“Leave India,” Virat Kohli Tells Fan Who Like Foreign Batsmen More Than Indian Batsmen and the tale of Sachin and his Ferrari

11 minutes ago, beetle said:

I bet he has people around to tell him if the waiver meets all requirements or not . He has the money for lawyers to check if the ferrari met the criteria of ' betterment of the people' .

There is a difference between a normal citizen writing a letter for a request to the concerned people for waiver if legal and someone of influence using his influence with the politician to get the waiver. 

In the first case it is  following due process while in the second case it is misuse of influence.

If a normal citizen had applied,the waiver would have been refused because it did not meet all the criteria required to grant the waiver.( as the court agreed).

Sachin got the waiver inspite of not meeting the criteria because of his position and influence with the minister.

I hope you can see the difference in the cases.

So your options are 

1) Sachin needs to first do research on how many problems he will face if he accepts a gift? Mind you it is a car and not some rhinoceros horn.

2) He needs to decline the gift by saying he can’t afford to pay the duty

3) he just needs to suck up and pay because phokat ka paisa hai na jo usko aise hi raste pe mil gaya?

A normal average joe tells the traffic cop his friends uncle ( urmi :giggle: ) knows the commissioner etc to get away from a 200 rs traffic fine and you want a celebrity with actual influence not use it from getting away paying crores of rs.

There is nothing illegal about it. You are from a army background right? Don’t a lot of army kids get exempted to learn the state local language if they study outside of army school even if it is compulsory there citing army ? Why do even the smart ones capable of picking up the language do that? Are they immoral and corrupt?

Wow you seem to have some high moral code :hail:

Edited by Global.Baba

1) Sachin needs to first do research on how many problems he will face if he accepts a gift? Mind you it is a car and not some rhinoceros horn.

Ans ...yes.

2) He needs to decline the gift by saying he can’t afford to pay the duty

Ans...yes

3) he just needs to suck up and pay because phokat ka paisa hai na jo usko aise hi raste pe mil gaya?

Ans....yes...or do what he did eventually after it all blew in his face....i.e make the gifter pay.

24 minutes ago, Global.Baba said:

There is nothing illegal about it. You are from a army background right? Don’t a lot of army kids get exempted to learn the state local language if they study outside of army school even if it is compulsory there citing army ? Why do even the smart ones capable of picking up the language do that? Are they immoral and corrupt?

There are schools that have been formed specially for people in govt services that require them to move often ...these people include defence personals including police ,CRPF and BSF ....and central govt employees.

These schools are kendriya vidyalayas, army ,airforce ,navy schools and other schools . These schools do not require children to learn local languages because of frequent transfers.

If people put their children in local schools....their children have to follow the school rules unless the school has options for children.

My cousins  son is studying in a private school in kolkata and learning basic bengali . 

The same cousins older son goes to army school and doesn't learn bengali.He could not join the private school because he would have to learn bengali at a higher level on joining while the younger one wS just starting school.

I have studied though out in kendriya vidyalayas and army schools for this very reason . 

Defence personnels get other benefits too which are a part of their joining contract. They don't have to write letters or run after politicians to get these benefits.

Edited by beetle
1 minute ago, beetle said:

Defence personnels get other benefits too which are a part of their joining contract. They don't have to write letters or run after politicians to get these benefits.

you HAVE to write a letter to the MLA in charge of the port authority, to get a import tax waiver. So when a celibrity writes it, its corruption but when a common man writes it, its okay ? 
Sounds like discrimination to me.....

So someone of influence should not use the same exact mechanism he/she is entitled to, as a citizen because they are famous, but its okay

Ans)Of course he can. 

Like in his case....his writing to the finance minister and then waiting for the  reply would have been normal procedure.

Him getting Pramod Mahajan to follow up and getting on his case is called ' using his influence' to getting  undue advantage. In this case ,even when his ferrari did not meet the criteria of exemption.

for the normal citizen to follow procedures ?! Sounds like hating on the rich to me....

Ans) No babaji( sorry I wrote mulu earlier )...that is a difference between people.

You are an elitist. Yes... An elitist who thinks rich and famous people should have more rights than ordinary people.

I am not an elitist. I believe everyone should have same rules with practical exceptions ...for example...I don't expect celebrities to stand in lines like normal people in day today life because it can be very inconvenient to them and also it will create public nuisance that will inconvenience the general public.

But the exception does not apply to paying dues to the govt . Taxes ,duties ,waiting periods should apply to all.

