Real McCoy Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 37 minutes ago, sandeep said: Wah, Mr MBA is claiming knowledge based on social media photos. Shortage of "toilet paper" doesn't mean there are supply issues in US. Even that will resolve itself in matter of days, even with increased panic. And India is not US - it does not have robust supply chain. Folks in India need to be smart, and start prepping for low probability chaos scenarios. Its all good to say "don't panic". And valid too. But common sense preparations, or advising for it, is not panic. Read my post mr.iknowitall. I said my close friends took pics and sent me not a social media photo sent by someone who I don't know. Also unlike you I was marooned in a place in Chennai with flood waters everywhere. We pulled it off with power cut for a week, no phones, etc. I was eating oats, maggi, bread,eggs for a week. We stored water in a huge sintex tank which was used for bathroom and washing vessels. None of us showered or washed clothes for the entire week. There were vegetable vendors who came to our street in knee deep waters and sold it to whoever was buying it. Tea shops were open for limited hours. People who were stuck when some culvert broke and more water released into the city helped each other by connecting buildings with ropes and helped each other pass by. I have hope if something goes wrong, people will help each other unlike US where its all "hi how you doing have a good day" when things are going smoothly and rob you with a gun when its getting tough. sandeep and coffee_rules 1 1
sandeep Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 1 minute ago, Real McCoy said: blah blah blabityblah This situation can very quickly escalate into an event and long-running scenario which is ORDERS OF MAGNITUDE greater than a flood that happens and normalcy quickly returns in a few days or a week. The domino effects are unknown and unpredictable. Preparation is not panic. Rest of your blabityblah is typical whatsapp Unkil "understanding" and claims. That's ok. You do you.
Real McCoy Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 6 minutes ago, R!TTER said: Maybe people need to reevaluate their "real life" crisis management skills & experience, if any! The spread is exponential, you know what'll happen when hawkers, street vendors or small shop owners start dropping like flies? Even our villages have moved right besides the boundaries of most major cities due to uncontrolled urbanization If you thought China, heck Italy's situation was bad just wait till you see official figures cross 1k & the govts start testing more people than what they're willing to do today! It's always better to be safe than sorry, always but seems like people are still delusional about the crises that's about to hit us. I've seen this with my friends & family as well, the ignorance regarding the spread of this disease is staggering The number of infected is easily in the thousands if not tens of thousands as of now, we simply aren't testing enough suspected cases More panicstan dwellers. How in the blue hell did you conclude the crisis is about to hit us. you should listen to your family and friends. maybe they have more sense than you
Real McCoy Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 1 minute ago, sandeep said: This situation can very quickly escalate into an event and long-running scenario which is ORDERS OF MAGNITUDE greater than a flood that happens and normalcy quickly returns in a few days or a week. The domino effects are unknown and unpredictable. Preparation is not panic. Rest of your blabityblah is typical whatsapp Unkil "understanding" and claims. That's ok. You do you. dude arent you the guy who got divorced a long time ago why are you calling me unkil. you are probably older than me. i see no preparation advice in this thread. all panic
NameGoesHere Posted March 20, 2020 Author Posted March 20, 2020 39 minutes ago, Real McCoy said: I also lived there for 10 years and I know how the regular joe there thinks Ok that may be true, but I have my doubts now basis what you said earlier (you know how the average Joe thinks)
NameGoesHere Posted March 20, 2020 Author Posted March 20, 2020 24 minutes ago, Real McCoy said: Read my post mr.iknowitall. I said my close friends took pics and sent me not a social media photo sent by someone who I don't know. Also unlike you I was marooned in a place in Chennai with flood waters everywhere. We pulled it off with power cut for a week, no phones, etc. I was eating oats, maggi, bread,eggs for a week. We stored water in a huge sintex tank which was used for bathroom and washing vessels. None of us showered or washed clothes for the entire week. There were vegetable vendors who came to our street in knee deep waters and sold it to whoever was buying it. Tea shops were open for limited hours. People who were stuck when some culvert broke and more water released into the city helped each other by connecting buildings with ropes and helped each other pass by. I have hope if something goes wrong, people will help each other unlike US where its all "hi how you doing have a good day" when things are going smoothly and rob you with a gun when its getting tough. Ok, respect for your experience, but your example of US and India in terms of help is facile - and wrong. Here's another example: You have an accident on the highway or a road and you're in mortal trouble. In which country of the ones I've named above are people likely to pass on by after maybe taking a few selfies, and in which country are you likely to have people screeching to a stop to help you? See, it's not easy to compare.
