Shashtri. So wont defend that asshole. What i can say is for sure that we are number 1 side and will prove that by winning at Trent Bridge. Guarantted Edited August 4, 2018 by mishra
Tattieboy Posted August 4, 2018 Posted August 4, 2018 1 minute ago, mishra said: I myself i fiercest opponent of Shashtri. Si wont defend that. What i can say is for aure that we are number 1 side and will prove that by winning at Trent Bridge. Guarantted So you are saying you are going into England's favourite ground 2 down ?
Gollum Posted August 4, 2018 Posted August 4, 2018 7 minutes ago, mishra said: I myself i fiercest opponent of Shashtri. So wont defend that asshole. What i can say is for sure that we are number 1 side and will prove that by winning at Trent Bridge. Guarantted Agla test Lord's mein hai, Trent Bridge 3rd test.
mishra Posted August 4, 2018 Posted August 4, 2018 1 minute ago, Gollum said: Agla test Lord's mein hai, Trent Bridge 3rd test. Lords is dead pitch. We will either draw or win
mishra Posted August 4, 2018 Posted August 4, 2018 5 minutes ago, Tattieboy said: So you are saying you are going into England's favourite ground 2 down ? No, i am saying that we are confident on either drawing or winning the series
Gollum Posted August 4, 2018 Posted August 4, 2018 1 minute ago, mishra said: Lords is dead pitch. We will either draw or win It wasn't dead the last time we were there.
mishra Posted August 4, 2018 Posted August 4, 2018 3 minutes ago, Gollum said: It wasn't dead the last time we were there. Nahi yaar. Lords pitch needs complete relaying. 500 score coming up. Which side scores that 500, i do not know, but it will be runfest.
Switchblade Posted August 4, 2018 Author Posted August 4, 2018 1 minute ago, mishra said: Nahi yaar. Lords pitch needs complete relaying. 500 score coming up. Which side scores that 500, i do not know, but it will be runfest. Matlab match draw
mishra Posted August 4, 2018 Posted August 4, 2018 5 minutes ago, Switchblade said: Matlab match draw Bhai, T20 players are playing test cricket. Kuchh bhi ho skataa hai. But draw is definitely on cards unless Kuldeep and Ashwin turn it.
Switchblade Posted August 4, 2018 Author Posted August 4, 2018 2 minutes ago, mishra said: Bhai, T20 players are playing test cricket. Kuchh bhi ho skataa hai. But draw is definitely on cards unless Kuldeep and Ashwin turn it. Wo to sahi keh rahe ho tum mai to pehle se hi jantha tha series won’t be easy
WeStMiDz Posted August 4, 2018 Posted August 4, 2018 I don't see any draws forthcoming. Simply because neither team can score big runs.
sensible-indian Posted August 4, 2018 Posted August 4, 2018 (edited) 2 hours ago, WeStMiDz said: I don't see any draws forthcoming. Simply because neither team can score big runs. We havent yet played on an overseas flat track for over 3 years. Edited August 4, 2018 by sensible-indian
SK_IH Posted August 5, 2018 Posted August 5, 2018 11 hours ago, Gollum said: We need to stay positive, can't afford to drop shoulders like we did in 2011 and 2014 after setbacks. Kohli's best attribute is his positivity and enthusiasm,hope it rubs on others as well. Stay upbeat boys and fight hard in Lord's.....you are world number one for a reason. Jo'berg showed the way, just follow that mantra and be mentally dogged. I am still optimistic that we will see a turnaround in the series, Kohli is a different captain and this team isn't one that gives up quickly. We beat Lanka in 2015 from 0-1 down and then a rampaging Australia from behind last year...time to make history in England. And fellow ICFers I know this has been a difficult day but as fans we can not lose hope on our team and this isn't like that 2011-2014 era where we had no fighting spirit. Criticize the poor performers but no scope for negativity, have faith in this squad. I predicted a 3-2 win before the series and I stand by that. With fair weather around and modern teams being defensively weak, there will be many results on offer, draws are a thing of the past. Hopefully we land a blow in the same place where we won in 2014. I ll not waste my time watching the next test or upcoming ODIs,these TTF approach just kills the any interest in the game,I am one of these who never takes any defeat seriously,it's a game after all but seeing same old crap repeated is no fun And hope your words come true, regarding the series win