I guess that is the difference.

You are of an elitist mindset and I am more of a socialist mindset. 

@Muloghonto( you are an elitist too ....based on your views on this thread )

Whether you are rich and famous or a no-name guy like me, you STILL HAVE TO WRITE TO THE POLITICIAN....so when a normal guy writes it, its okay. But when a celebrity does the same, its corruption...thats pretty salty.

Already answeted. Do what needs to be done and wait instead of getting influential people to push your case.

Edited by beetle
14 minutes ago, Muloghonto said:

you HAVE to write a letter to the MLA in charge of the port authority, to get a import tax waiver. So when a celibrity writes it, its corruption but when a common man writes it, its okay ? 
Sounds like discrimination to me.....

Already answered in previous post.

15 minutes ago, beetle said:

So someone of influence should not use the same exact mechanism he/she is entitled to, as a citizen because they are famous, but its okay

Ans)Of course he can. 

Like in his case....his writing to the finance minister and then waiting for the  reply would have been normal procedure.

Him getting Pramod Mahajan to follow up and getting on his case is called ' using his influence' to getting  undue advantage. In this case ,even when his ferrari did not meet the criteria of exemption.

Nope. Again, you are wrong. I am fully within my rights to write to ANY MINISTER to intercede on my behalf. Infact, i was told in clear terms that the most probable reason my waiver was rejected is BECAUSE i did not write to my local MLA and wrote to the MLA in charge who is not from my district. 

for the normal citizen to follow procedures ?! Sounds like hating on the rich to me....

Ans) No babaji( sorry I wrote mulu earlier )...that is a difference between people.

You are an elitist. Yes... An elitist who thinks rich and famous people should have more rights than ordinary people.

Nope, i didn't say that for one second. Discretionary decisions are NOT rights. I simply said that the famous will have discretionary decisions fall in their favor more often than for non-famous people. Which is fine, as that IS the perk of being famous. 

The rights are exactly the same, which is ANYONE can apply for same exemption. 

I am not an elitist. I believe everyone should have same rules with practical exceptions ...for example...I don't expect celebrities to stand in lines like normal people in day today life because it can be very inconvenient to them and also it will create public nuisance that will inconvenience the general public.

And the practical exception is, when some no-name person requests tickets to my show, i may or may not give it to them, but if i see a celebrity name request same tickets, i am much more likely to give it to them. Its not a different law, its simply the perk famous people enjoy. 

But the exception does not apply to paying dues to the govt . Taxes ,duties ,waiting periods should apply to all.

Do you not understand the meaning of the word DISCRETIONARY ? 
It applies equally to all - all are equally entitled to apply for it. Discretionary means the discretion lies with the person making the decision. It CANNOT and will NEVER be identical case for everyone, no-matter what logic is used, because thats what DISCRETIONARY means. 

I guess that is the difference.

You are of an elitist mindset and I am more of a socialist mindset. 

@Muloghonto( you are an elitist too ....based on your views on this thread )

Nope. 

I am a realist. Reality is, famous people will get discretionary perks in their favor and i see it as okay because famous people have to deal with invasions of privacy as a price for being famous. Not all rich people get these discretionary favors fall in their benefit and thats okay,because not all rich people have invasions of privacy 24/7 to deal with. Famous people do, which is why i said its fine if famous people get the perk of discretionary favors falling in their favor more than the average person, because famous people deal with invasions of privacy that other rich or average people do not.

Whether you are rich and famous or a no-name guy like me, you STILL HAVE TO WRITE TO THE POLITICIAN....so when a normal guy writes it, its okay. But when a celebrity does the same, its corruption...thats pretty salty.

Already answeted. Do what needs to be done and wait instead of getting influential people to push your case.

Everyone is REQUIRED to write to the influential person (minister) in this case to get the decision..its part of the process. 

Edited by Muloghonto

@beetle

Aap khamkha naraaz aur jazbati ho rahi hain. Aur bewajah mujh pe bigad rahi hein.

I am not a Sachin bhakt at all. I know what I say next will be used against me on this website till eternity, but I haven't seen any Sachin innings in its entirety EVER. If I am a bhakt of anything, it is of the constitution and the law of this wonderful country of ours. 

And in this case Sachin has taken all possible steps within the ambit of the relevant laws.

