Who are the top 4 openers in India domestics, A-tours? (other than Prithvi Shaw)

fineleg

8 hours ago, fineleg said:

No centuries but in SENA protecting new ball overs for coming-in-next #3 or #4 bat, that was invaluble from bangar/chopra. Invaluable 30s, 40(90), some fifty perhaps

yaar if Vijay n Rahul made 100 in SENA they wud have also done that 

Its not that bangar n chopra didnt fail, hadnt they failed they wud have never been dropped

Yahi hota hai retired player ke failure koi yaad nhin rkhta, current wala failure hi nazar aata hai ..........kuch time baad log kahenge inse acha to dhawan hi tha uska NZ men 100 tha .  

Aakash Chopra/Bangar didnt fail as bad as KLR/Vijay (of 2018) now. Just that they were quite ordinary and once you get better guys like Gambhir or even Jaffer, they are dropped (rightly so). But as ordinary as they are, Chopra type of a current guy who can take shine off the new ball, would have been valuable in this current series. Current openers are that crappy!

Edited by fineleg
On 12/21/2018 at 12:39 PM, Ankit_sharma03 said:

They didnt have t20 in their time, bad habbits creep up due to it and rahul is the best xample. 

N no they are not , i doubt both had any 100 in overseas but our current one has a few

True. You cannot be a T20 star and a test opener at the same time. It won't work. Rahul has to eventually decide a format. Also, wherever we go, we will be getting pitches that are juicy..  so the chances of scoring 400 in overseas is almost impossible. We should find proper test match players and not TALENTs..

34 minutes ago, Vk1 said:

True. You cannot be a T20 star and a test opener at the same time. It won't work. Rahul has to eventually decide a format. Also, wherever we go, we will be getting pitches that are juicy..  so the chances of scoring 400 in overseas is almost impossible. We should find proper test match players and not TALENTs..

konsi keetab men likha hai ye

he just has to find a balance n he soon will ......just needs to go back to drawing board make some adjustments 

29 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

konsi keetab men likha hai ye

he just has to find a balance n he soon will ......just needs to go back to drawing board make some adjustments 

May work with freaks like ABD or VK or Warner. Not with others..

3 hours ago, fineleg said:

Aakash Chopra/Bangar didnt fail as bad as KLR/Vijay (of 2018) now. Just that they were quite ordinary and once you get better guys like Gambhir or even Jaffer, they are dropped (rightly so). But as ordinary as they are, Chopra type of a current guy who can take shine off the new ball, would have been valuable in this current series. Current openers are that crappy!

Did they play on similar pitches? 2002 Eng tour was 500 play 600 series as was 2003-04 tour. All top order batsmen were averaging 50+

Contrast to 10 Test pitches in SA, Eng and Aus. No batsman on any side other than Kohli has averaged even 40, 400 has been scored once and home teams have struggled to score even 300 regularly.  Can blame T20, technique or temperament but fact is these pitches have been some of the toughest we have played on in last 15-20 years. Can only be compared to the 2002 NZ pitches and we saw how our batting crumbled there

33 minutes ago, Vk1 said:

May work with freaks like ABD or VK or Warner. Not with others..

KL Is no less of of talent then any of the names u mentioned, he just has to find a balance between both extremes he possesses. Which will happen with time n experience. Its just a 4-5 yr old career and he has a long way to go so its not right to say he wont. People are overreacting to his failure, failure is good as its the start of player getting better n better and everyone goes through such phase......his bad luck that all 3 overseas tough tours came in his bad patch . 

The guy knws how to make runs in test and t20, both extremes........so m not worried as he just has to find a balance .  

27 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

KL Is no less of of talent then any of the names u mentioned, he just has to find a balance between both extremes he possesses. Which will happen with time n experience. Its just a 4-5 yr old career and he has a long way to go so its not right to say he wont. People are overreacting to his failure, failure is good as its the start of player getting better n better and everyone goes through such phase......his bad luck that all 3 overseas tough tours came in his bad patch . 

The guy knws how to make runs in test and t20, both extremes........so m not worried as he just has to find a balance .  

There will always be talents playing at any point of time in the game. But very few will take it to next level...  I too agree that he has the ability and all that but can he transform himself to the next level with the lure of ipl , fame brands associated with the short form of the game. 

30 minutes ago, Vk1 said:

There will always be talents playing at any point of time in the game. But very few will take it to next level...  I too agree that he has the ability and all that but can he transform himself to the next level with the lure of ipl , fame brands associated with the short form of the game. 

We ll knw only in next few yrs, as of now their is no point dismissing him 

again we use these words IPL , brands very easily.....all these guys are smart enough to knw what they want. Most indian cricketers want to do well in test cricket even the likes of rohit n dhawan who hasnt done well but their is intent. IPL is a 2 mnth thing and they knw this that their is a lot of cricket beyond that

6 hours ago, fineleg said:

Please - it is like comparing dirt clay (KLR) with Gold (ABDV, Warner, VK).

No ur conclusion is wrong coz ur comparing a 4-5 yr old career to 10+ yr old

they have gone through their struggles and understood their game.....and come out as better players. 

Ppl are dissing rahul as if they havent seen any player struggle in their careers. 

Priyank Panchal is another opener who done very well 2 season now, loads loads of runs, think 2016-2017 smashed it.  Think is top scorer this ranji (excluding plate).  Seen him play, organised and looks good.

28 so knows his game a ready to fire.  Weird as usual not in A teams etc.  Sad, seems we only interetsed in kids.

Get a 28 year old in and does well can play for next 6 years.  What more do we want?

5 hours ago, express bowling said:

Averages in domestic cricket, as the sole parameter,  was never a good parameter for judging suitability to international cricket.

Exactly. 2 Ts are highly imp. Technique and Temperament. If the guy has good technique to defend and play the new moving ball and if he has the temperament to play long innings, patience and perseverence too. 

11 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

No ur conclusion is wrong coz ur comparing a 4-5 yr old career to 10+ yr old

they have gone through their struggles and understood their game.....and come out as better players. 

Ppl are dissing rahul as if they havent seen any player struggle in their careers. 

Yes.. but at the same time you cannot keep them all in the same sentence..we have got enough evidence so far with regards to consistency.