Do we lack depth when it comes to Lower Middle order option (5-7) ??

If we see the pool of batsman 90% of them can bat in top-4 only - shaw, mayank, rahul, gill, iyer, samson , ruturaj, pandey 

But when it comes to player who can bat from position 5-7 the options arent many . We have Pant n Pandya who can in current setup which will need us to play Shankar/ Jadeja/ Rana for one remaining spot coz we need a 6th bowling option as well . One of the reason which is why selectors didnt drop jadhav is lack of option among batsman who can bowl. 

Let us see our options apart from Pant n Pandya 

1. Shankar- Will have to do more of an angelo matthews kind of role seeing his capabilty 
  2. Rana- Not even making A-squads and he has a serious problem against short pitch bowling . At this point he is far away from national team
  3. Kishen- Can only come in place of pant as playing both of them wud mean no 6th bowling option which shud be a strict no-no 
  4. Jadeja- If he has to play best way to use him is use at 5........at 7 he cant get going straight away . He needs time before he gets going . What may work in his favour is that next WC is in India 
  5. Krunal pandya- I have been a huge advocate of including him and i knew he has a bouncer problem but it turned out to me much worse then i thought . Infact ill go on to say he is one of the worst player of fast bowling n bouncer i have seen in current pool of players.
  6. Washington sundar- Neither does his batting stand out nor does his bowling. He seems technically good but he lacks power game . Neways can be an option but then again shudnt bat at 7 
  7. Deepak hooda - He had the talent n skill set but has gone nowere with ....so as of now he is not an option
  8. Riyan parag- to to to far from national selection 
  9. Abhishek Sharma- Looks a good option ....but we need to see more of him and he has to make it to India-A 1st so he is not an immediate option like riyan parag

Who else ???? These arent very tempting options and my biggest worry is what if Hardik gets injured ....i dont see anyone having the talent to bat at 7 . I really want hardik to get promotion in batting order now but there is no one who can bat at 7 like he does 

If thats how things are going to go we might see DK returning for t20 Wc and jadhav retaining his place in ODi for a year more 

4 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Inconsistent players should be penalized. They are worse than poor players as you cannot trust them in a crisis.

In lower middle order its very difficult to be consistent specially at 6-7. U need to identify players for those position and back them despite inconsistency . Ganguly backed kaif-yuvi when they use to bat at 6-7 coz he knew and said that u cant be consistent at those position . 

1 minute ago, sergio04 said:

Basically we do not have good hitters at 

6,7 Who can score quick 35 runs in 15 balls in slog overs  atleast in 5-6 matches out of 10 matches. 

Yes 

hitters only for t20

But in ODI other skill also needed to build an innings if needed 

1 minute ago, sergio04 said:

Dinesh kartik may come back in t20 wc again.

yep and Jadhav might retain his place for longer due to it 

1 minute ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Kya bol raha hai be ???

Kisne sabko failure declare kiya ???

Kaptaan sahab and TM. They believe in experience. So hardly any of the young player feel safe about their place in team. And doubt many of promosing talents even care about their selections in team.

Out of this lot Nitish Rana is most promising.  But if he isn't selected of A squads..  We will never know how good he is.  Selectors need to identify certain players who can be groomed on the basis of potential.  Since Rana doesn't bats in top order of KKR his opportunities to impress r few. But still to his credit he has done fine.  That inns against RCB this year was just Wow.   But with Uthappa gone now I hope he at least bats at no 4. It could've been wonderful for him if he was retained or picked by MI..  as we know their players get lot of attention. 

These guys will learn to play in the middle / lower middle order when they are given a chance to play..

Rohit, Dhawan, Kohli aren't going anywhere for the next 2-3 years, so the likes of Gill, Mayank, Shaw, Rahul, Iyer will have to play at 4,5,6 unless one of the top 3 is injured.

From the others listed, Shankar and Rana can turn out to be good options for the middle order. 

Pant, Samson and Kishan will fight it out for one spot.. I don't see more than one of them playing in ODIs.. In T20s maybe one more can play..

Riyan Parag showed a lot of promise in IPL, but is far away from national selection.

12 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

If we see the pool of batsman 90% of them can bat in top-4 only - shaw, mayank, rahul, gill, iyer, samson , ruturaj, pandey 

But when it comes to player who can bat from position 5-7 the options arent many . We have Pant n Pandya who can in current setup which will need us to play Shankar/ Jadeja/ Rana for one remaining spot coz we need a 6th bowling option as well . One of the reason which is why selectors didnt drop jadhav is lack of option among batsman who can bowl. 

