Kohli sucks at picking the team

Muloghonto

1 minute ago, Forever Indian said:

Don’t be shocked if it happens, if Kohli can bring back long discarded players like Nehra, Yuvraj, Gambhir, etc. he can do same with Dhoni. He has also got Dhawan previously to replace Vijay and Rahul, so definitely can happen again. And replacing Jadeja by Ashwin is actually a good idea, so Kohli will not even get that idea.

i wnt be shocked if dhawan comes back but why are ppl here suggesting some bizarre ideas 

usko gaali bhi de rhe hai n usse gande ideas suggest kar rhe hai 

c Harris b Lyon 37 (61) 2 4s, 3 6s.

It's the perfect innings to keep your place in the team.  A couple of hours at the crease, a few oozing talent shots including "baap re teen raapchik sixers pan maarla," and that's all you need to coast for a couple more matches.  How to drop him?  He was looking so good while he was there.  He's one big knock from becoming a mainstay of this batting.  He has so much time to play his shots.  Experience, yaar.  And have you seen his recent ODI form against the mighty Windies at home?  Based on that alone, deserves chance.  "Aani Hanuma kaun?  Tyaacha naav pan bolta yet nahin maala.  Not khadoos yaar.  Test cricket kai khelnaar toh."   

Edited by ExtremeBrainfade
9 hours ago, Muloghonto said:

Seriously....going with 4 bowlers and then picks BOTH of Rohit and Rahane, leaving out Vihari, the ONLY guy in the top order who bowls as a change-up bowler regularly ?!?

Kohli is showing one dimensional captaincy with his batting lineup and his attitude is a good example of why a great player doesn't necessarily make a good leader - he does NOT understand, that test cricket is a place where slow batmsen can and DO thrive if they have a solid defensive technique. Vihari has a better defensive technique than either Rahane or Sharma and can get away with playing slowly much more often. 

it's kohli we are speaking of after all. one should not expect much cricketing intelligence from him apart from batting - he is a troglodyte in other respects. on a different note, I foresee VK failing with the bat as well this series. great batsman he may be, but he's not as technically sound as sunny or SRT.

1 hour ago, Vijy said:

it's kohli we are speaking of after all. one should not expect much cricketing intelligence from him apart from batting - he is a troglodyte in other respects. on a different note, I foresee VK failing with the bat as well this series. great batsman he may be, but he's not as technically sound as sunny or SRT.

Or Dravid. Or Laxman. 
Kohli thinks that Test cricket = 5 days of One-day cricket. Atleast when it comes to batting. This is why he spend so much time and energy trying to drag Pujara out of his batting comfort zone,without realizing that a batsman like Pujara, with such a solid defensive technique, is worth his weight in gold in ANY test era, but particularly more so in this era. 

His lack of patience and test batting mentality was evident there. Saying you gotta score runs quickly to put pressure on bowlers - thats such a LOL-worthy comment, i'd have stripped him of captaincy right then and there. 

3 minutes ago, Muloghonto said:

Or Dravid. Or Laxman. 
Kohli thinks that Test cricket = 5 days of One-day cricket. Atleast when it comes to batting. This is why he spend so much time and energy trying to drag Pujara out of his batting comfort zone,without realizing that a batsman like Pujara, with such a solid defensive technique, is worth his weight in gold in ANY test era, but particularly more so in this era. 

His lack of patience and test batting mentality was evident there. Saying you gotta score runs quickly to put pressure on bowlers - thats such a LOL-worthy comment, i'd have stripped him of captaincy right then and there. 

I agree with what you wrote. I have a feeling that the success of the SA and Eng tours for Captain India insofar his personal batting is concerned has partly gone to his head. I foresee him failing this tour - not as completely as Eng 2014 or vs Oz at home - and we can only hope that he will learn a bit of humility in the process.

On this note, while I am a fan of Chepu, I think he has flattered to deceive too often in SENA in the past 5 yrs. Yes, he has soaked up balls, and his avg doesn't reflect his full contribution, but what bothers me more is his performance on relatively batting-friendly pitches. He is good for scoring gritty knocks on low-scoring bowling pitches, but he does not kick on to score big on relatively batting-friendly pitches (e.g. the ones we encountered in Aus in 2014).

2 minutes ago, Muloghonto said:

Or Dravid. Or Laxman. 

Scoring quickly and putting pressure on bowlers is valid strategy on flat pitches like those in India and Australia but you can't do that from ball one. Even pujara who is not the best stroke maker in the lineup managed to score a ton at a strike rate of 50 once he had played himself in. You've gotta adjust to the bounce and pace of the wicket and not try and drive early on when there is a bit of movement and when the straight boundary is 90 m it's not as productive early on anyway. If they had conserved wickets in the first session we could've finished something like 320/2 at the end of the day especially since anything short and wide can be punished easily (60 m square boundary) . 

These guys have the audacity to call practice matches overrated and then try and hit one of the best pace attacks in their backyard from ball one like it's street cricket. A bit of patience in first session and OZ would have been hunting leather for the next 3-4.

2 minutes ago, Vijy said:

I agree with what you wrote. I have a feeling that the success of the SA and Eng tours for Captain India insofar his personal batting is concerned has partly gone to his head. I foresee him failing this tour - not as completely as Eng 2014 or vs Oz at home - and we can only hope that he will learn a bit of humility in the process.

On this note, while I am a fan of Chepu, I think he has flattered to deceive too often in SENA in the past 5 yrs. Yes, he has soaked up balls, and his avg doesn't reflect his full contribution, but what bothers me more is his performance on relatively batting-friendly pitches. He is good for scoring gritty knocks on low-scoring bowling pitches, but he does not kick on to score big on relatively batting-friendly pitches (e.g. the ones we encountered in Aus in 2014).