Also, in the cases of gifts, the norm is that the gifter is made aware of excise duties at the port of embarkation. This is the SoP. On many occasions the gifter clears due right there. Similarly, Ferrari would have been informed that a certain amount needs to be handed over to the GoI when they sent the car from whatever port in Italy. That is probably when they would have told Sachin. However, being such a big luxury/sports car brand I'm sure they must be having a legal team who would be well aware of import duties in developing economies. Its not like this was the first super luxury car in India. 

Edited by Mariyam
5 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

@beetle

Aap khamkha naraaz aur jazbati ho rahi hain. Aur bewajah mujh pe bigad rahi hein.

I am not a Sachin bhakt at all. I know what I say next will be used against me on this website till eternity, but I haven't seen any Sachin innings in its entirety EVER. If I am a bhakt of anything, it is of the constitution and the law of this wonderful country of ours. 

And in this case Sachin has taken all possible steps within the ambit of the relevant laws.

Also, in the cases of gifts, the norm is that the gifter is made aware of excise duties at the port of embarkation. This is the SoP. On many occasions the gifter clears due right there. Similarly, Ferrari would have been informed that a certain amount needs to be handed over to the GoI when they sent the car from whatever port in Italy. That is probably when they would have told Sachin. However, being such a big luxury/sports car brand I'm sure they must be having a legal team who would be well aware of import duties in developing economies. Its not like this was the first super luxury car in India. 

@CSK Fan

raman-raghav-2-0.jpg

Nope. Again, you are wrong. I am fully within my rights to write to ANY MINISTER to intercede on my behalf. Infact, i was told in clear terms that the most probable reason my waiver was rejected is BECAUSE i did not write to my local MLA and wrote to the MLA in charge who is not from my district.

You wrote to the wrong person....how is it the same.:facepalm:

He wrote to the right person and then got another minister to push his case with the first minister. 

How the hell is it same?

56 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

Aye nahi girl ....not like that.

It is just a difference of opinion.

No naraazgi. Sorry if it seemed so.

:icflove:

Edited by beetle

People should follow rules without trying underhand methods to get past them.

Doesn't matter if you are a soldier,a policeman,a sports star,a teacher,a lawyer ,a politician ,a filmstar or any one else. If you don't,then be ready to be called out for not doing the right thing .

If I ever get the opportunity to misuse my connections and succumb to the temptation... I should be ready to be called out for it . I should not try to be chamaktar with no stains .

To be fair to Sachin Tendulkar...to the best of my knowledge ,I have not seen him justify the ferrari issue or the issue about his ex business partner encroaching on govt land or his absense from Rajya sabha. Nor do we see memes out there trying to show him as a  the best citizen of the country.

He and his PR team seem to have accepted the flawed reputation outside of the cricket field.

It is only the bhakts who refuse to accept it . As in most cases,the bhakts create more ill feelings than the celebrity.

Edited by beetle
23 minutes ago, beetle said:

You wrote to the wrong person....how is it the same.:facepalm:

Sigh.

We are SUPPOSED to write it to the minister in charge of the import point (in my case, district of S. 24 Parganas). My home is Kolkata, so my local MLA is from Kolkata.

I am free to write to him, to the CM, to ANY ELECTED MLA/MP to expedite the matter. My right. 
The reason i was told that i should've ALSO written to my home MLA, is because thats the guy who is more likely to intercede on my behalf, since he is FROM MY DISTRICT, to his colleague. Sachin did what i should've done- which is write to the MLA most likely to help me (which in these cases are either the ones you know personally or your local MLA) and get him to petition the MLA in charge. Clear ?

He wrote to the right person and then got another minister to push his case with the first minister. 

How the hell is it same?

I just explained above. 
He can write to 300 other ministers if he wishes. Its his right. So is yours. 

Its strange how you've just straight-up imposed your biases into your judgement without even KNOWING the process of this, which me (someone who's experienced this) and Maryam ( a former laywer) keeps correcting you on.

Its very clear that you made a knee-jerk decision, simply because you do not like the notion of a rich guy doing what any normal guy does - apply for a duty exemption. And since this rich guy is famous, like all famous people they get these 'ehsaans' done easier than normal people (perk of being rich), you have an axe to grind, with pre-concieved notions....Its clear that you formed your judgement without even any idea on what the process is in the first place.

Edited by Muloghonto
1 hour ago, Muloghonto said:

Nope. 