1. Shankar- Will have to do more of an angelo matthews kind of role seeing his capabilty 
  2. Rana- Not even making A-squads and he has a serious problem against short pitch bowling . At this point he is far away from national team
  3. Kishen- Can only come in place of pant as playing both of them wud mean no 6th bowling option which shud be a strict no-no 
  4. Jadeja- If he has to play best way to use him is use at 5........at 7 he cant get going straight away . He needs time before he gets going . What may work in his favour is that next WC is in India 
  5. Krunal pandya- I have been a huge advocate of including him and i knew he has a bouncer problem but it turned out to me much worse then i thought . Infact ill go on to say he is one of the worst player of fast bowling n bouncer i have seen in current pool of players.
  6. Washington sundar- Neither does his batting stand out nor does his bowling. He seems technically good but he lacks power game . Neways can be an option but then again shudnt bat at 7 
  7. Deepak hooda - He had the talent n skill set but has gone nowere with ....so as of now he is not an option
  9. Abhishek Sharma- Looks a good option ....but we need to see more of him and he has to make it to India-A 1st so he is not an immediate option like riyan parag

Who else ???? These arent very tempting options and my biggest worry is what if Hardik gets injured ....i dont see anyone having the talent to bat at 7 . I really want hardik to get promotion in batting order now but there is no one who can bat at 7 like he does 

If thats how things are going to go we might see DK returning for t20 Wc and jadhav retaining his place in ODi for a year more 

No Shankar in my book. his bowling is only good enough for 6th bowler, implying that he must make it as a pure batsman. he seems like a choker to me, and in WCs there will always be pressure. but, he should be given 1-2 series continuously before a final call is made. Sundar is too far underdeveloped as a bowler or batsman. 4 more yrs is a long time, but I am not holding my breath. No need for Kishan, since he is also impetuous like Pant. One of them is sufficient. Krunal is not a good enough bat in top 6 neither is he sufficient for the 5th bowler. however, since WC is in subcontinent, maybe he can be in the mix. Hooda has regressed/stalled. needs to kick on if he wants to make a claim.

Rana does have serious issues, but in SC he may do fine. also bowls a bit and can be the 6th bowler option. abhishek, lomror and parag all have promise and have 4 yrs to improve and do well. all of them bat primarily, bowl and field decently.

Although you are right that most of them are top 4, I believe that some of them have the potential to bat at 5. When I say "potential", what I mean is that they have the capacity but whether they actually achieve anything is not clear. I think either Gill or Rahul have the game for No. 5. They can consolidate but they also score quite fast. The same also goes for Mayank and Iyer.

Would like to see something like this for 2023 WC with the caveat that 4 yrs is a long time: Pant (wk), Shaw/Rohit (based on form), Gill, VK, KLR/Mayank (or swap positions with Gill), Abhishek/Rana/Lomror/Parag, Hardik. The only issue is that Hardik is being wasted at 7. however, if he moves up to 6 or even higher, this will mean that those batting at 6 and 7 will need to be able to score from ball one.

Edited by Vijy
4 hours ago, Vijy said:

No Shankar in my book. his bowling is only good enough for 6th bowler, implying that he must make it as a pure batsman. he seems like a choker to me, and in WCs there will always be pressure. but, he should be given 1-2 series continuously before a final call is made. Sundar is too far underdeveloped as a bowler or batsman. 4 more yrs is a long time, but I am not holding my breath. No need for Kishan, since he is also impetuous like Pant. One of them is sufficient. Krunal is not a good enough bat in top 6 neither is he sufficient for the 5th bowler. however, since WC is in subcontinent, maybe he can be in the mix. Hooda has regressed/stalled. needs to kick on if he wants to make a claim.

how can u decide someone is choker in such short career, didnt he defend 10-11 runs .......which many bowlers choke not to and bowling isnt his string suit. Most youngtser fail in pressure situation and its called lack of exp not choking 

4 hours ago, Vijy said:

Although you are right that most of them are top 4, I believe that some of them have the potential to bat at 5. When I say "potential", what I mean is that they have the capacity but whether they actually achieve anything is not clear. I think either Gill or Rahul have the game for No. 5. They can consolidate but they also score quite fast. The same also goes for Mayank and Iyer.

I dont think gill or rahul has the game for 5 

We can compromise with this problem for the T20 by having spinners who can bat - when you bat till 8 or 9, the freedom that comes with it will mean we will attack much sooner and take more risks. IMO this is something we need to do for ODIs and T2O, we are too predictable and conservative and it doesn't work well except in tests. I looked at Rana and I think he should be given opportunities and would fill a big hole for us. Parag is very inexperienced but again, we should fast track him as he has potential. Krunal won't do much when it matters with the ball or bat, he is flawed with both. Sunar I just view as a tight bowler, batting minor at the moment. 

We have one year for the T20 cup and have to be realistic about development. So for lower positions we have to play Jadeja and Axar at 7 and 8 IMO. 6 should be the out of box position/unknown player and we can try someone like Rana.

16 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

how can u decide someone is choker in such short career, didnt he defend 10-11 runs .......which many bowlers choke not to and bowling isnt his string suit. Most youngtser fail in pressure situation and its called lack of exp not choking 

I dont think gill or rahul has the game for 5 

gill or rahul may or may not have the game for no. 5. however, without them being given any chances in this position, we will never know for certain.

On 7/23/2019 at 9:20 PM, Ankit_sharma03 said:

8 and 9 have potential.....rest all meh...