sandeep Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 (edited) 34 minutes ago, Real McCoy said: dude arent you the guy who got divorced a long time ago why are you calling me unkil. you are probably older than me. i see no preparation advice in this thread. all panic So classy, using unrelated personal info to attack someone. Age is not the criteria that defines an "unkil" - actions and demonstrations, claims of "knowledge" are. Carry on, you are digging a nice hole for yourself. Keep digging. 1 minute ago, sandeep said: i see no preparation advice in this thread. all panic Gotta love how unkils are infatuated with slaying imaginary demons and fake arguments. Consistent theme that typifies that special breed. Along with the trigger-happy claims of fake "expertise". "I know whats going on in USA, I lived there for few years, so I know how average joe thinks". "I have friends in america sending me pictures, so I know things". Classic unkil. Edited March 20, 2020 by sandeep
rkt.india Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 (edited) 2 hours ago, sandeep said: Don't talk nonsense about crap you know nothing about. What? My BIL just returned from Chicago who says people are stocking up stuff and stores were getting emptied. Edited March 20, 2020 by rkt.india Real McCoy and Jimmy Cliff 1 1
Real McCoy Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 13 minutes ago, NameGoesHere said: Ok, respect for your experience, but your example of US and India in terms of help is facile - and wrong. Here's another example: You have an accident on the highway or a road and you're in mortal trouble. In which country of the ones I've named above are people likely to pass on by after maybe taking a few selfies, and in which country are you likely to have people screeching to a stop to help you? See, it's not easy to compare. In small towns in India, you will find help. They know each other by name and police don't have a strangle hold over the people. In cities in India, people are hesitant to help and I know the reasons. One is police. The other is street mob justice. I know a case when a lorry hit a guy and the driver ran away. The person who went to help him was beaten to death because they thought he was the driver. You know how every guy turns macho when they have numbers. People in cities who usually help are lower income people who know each other in the area and they don't get attacked. Middle class and upper class people are usually scared to help due to this and trouble from police. US you don't have these complications. In US, they usually help when they themselves are not in trouble which actually translates well to India. The only reason some don't help in India is because they themselves are threatened because of these two factors.
coffee_rules Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 17 minutes ago, NameGoesHere said: And my thread's f*cked. You did it yourself. Apni kahani batane aaya tha ya USA aur India ki bekaar ki comparison ke behas karne aaya tha?
NameGoesHere Posted March 20, 2020 Author Posted March 20, 2020 6 minutes ago, rkt.india said: What? My BIL just returned from from Chicago who says people are stocking up stuff and stores were getting emptied. If you read what sandeep wrote, his meaning (if I can interpret) was that the supply chain in the US tends to replenish faster; which is also my experience basis my living there. So RM's post on the subject was not on point.
Real McCoy Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 8 minutes ago, rkt.india said: What? My BIL just returned from from Chicago who says people are stocking up stuff and stores were getting emptied. Shhh don't use logic with this guy
NameGoesHere Posted March 20, 2020 Author Posted March 20, 2020 1 minute ago, coffee_rules said: You did it yourself. Apni kahani batane aaya tha ya USA aur India ki bekaar ki comparison ke behas karne aaya tha? One, Kindly see the sequence of posts before commenting. Two, meri kahani nahi, sabki kahani. I think you may have comprehension problems, or you just read headlines. And while this may be old fashioned, I request you not to refer to me as 'tu'. This is basic courtesy I give everyone. I don't expect the same , but can ask it. You can also stay off this thread, if it's an issue.
sandeep Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 12 minutes ago, rkt.india said: What? My BIL just returned from from Chicago who says people are stocking up stuff and stores were getting emptied. There are bouts of panic, and toilet paper has become a scarce commodity, but groceries everywhere are well stocked. You can even find toilet paper easily, they are just limiting sales. In NJ, due to the social distancing orders, stores are limiting number of shoppers that can be inside the store at one time to 50, so this is causing some panic and people are getting weird, but there is absolutely no "shortage". You will occasionally see empty shelves for specific products like bottled water, paper products etc, but those shelves get re-stocked within a day or 2. ITs still notable to see empty shelves because its very unprecedented. But interpreting pictures of random empty shelves as anything more than 'interesting', or indications of supply issues or "shortage" is stupid and incorrect.