I am a realist. Reality is, famous people will get discretionary perks in their favor and i see it as okay because famous people have to deal with invasions of privacy as a price for being famous. Not all rich people get these discretionary favors fall in their benefit and thats okay,because not all rich people have invasions of privacy 24/7 to deal with. Famous people do, which is why i said its fine if famous people get the perk of discretionary favors falling in their favor more than the average person, because famous people deal with invasions of privacy that other rich or average people do not.

Famous people should get discretionary perks like police protection, special entry and exit from airports, special counters to avoid queues , unlisted numbers ....not waiver from duty or other monetary benefits. That money goes to run the country.

1 hour ago, Muloghonto said:

And the practical exception is, when some no-name person requests tickets to my show, i may or may not give it to them, but if i see a celebrity name request same tickets, i am much more likely to give it to them. Its not a different law, its simply the perk famous people enjoy. 

Seriously....you are equating tickets to a show to  getting a waiver from duty that was not fulfilling the criteria.:facepalm:

People should follow rules without trying underhand methods to get past them.

Nothing underhanded was tried. What Tendulkar did, is what pretty much every I/E guy does. 

Doesn't matter if you are a soldier,a policeman,a sports star,a teacher,a lawyer ,a politician ,a filmstar or any one else. If you don't,then be ready to be called out for not doing the right thing .

He did the right thing. Within the letter of the law and within his full rights.

If I ever get the opportunity to misuse my connections and succumb to the temptation... I should be ready to be called out for it . I should not try to be chamaktar with no stains .

He didn't misuse any connection. Guy went to the MLA/MP most likely to intercede in his behalf. Again, his right. he could've petitioned every single elected official in India - also his right. 

To be fair to Sachin Tendulkar...to the best of my knowledge ,I have not seen him justify the ferrari issue or the issue about his ex business partner encroaching on govt land or his absense from Rajya sabha. Nor do we see memes out there trying to show him as a  the best citizen of the country.

He and his PR team seem to have accepted the flawed reputation outside of the cricket field.

It is only the bhakts who refuse to accept it . As in most cases,the bhakts create more ill fillings than the celebrity.

The 'bhakts' simply see him as an ideal role model in conduct. One does not have to be perfect in life to serve as a role model- they have to act in the best possible way - when something controversial happens (like this case), better person lets it die down, instead of creating more and more drama just to extricate his/her name. Better person is always well mannered, well behaved, does not talk ill of people, does not let feelings get in the way of work, etc. 
All these are qualities Tendulkar embodied and as such, is the reason he is considered such an amazing role model for kids. 

3 minutes ago, beetle said:

Famous people should get discretionary perks like police protection, special entry and exit from airports, special counters to avoid queues , unlisted numbers ....not waiver from duty or other monetary benefits. That money goes to run the country.

Famous people are not the ONLY people to get the exemption, so your analogy fails. Famous people will get discretionary judgements fall in their favor more often than non-famous people. That is perk of being famous and there is nothing wrong with that. 

3 minutes ago, beetle said:

Seriously....you are equating tickets to a show to  getting a waiver from duty that was not fulfilling the criteria.:facepalm:

Yep. because BOTH are discretionary to the person issuing said exemption. Does not matter what form of discretionary decision you want to talk about - exemption wavers, free tickets, visiting hospitals at odd hours - whatever the DISCRETIONARY decision is, it will always favor the famous person. Something i am fine with because as i said, they, unlike non-famous people (including very rich people) have to deal with numerous invasions of privacy. So this unnecessary handicap for them balances out the favoritism they see in descretionary judgements as well.

6 minutes ago, Muloghonto said:

All these are qualities Tendulkar embodied and as such, is the reason he is considered such an amazing role model for kids. 

If sachin is a role model in  life other than cricket...then I fear for the future.

Thankfully I don't see such such bhakti in kids for him .

As for the rest....I say ....kuch bhi haan???:giggle:

I guess we can call it a huge difference in opinion .

Edited by beetle

Rahul Dravid files police complaint against ponzi firm

https://m.economictimes.com/news/sports/rahul-dravid-files-police-complaint-against-ponzi-firm/articleshow/63356364.cms?utm_source=email_amp&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=socialsharebuttons

Lost all respect to Dravid. Investing 4 crores in a Ponzi scheme trying to get rich fast. What a greedy person.

Why couldn’t he invest these 4 crores in a FD in state bank of India or atleast Canara Bank or State Bank of Mysore :no: 6-7% interest rate is not enough for him ?

Seriously It is a crime for a famous celebrity cricketer to use his contacts to put money in a get rich quick scheme. He should be giving his business to national banks.

@beetle

Edited by Global.Baba