Yes. And i see he's rectified this to a large degree because he has corrected the one flaw in his batting that affects his SENA batting: Chepu, in the past, didn't leave too many balls outside the off. He played with the 'if i can get to it with a straight bat, i am presenting my bat' mentality, which, unless you come with Sehwag or Viv's 1 in a million eyesight, is surefire way of self-destruction. 

IMO, Kohli compounded the problem by publicly calling out Chepu, where you could see his confidence was shaken and he was trying to do what Kohli suggested - which is hitting his way out of trouble. And it didn't work. Had he let Chepu focus on the real problem in SENA countries - leave more balls - he'd have arrived at this phase sooner. 

1 minute ago, Nikhil_cric said:

Scoring quickly and putting pressure on bowlers is valid strategy on flat pitches like those in India and Australia but you can't do that from ball one. Even pujara who is not the best stroke maker in the lineup managed to score a ton at a strike rate of 50 once he had played himself in. You've gotta adjust to the bounce and pace of the wicket and not try and drive early on when there is a bit of movement and when the straight boundary is 90 m it's not as productive early on anyway. If they had conserved wickets in the first session we could've finished something like 320/2 at the end of the day especially since anything short and wide can be punished easily (60 m square boundary) . 

These guys have the audacity to call practice matches overrated and then try and hit one of the best pace attacks in their backyard from ball one like it's street cricket. A bit of patience in first session and OZ would have been hunting leather for the next 3-4.

Its a valid strategy, but its never a must-have or required in tests, not unless you are trying to chase 180 in 2 sessions to win the game. 

The bread and butter for most 'test first' batsmen, is to play like Pujara - be a wall, play balls to get your eye in, wait for the bowlers to tire and then go looking for runs. 

Driving in Australia is always a risk and Indian batsmen have traditionally been slow to pick up the fact that while a cover drive or square drive is bread-and-butter in India, its literally as dangerous as fooling with your boss's wife in Australia. 

This also works in reverse - Indian bowlers are too slow to realize that getting the batsmen to drive is how you get them out in OZ-land. Foreign bowlers who've figured this out quickly have taken tons of wickets in OZ - look at Ambrose's famous 7 for 1 spell and you will see, most of that spell is because he makes the batsmen drive away from the body.

5 minutes ago, Muloghonto said:

Yes. And i see he's rectified this to a large degree because he has corrected the one flaw in his batting that affects his SENA batting: Chepu, in the past, didn't leave too many balls outside the off. He played with the 'if i can get to it with a straight bat, i am presenting my bat' mentality, which, unless you come with Sehwag or Viv's 1 in a million eyesight, is surefire way of self-destruction. 

IMO, Kohli compounded the problem by publicly calling out Chepu, where you could see his confidence was shaken and he was trying to do what Kohli suggested - which is hitting his way out of trouble. And it didn't work. Had he let Chepu focus on the real problem in SENA countries - leave more balls - he'd have arrived at this phase sooner. 

IMO, I don't know of any case off the top of my head in Tests where Kohli has "solved" a problem. he either leaves problems unresolved (i.e. as they are) or compounds them. he should be a banker - in terms of his ability to compound quantities.

2 minutes ago, Muloghonto said:

Its a valid strategy, but its never a must-have or required in tests, not unless you are trying to chase 180 in 2 sessions to win the game. 

The bread and butter for most 'test first' batsmen, is to play like Pujara - be a wall, play balls to get your eye in, wait for the bowlers to tire and then go looking for runs. 

Driving in Australia is always a risk and Indian batsmen have traditionally been slow to pick up the fact that while a cover drive or square drive is bread-and-butter in India, its literally as dangerous as fooling with your boss's wife in Australia. 

This also works in reverse - Indian bowlers are too slow to realize that getting the batsmen to drive is how you get them out in OZ-land. Foreign bowlers who've figured this out quickly have taken tons of wickets in OZ - look at Ambrose's famous 7 for 1 spell and you will see, most of that spell is because he makes the batsmen drive away from the body.

Agreed. Especially the last paragraph - it's a problem that all SC pacers in recent times have. Pakistani pacers also did very poorly last time when they toured Oz for this reason. The ideal lengths in SC and in Oz pitches are not quite the same.

1 minute ago, Vijy said:

IMO, I don't know of any case off the top of my head in Tests where Kohli has "solved" a problem. he either leaves problems unresolved (i.e. as they are) or compounds them. he should be a banker - in terms of his ability to compound quantities.

*bashing rocks together* guk guk guk....banking requires too much MATH..... guk guk guk..

Just now, Muloghonto said:

*bashing rocks together* guk guk guk....banking requires too much MATH..... guk guk guk..

which one of the two would you say is more of a troglodyte in general - kohli or shastri (as coach)? To be fair though, Shastri the player was very smart in terms of knowing his own limitations and maximizing his potential; I think he even captained for a bit and did well from what I recall.

1 minute ago, Vijy said:

which one of the two would you say is more of a troglodyte in general - kohli or shastri (as coach)? To be fair though, Shastri the player was very smart in terms of knowing his own limitations and maximizing his potential; I think he even captained for a bit and did well from what I recall.

Kohli is a bigger troglodyte for the reason you just specified. Atleast Shastri was aware of his own limitations. Kohli is not. Kohli must be Amitabh Bachchan's love-child from his 'all i do is act angry' days of early 80s...

3 minutes ago, Muloghonto said:

Kohli is a bigger troglodyte for the reason you just specified. Atleast Shastri was aware of his own limitations. Kohli is not. Kohli must be Amitabh Bachchan's love-child from his 'all i do is act angry' days of early 80s...

Ah... the memories. Angry young man - Bachchan was amazing at playing these wild young things with no aim in mind, apart from being angry.