Real McCoy Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 14 minutes ago, sandeep said: So classy, using unrelated personal info to attack someone. Age is not the criteria that defines an "unkil" - actions and demonstrations, claims of "knowledge" are. Carry on, you are digging a nice hole for yourself. Keep digging. Gotta love how unkils are infatuated with slaying imaginary demons and fake arguments. Consistent theme that typifies that special breed. Along with the trigger-happy claims of fake "expertise". "I know whats going on in USA, I lived there for few years, so I know how average joe thinks". "I have friends in america sending me pictures, so I know things". Classic unkil. How is you getting divorced an attack. I'm just saying you are probably older than me. That was my point. You can't be older than me and call me an unkil. That's ridiculous. What are you trying to prove that you are older but mentally younger. I thought the contrary is more preferable Dude I know you have proved yourself as an "unkil" in many threads even going by your definition. Those are interpretations of my stay in US and my friends sending me pics of grocery stores empty are proof of panic in US. Don't understand what your problem is
coffee_rules Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 (edited) 23 minutes ago, NameGoesHere said: One, Kindly see the sequence of posts before commenting. Two, meri kahani nahi, sabki kahani. I think you may have comprehension problems, or you just read headlines. And while this may be old fashioned, I request you not to refer to me as 'tu'. This is basic courtesy I give everyone. I don't expect the same , but can ask it. You can also stay off this thread, if it's an issue. Bhai, 'tu' kahan tha meri vaakya mein? "Apni kahani batane aaya tha ya USA aur India ki bekaar ki comparison ke behas karne aaya tha?" Ok, I should have replaced tha, with 'the'. Ok, pardon my Hindi prowess for being a south Indian. In any case, you are still here to argue with your big ego. USA ki vaat lagi hain. I don't think it is the supply chain issue. It is panic, and how much ever they supply, people panicing are lining up to buy whatever they can hoard. I read about a guy who hoarded 17000 sanitzer bottles and is now selling ot 50 times the price on craigslist. I checked out a guy who is selling 6 bath tissue rolls for $40. In India, there are a lot of mom and pop, kaaka, kirana stores by the roadside, where you can get things in short notice. No such luck in USA. They are rationaing 4 rolls per person now. Not 4 packages, 4 individual rolls. This is in NY area. You can imagine, how it will get worse in remote areas. Edited March 20, 2020 by coffee_rules
coffee_rules Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 (edited) 20 minutes ago, sandeep said: There are bouts of panic, and toilet paper has become a scarce commodity, but groceries everywhere are well stocked. You can even find toilet paper easily, they are just limiting sales. In NJ, due to the social distancing orders, stores are limiting number of shoppers that can be inside the store at one time to 50, so this is causing some panic and people are getting weird, but there is absolutely no "shortage". You will occasionally see empty shelves for specific products like bottled water, paper products etc, but those shelves get re-stocked within a day or 2. ITs still notable to see empty shelves because its very unprecedented. But interpreting pictures of random empty shelves as anything more than 'interesting', or indications of supply issues or "shortage" is stupid and incorrect. This is the case in two weeks since people started hoarding. You seem to have hope in supply chains. I have lost it. I finally got 4 rolls. I am still OK. I will panic only when people hoard rice, curds and pickle. I can survive on curd rice for months. Edited March 20, 2020 by coffee_rules
sandeep Posted March 20, 2020 Posted March 20, 2020 15 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: I can survive on curd rice for months. I love curd rice. That spicy red pickle they serve with it in restaurants - is that something we can buy bottled? Any brand and specific flavor type suggestions would be welcome.